Spell casting: can wizards change the composition of the group during the Ceremonial Release without interrupting the spell?

When casting a spell, a wizard has to constantly concentrate on it for a specific period of time (taking Concentrate maneuvers every turn). Their energy reserves are limited by any FP currently having an optional Powerstone. In other words, except for additional decisions, if the spell costs 16 energy points and the magician only has 14 FPs of his own, they cannot cast it without a stone of power large enough: they cannot stop in the middle of the cast, rest to recover the spent energy, and then continue.

However, things are a bit more complicated with Ceremonial magic (M12, B238), when the magician can get one or more assistants to contribute more energy to the launch, at the cost of ten times more launch time and several other penalties. There is a particular note that caught my attention:

  • Once the spell is cast, participants can continue to provide energy to maintain the spell. The composition of the group can change, as long as the ritual continues without interruptions. Therefore, ceremonial magic allows you to maintain a spell indefinitely.

It is not clear at all if the composition of the group can change during The casting, however. That would do It makes sense that he can, after all, continue the ritual uninterruptedly and the "pitcher" – the group as a whole – constantly concentrates on him. Surely, some of the participants should be able to leave for a while, possibly replaced, rest and return, if the ritual is designed so that such permits are agreed in advance and are not the result of any accident or interruption.

The Enchantment rules ("Slow and safe enchantment" – M18, B481) state that, at least with this specific form of ceremonial magic, participants can regularly interrupt the launch to rest in the middle. Is could have been which implies that the interruptible launch has a high price of extended time and required resources, since the other form of enchantment ("Fast and dirty") is much cheaper, but has no decisions about interruptions; however, in this case, the group does not maintain constant concentration, the consequences of possible interruptions do not ruin the entire spell (only one working day), there are other benefits on QoD enchantment (without penalty of skill for the number of participants), as well as suggestions for GMs who wish to restrict even more the QoD enchantments In other words, this is not a definitive indicator.

On top of that, there is a Power Cone spell described in Thaumatology (page 52) that allows you to do things very similar to an interruptible casting, but it still has many significant differences.

On the other hand, an interruptible ceremonial launch could have enough balance problems. For example, a distant cult in a forgotten temple in a haven of the world could cast a Fire Rain spell on all world over the course of several years without anyone noticing … and then unleashing everything at once! Then again:

  • It only takes a random foray (or a rock fall ™ plus a failed Wil launch) to ruin years of preparation, so it clearly cannot be done without the permission of a GM, implicit or explicit;
  • "Cone of Power" also allows you to do that, and it is much more dangerous: after all, the energy collected can be used prematurely to repel potential attackers. However, this spell it is in an official guide;
  • It is really a hook for an adventure!

    The Cult of Doom has been preparing a terrifying and gigantic spell to unleash the world, which our fortune tellers have learned a moment ago, and now someone must sneak into their highly protected lair to interrupt the pitchers! Bonus points for cinematic arrival just in time to interrupt the cult just when they are about to finish casting.

Is there an official documented decision on whether wizards can change the composition of the group during the Ceremonial Release without interrupting the spell? And if not, what balance considerations should GM consider when making its own decision?

dnd 5e – Do hexagonal blade wizards with blade pact ignore the limits of the type of weapons summoned?

Hexagonal blade warlocks cannot simply ignore this rule, since nothing in their description says they can. However, the Eldritch Invocation Enhanced Covenant Weapon includes this:

Finally, the weapon you conjure can be a short bow, long bow, light crossbow or heavy crossbow.

So, although the simple fact of being a hexagonal blade wizard does not allow it, this invocation of Eldritch does

Pathfinder 1e – How do wizards cast spells that appear on their spell list when they have a divine focus component?

What does a wizard do to cast a spell that contains a DF component?

Take a magic weapon for example,

Components V, S, DF

Divine Focus (DF)

A component of divine focus is an element of spiritual importance. The divine approach to a cleric or a paladin is a sacred symbol appropriate to the character's faith. The divine approach to a druid or a ranger is a sprig of holly or some other sacred plant.

If the Components line includes F / DF or M / DF, the arcane version of the spell has a focus component or a material component (the abbreviation before the bar) and the divine version has a divine focus component (the abbreviation after from the bar).

So do wizards have sacred / impious symbols in their bag of spell components or what?

dnd 5e – Where are the spell books of the NPC wizards in the Lost Mine of Phandelver adventure?

Jeremy Crawford unofficially addresses this specific issue regarding Lost Phandelver Mine in a couple of tweets from January 2017:

In LMoP, if you kill a wizard (i.e., Black Spider, etc.), do you get his spell book? It is not listed as treasure …

The DM is free to add treasures, including spell books, to an adventure.

Of course, DMs can do whatever they want, but what is the intention? Do the NPC magicians have no spell books unless they are listed as treasures?

If we really want to find a spell book as a treasure, we write it on an adventure. Otherwise, we rely on "Team" (MM, 11).

The section on equipment that Crawford mentions says:

A block of statistics rarely refers to equipment, apart from armor or weapons used by a monster. A creature that normally wears clothes, such as a humanoid, is supposed to be dressed properly.

You can equip the monsters with additional equipment and trinkets as you wish, using the equipment chapter of the Player manual to inspire you, and you decide which part of a monster's team is recoverable after the creature is killed and if any of those teams are still usable. Battered armor made for a monster can rarely be used by another person, for example.

If a spellcaster monster needs material components to cast its spells, suppose it has the material components it needs to cast the spells in its statistics block.

In this case, virtually all spellcasters in the Lost Phandelver Mine Adventure uses the evil wizard statblock:

Spellcasting The magician is a 4th level spell caster who uses Intelligence as his ability to cast spells (save spells DC 13; +5 to strike with spell attacks). The wizard knows the following spells from the wizard's spell list: (…)

(The final boss has a similar characteristic, and the only other block of statistics of the spellcaster used in LMOP is the flameskull, which are undead beings created from the remains of dead magicians).

Although they use the wizard's spell list, they do not necessarily have to follow the rules for PC assistants: NPCs are not built like PCs and do not need to follow the same rules. However, even if they were built similarly, even PC assistants only need their spell book to change their list of spells prepared at the end of a long break; therefore, the enemy does not need to have a spell book to cast his spells.


The question "How to destroy a spell book when the magician dies?" analyze a case in which the consultant does not want his player's wizard to have access to his NPC wizard's spell list.

As KorvinStarmast's response points out, Volo's guide to monsters It provides statistics blocks for several NPC archetypes that are similar to PC classes or subclasses, but as in the previous case, the statistics blocks do not include spell books or mention that the NPC requires one.

(Other answers to that question also point out how such spell books may have been hidden or configured to be destroyed, which could be given as explanations within the universe in case your players reject the explanation outside the universe that PCs and NPCs are built differently.)

dnd 5e – Do wizards with an infernal pact or tieflings have a place in the infernal hierarchy?

Warlocks with demonic covenants are mortal and, therefore, have no relevance to any diabolical hierarchy, anyway in life. It is very likely that the wizards of the Demon Pact are in the lower planes after death, either because they actively allowed an evil entity to advance its objectives in the material plane and, therefore, are considered evil, or because they explicitly sold their souls to their employer. . In the latter case, that soul is now a commodity, not an entity. What his devilish pattern does with him may vary; It can feed several disgusting magic, serve as food or entertainment, or it can get to work. Mortal souls become demons naturally in the lower planes, so at some point, if they are not consumed or destroyed, they will become a demon in itself, and so it will have a place in the proper diabolical hierarchy.

Orcus, the demon prince of non-death, followed this route. If he was a "sorcerer" per se is irrelevant,one The point is that his soul was found in the Abyss, and eventually became a bitch, and accumulated power from there.

Tieflings really has no formal place in the hierarchy; if they are useful pawns, they will be used as pawns, but apart from that they are considered weak and replaceable. It is difficult to prove that it is negative, but I have not seen them included in the various diabolical hierarchies, or described as eligible for promotion to other diabolic types, even the lower range options such as dretch or nupperibo / lemure.2

  1. The wizard class didn't really exist when Orcus was first published.

  2. The Nupperiboes are really, and this is a incredibly Very well kept secret: the lowest form of the ancient Baatorian, instead of the modern rulers of hell, the Baatezu. They are crushed and become lemurs, the lower-ranking Baatezu; Most demons, most of all, believe that this is done simply because nupperiboes cannot be promoted to other types of demons, while lemurs can. But that's not quite right, they can probably be promoted, but that would be for other forms of the Baathorian demon instead of the Baatezu demon. Part of Baatezu's "power does good" control over Baator depends on this practice to demonstrate his dominance over what remains of the Baatorians, who might otherwise be seen as the "legitimate" rulers of hell. This is very important because Baator is a legal evil plane: Baatezu's claim is only valid for Baator if Baatezu really controls the plane, and that means eliminating any potential rival claims. Then, the senior officers in the Baatezu hierarchy, particularly Asmodeus, ensure that the nupperibo lemure process is extremely full. Most of Asmodeus' power comes from Baator himself, so he cannot allow that to escape. However, Baator does not do any favors to the Baatorians: most believe that nupperiboes cannot be promoted because they never seem to do so, and much of that has to do with Baatezu's dominance of the plane that suppresses it.

dnd 3.5e – Why wizards can not simply enchant the armor so that the spell is not lost or have a lightweight enchantment, also known why wizards do not wear armor?

I know many have asked this question, but I have to do it since I am still not satisfied with the answers.

Most of the arguments used against armored magicians

  1. Iron repels magic.

    • That is not true, why? The evidence lies in the magic / enchanted armor and
      The weapons thus prove that metal / iron does not necessarily repel magic.
    • Also, if magic really repels magic, then magic will not do anything against knights who wear armor, but in most rpg, magic can bypass armor.
    • In the myth, magical / enchanted weapons such as Excalibur existed, which shows that iron does not repel magic.
  2. The armor restricts mobility at launch or is too heavy for wizards.

    • That is incorrect, why? The armor is not as heavy as you might think, the weight of the armor is distributed throughout the body, so it is not as heavy as you think. In addition, the armor is lighter than a fireman's suit. The frame is also properly articulated to allow mobility. The gauntlet is not shielded under the hand, but it has and has more mobility than one could think and if it affected the throw, then you can not use the gauntlet.

    Examples in videos:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pAzI1UvlQqw

    • As mentioned in the question if the armor is really so heavy in the RPG world, why do not you just use a weight elimination, a weight reduction or a light enchantment in the armor?
  3. The armor causes the spell to fail because that is how it works.

    • So, as mentioned in the question, why not use the enchantment to deny that problem?
    • So why can the paladin, the cleric, the druids, the bards and the arcane archer use the magic in the armor without a spell?
  4. There is no reason for magicians to wear armors because they do not need them.

    • That's wrong, why? Anti-magic or dissipate, silence etc.
  5. The armor conducts electricity and can electrocute the user or travel to go to the armor.

    • Bad because? Magicians can shape their magic and can control them so that they can also control the electricity to avoid going to the armor. For example, beams of balls, balls of fire, lightning, etc., which shows that magicians can manipulate magic. In addition, electric magic does not follow the physical cause; if they did, the electrical magic would not work properly, since air is a bad conductor of electricity and the only reason why the rays work is the electric discharge caused by imbalances between the storm clouds and the ground. If you try to generate electricity, it will be uncontrollable.
    • The principle of the Faraday cage will protect the user from electricity.
    • If electric magic is really a problem, I do not believe it, then simply bewitch the armor so that it is not conductive or does not use electric magic.
  6. The armor prevents hearing and singing magic properly.

    • Make holes to allow better hearing and talk.
    • Wear more open helmets or open visor.
    • Use enchantment
    • Paladin / Clerics, etc. They do not have that problem despite wearing a helmet.
    • Hoods inhibit hearing, but magicians use them.
  7. It is unbalanced.

    • Not really paladin, cleric, druids and shamans are strong hybrids with armor and, however, are not considered unbalanced.

Pathfinder – How can wizards earn more spells per day?

Thank you for contributing a response to the Stack Exchange RPGs!

  • Please make sure answer the question. Provide details and share your research!

But avoid

  • Ask for help, clarifications or respond to other answers.
  • Make statements based on opinion; Support them with references or personal experience.

Use MathJax to format equations. MathJax reference.

For more information, see our tips on how to write excellent answers.

dnd 5e – Can wizards not use the metamagic option of Careful Spell on themselves?

If you can not protect yourself

The rule is consistent with the use of & # 39; another creature & # 39; to mean & # 39; you're not included & # 39 ;, so with this phraseology you can not use the careful spell metamagic to protect you.

But nevertheless,

I do not see any problem if you ruled that the caster can be included. I have played and played Warlock with Careful Spell allowed on themselves and there is no problem.


This seems intentional. The writing of Sculpt Spells from Evocation Wizard also suggests the same thing:

When you cast an evocation spell that affects other Creatures that you can see, you can choose a number of them equal to 1 + the level of the spell.

and the cheep from Jeremy Crawford seems to suggest that yes

Careful spells and sculpting spells work as planned.

dnd 5e – Can Yew wands be used as a focus for druids and wizards?

Here is the full text of the rules (from http://5e.d20srd.org/srd/equipment/equipment.htm):

Arcane Focus. An arcane focus is a special element: an orb, a crystal, a rod, a specially constructed staff, a wooden wand similar to a wand or a similar element, designed to channel the power of arcane spells. A sorcerer, sorcerer or wizard can use that element as a spell focus.

Druidic approach. A druidic focus can be a sprig of mistletoe or holly, a wand or scepter made of yew or other special wood, a cane extracted from a living tree, or a totemic object that incorporates feathers, hair, bones and teeth of sacred animals. A druid can use an object as a spellcasting spotlight.

A super-literal reading of the rules would say: an arcane focus is "a wand designed to channel the power of arcane spells." A druidic focus is "a yew wand or other special wood".

It sounds as if you could look for someone who can make arcane foci and ask them to make an arcane focus from a piece of shingle wood. Then, because it is made of yew wood, it will also work for druidic spells.

dnd 5e – Does the Help spell permanently increase the HP for the Necromancy wizards with the Inured to Undeath feature?

PHB, p. 205

The effects of different spells add up while the durations of those spells overlap. However, the effects of the same spell cast several times do not combine.

On the other hand, the most powerful effect, such as the highest bonus, of those launches is applied while their durations overlap.
For example, if two clerics cast blessings on the same target, that character gains the benefit of the spell only once; he or she can not throw two bonus dice.

RAW does not say that spells can not be stacked, but that effects of the same spells can not be stacked.

As such, it can be argued that, since the HP max was never reduced again, the effect of the help spell never disappeared, so the character is no longer eligible to be attacked by the spell, unless it is with a highest spell level; RAW indicates that the target is affected by the most powerful spell effect. Even then, they would only get the highest maximum HP bonus, not both.

It may still be a maximum increase in permanent HP, but it can not be repeated, so it may not be necessary to counteract it.