dnd 5e – How many damage dice does an Undead Warlock get to roll with Eldritch Blast?

In dnd 5e the Undead Warlock has the Grave Touched ability starting at 6th level. Most of the ability is for role playing but the ability says

In addition, once during each of your turns, when you hit a creature with an attack and roll damage against the creature, you can replace the damage type with necrotic damage. While you are using your Form of Dread, you can roll one additional damage die when determining the necrotic damage the target takes.

If the warlock is using the Eldritch Blast cantrip does that mean they get to roll another d10 of damage if they choose necrotic instead of force damage? This would be the equivalent of getting yet another beam on a spell that already gets spammed because it is so powerful.

dnd 5e – How does Warlock Spell slot level interact with the feat Metamagic Adept from Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything?

dnd 5e – How does Warlock Spell slot level interact with the feat Metamagic Adept from Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything? – Role-playing Games Stack Exchange

dnd 5e – Could a Druid/Pact Blade Warlock use a Pact Blade while in Wild Shape form?

I have a player who would like to multi-class as a Druid and Blade Pact Warlock, using their pact weapon while in Wild Shape form.

In this particular instance, they want to adapt the weapon to fit their animal form, say, adding spikes to hooves or a pointed helmet to some kind of charging animal.

Would arming an animal be feasible and/or practical (now I’m imagining a bear with a Pickelhaube…)? Even if you could give a bear a sword, I don’t think it would do as much damage as its natural weapons anyway. But maybe adding extra spikes to an elk’s horns might add bonus damage? Would this, in and of itself, seem to break anything? I’m tempted to say no, as you can armor a horse, add lasers to a shark, etc.

Is there a unique advantage to arming said animal via a pact weapon? It would give proficiency, be magical, etc. But again, it may deliver less of an impact than the animal’s natural weapons, or just give a little boost to DPS or something, but that could negate itself just by being MAD.

I’m conflicted here. I don’t want this to just be some way to powergame, but if there’s no real advantage (beyond what you might achieve with something like Druid/Barbarian or similar) and just makes for good RP then I’m obliged to allow it.

Will this break things? Am I missing something?

dnd 5e – Multiclassing Way of the Astral Self Monk with Warlock

In this new D&D campaign I’m about to go into, I playing a Satyr Monk, that I wanted to sub-class into Way of the Astral Self.
The campaign is meant to be all about role-playing and deep-immersion storytelling, which is why I’m looking to build a character that is well-rounded and can go through a character arc through the course of the adventure.

Given the backstory I wrote for them (and the low intelligence I rolled), I think it would be interesting to flavor the character a bit by multi-classing with the Warlock class – exploiting that connection between my character and their patron to explain how this slightly dumb, lawfully good and gullible character suddenly manages to channel the powers of the Astral Plane and tap into their Astral Self.

Essentially, I thought I could role-play it as if the pact they made with their Warlock entity to gain spell-casting abilities came with unexpected “side-effects” – and slowly, through the course of the game, that connection starts taking a toll on to the character’s own powers as a monk (by sub-classing into Way of the Astral Self and being the reason behind the way in which their astral self deals damage), their personality and (maybe even) their physical appearance.

The thing I’m missing right now is the choosing the deity they make a pact with.

Since this will be my first time playing a Warlock (or any spell-caster for that matter) I don’t really know a lot about Warlock Pacts or which would be best. My character already has a high CHA, which from what I understand can be important for a Warlock, and given the role-playing I’m aiming for, the Dark Pact and the Fey Pact seem like reasonable enough options (they can explain both that connection with the astral plane and the slow curroption of the character).

But since I really don’t know the Warlock options that well, if anyone has some suggestions or know of some homebrew content I could look into, that would be very helpful!

Balance implications of houseruled “Megaman Warlock”

One of the first 5e character concepts I heard people discussing was the so-called “Megaman Warlock,” based on using monster weapons as pact weapons since the Player’s Handbook rules text for Pact of the Blade seems to suggest that the warlock would be proficient with these weapons. (Word of god on the subject is that they are not.)

Even with that understanding, though, the inability to have more than one pact weapon at the time meant it wasn’t terribly useful. Answers to a previous question of mine suggest that ultimately, it’s very difficult for Pact of the Blade warlocks to make much, if any, use of the ability to use any weapon—you’re better off just picking the best weapon available and sticking with it, which ultimately isn’t all that different from what a warlock of the Hexblade patron could do from 1st level.

Further, generally speaking, Pact of the Blade is considered sub-par. Hexblade does it better, and even copying its best feature to Pact of the Blade doesn’t make the Pact imbalanced. So I want to improve it.

Which gets me thinking about Megaman Warlocks again—what if we could use monster weapons? And we could have as many pact weapons as we like (but only summon one at a time)? Maybe it should be an invocation, so here is what I’m thinking:

Mega Pact Weapon

Prerequisite: Pact of the Blade feature

Your ability to turn a weapon into a pact weapon improves in the following ways:

  • You can turn a weapon into a pact weapon as an action.
  • You can turn any weapon that is neither sentient nor an artifact into a pact weapon. This includes improvised and/or nonmagical weapons, as well as weapons that are neither simple nor martial.
  • You can turn any number of weapons into pact weapons.

As usual, you are always proficient with a pact weapon, even if you use this invocation to turn an improvised or highly unusual weapon into a pact weapon.

Your ability to conjure weapons you have turned into pact weapons also improves:

  • You can summon one as an item interaction.
  • You can resize one, and/or remove the Heavy property, when you summon it. If you do, the DM adjusts its damage appropriately.

This invocation does not grant you the ability to summon multiple pact weapons. You may need to dismiss a previously-summoned pact weapons in order to conjure and use a different one.

This invocation also has no effect on your ability to conjure pact weapons that weren’t previously weapons you had found and turned into pact weapons. Those remain subject to exactly the same limitations that they had without this invocation.

Is this a balanced invocation? Is it a good invocation? Its most obvious competition is Improved Pact Weapon, it seems to me (though you could take both), so perhaps analysis should start there.

The other thing I’m unsure about is whether I should have actual rules for resizing weapons/removing Heavy and determining the appropriate damage, or if it’s more appropriate to leave to the DM. Perhaps a sidebar for DMs would be best, giving guidance but leaving the ultimate decision in their hands. Ultimately, it’s inescapable that the power of this ability is going to be heavily predicated on the enemies the DM chooses to use. You may presume that the DM wants this character to work as advertised, and will make an effort to include monsters that have useful or interesting weapons at the appropriate CRs.

dnd 5e – Can a Fathomless Warlock effectively communicate with any fully submerged creature, regardless of languages known?

The Fathomless Warlock’s 6th level feature Oceanic Soul states:

You are now even more at home in the depths. You gain resistance to cold damage. In addition, when you are fully submerged, any creature that is also fully submerged can understand your speech, and you can understand theirs.

This is something of a two-part question, but can be asked simply: does Oceanic Soul require a shared language? The two cases to consider are:

  1. Can the Fathomless Warlock communicate with a submerged creature that knows at least one language the Warlock does not know?

  2. Can the Fathomless Warlock communicate with a submerged creature that knows no language?

dnd 5e – Is it imbalanced to change a Warlock Subclasses’ Expanded Spell List to Additional Spells Known?

Warlock’s have a relatively limited number of spells known, and (in my experience) the fewest uses of spells throughout a given day in a campaign. I feel with these limits, it would not be unfair to instead of expanding there spell list with the 10 or so spells from each subclass, actually add the spells to the number of spells known. There is precedent for this, as the Sorcerer subclasses from TCoE both add spells to the number of spells known, and all of the cleric subclasses add permanently prepared spells to their lists.
The only exception I think is needed from this house rule is the Genie subclass’s access to Wish, which I would consider an addition to the spell list, instead of having 2 spells available for the ninth level Mystic Arcanum.

Because of their limited use of spell slots, expanding the Warlock options of what to do with those spell slots I feel would not hinder the balance of the game. Is there some balance level that I am missing?

dnd 5e – If I create magical darkness with the Silent Image spell, can I see through it if I have the Devil’s Sight warlock invocation?

Silent Image probably does not create the same effect as Darkness

Silent Image, a 1st-level spell says:

You create the image of an object, a creature, or some other visible phenomenon (…) The image appears at a spot within range and lasts for the duration. The image is purely visual; it isn’t accompanied by sound, smell, or other sensory effects.

(…)

Physical interaction with the image reveals it to be an illusion, because things can pass through it. A creature that uses its action to examine the image can determine that it is an illusion with a successful Intelligence (Investigation) check against your spell save DC. If a creature discerns the illusion for what it is, the creature can see through the image.

The wording of Silent Image is a little vague because it allows the caster a lot of room for creative use but it is probably unbalancing to allow it to duplicate the effect of the higher level Darkness spell. The fact that a creature can investigate it to nullify the effect means that it is not as strong as the true Darkness spell and so there is room to argue both ways.

I think it’s also worth pointing out that the Silent Image spell does not convey any sort of effect or benefit to the generated image (“It is purely visual”). If you create the image of lava, it does not deal fire damage to any creature that stands in it. (That would be what Phantasmal Force, another higher level spell, does.) So it shouldn’t convey the benefits of Darkness spell by the same token.

Even if you did rule that Silent Image replicated Darkness, in actual use, it might not function as well. The rule for Silent Image contains the sentence “Physical interaction with the image reveals it to be an illusion, because things can pass through it.”

This creates a conflict: A creature or object can move through both a true Darkness and an illusory version just as easily. But the fact that the Silent Image version specifically states that “physical interaction reveals it to be an illusion” means that there must be some difference between the two (whatever that is) which causes it to not function as a true Darkness.

In the cleanest presentation, a creature might be outside of the effect and look through it at another creature that is also outside the effect. But as soon as, say, a projectile traveled through it, that would arguably be physical interaction with the illusory darkness and therefore reveal it to be normal darkness.

In short, it’s messier to give Silent Image the ability to replicate all aspects of the Darkness spell than it is to say that it can create an area of darkness that lacks the full benefit of Darkness and therefore it’s probably a better to interpret the rules so that it does not.

dnd 5e – When would it be most effective to multiclass into warlock as a 3rd level swashbuckler rogue?

I am currently playing a level three Satyr Swashbuckler Rogue with the Sailor (Pirate) Background. I want to multiclass into Warlock, but I still want to be at least okay in combat with my mostly min-maxxed party. My current thought is that it seems reasonable to multiclass at level 5 or 6, and I’m considering both the Fiend or the Genie. We are planning to go to level 14. My stats are 8 16 14 10 10 16, and I primarily use a rapier.

I know that a Rogue/Warlock multiclass is not very good but I really like the flavor and want to make it work. I’ve been looking at maybe booming blade and eldritch blast for the cantrips and going to second level for invocations like Mask of Many Faces to help with non-combat encounters.

I have all sources available with the exception of unearthed arcana and Plane Shift.

I want to stay with rogue primarily, but I’m open to alternatives.

My party is a High Elf Illusion Wizard, a Variant Human Bear Totem Barbarian with the Sentinel feat, a Base Dragonborn Conquest Paladin, and a Lotusden Halfling Beastmaster Ranger (from Tasha’s).

If I need to include any other information please let me know, this is my first time asking a question. Thank you!

multi classing – Can a character that has multiclassed as a War Domain Cleric and Blade Pact Warlock attack 3 times in a round?

At 1st level a War Domain cleric gets “bolts of inspiration” that allow an extra attack as a bonus action. This ability can only be used a limited number of times per long rest.

At 5th level a Blade Pact warlock can get the Thirsting Blade Eldritch invocation which allows the warlock to attack twice with their pact weapon.

If a character had all the prerequisites could they attack 3 times in one round? Twice with the attack action and once as a bonus action.

I know that extra attacks from multiclass do not stack. Is this an exception to the rule? Given the limited nature of the War Priest ability I don’t think it would be terribly unbalanced but a character could occasionally elevate their burst damage.

DreamProxies - Cheapest USA Elite Private Proxies 100 Cheap USA Private Proxies Buy 200 Cheap USA Private Proxies 400 Best Private Proxies Cheap 1000 USA Private Proxies 2000 USA Private Proxies 5000 Cheap USA Private Proxies ExtraProxies.com - Buy Cheap Private Proxies Buy 50 Private Proxies Buy 100 Private Proxies Buy 200 Private Proxies Buy 500 Private Proxies Buy 1000 Private Proxies Buy 2000 Private Proxies ProxiesLive.com Proxies-free.com New Proxy Lists Every Day Proxies123.com Best Quality USA Private Proxies