In Curse of Strahd, the players can encounter an NPC with a special ability.
When the Tarokka reading indicates “Strahd’s Enemy”, “This NPC, whoever it ends up being, gains the following additional action: Inspire. While within sight of Strahd, this character grants inspiration to one player character he or she can see.” Since this ability is an action, it can potentially be used every combat round.
Is the NPC’s use of this ability supposed to be an example of “specific beats general”, where their ability as written within the context of the module overrides the PHB limitation that
You either have inspiration or you don’t—you can’t stockpile multiple “inspirations” for later use.
are we to understand that the ability comes with the implied clause, “subject to the normal rules of Inspiration” or “as long as that character is not currently Inspired”.
Related: How is this character useful as an ally in Curse of Strahd?