dnd 5e: Can a druid pull a target through other creatures with Thorn Whip?

What blocks the "pull" of Thorn Whip?

Thorn Whip: … and if the creature is large or smaller, you pull the creature up to 10 feet closer to you.

As a specific example, the druid pulls a creature that is 15 feet away, but just in front of the target (and between the target and the druid) is another creature. Can the target be pulled through the other creature?

Does it matter if the other creature is an enemy or an ally? Does the other creature have any option about it?

dnd 5e: What is the correct way to apply the Thorn Whip extraction effect on a mounted lens?

The description of thorn whip cantrip is:

You create a long, spiny vine-covered whip that attacks
Your command to a creature in range. Make a melee attack
against the objective. If the attack hits, the creature takes 1d6
penetrating damage, and if the creature is large or smaller, you pull the
creature up to 10 feet closer to you.

If the cantrip is aimed at a target mounted on a mount and hits, should both the mount and the rider be pulled?

dnd 5e – Can you use the Thorn Whip attraction effect if the enemy is 5 & # 39 ;?

In the PHB on page 191, in Creature Size: Space:

The space of a creature is the area in feet that effectively controls in combat, not an expression of its physical dimensions … The space of a creature also reflects the area it needs to fight effectively. For that reason, there is a limit on the number of creatures that can surround another creature in combat. Assuming medium fighters, eight creatures can fit within a 5-foot radius around each other.

So there is nothing in RAW that prevents you from dragging the opponent into your space (however, it can affect your ability to fight effectively. I guess the effect would depend on your DM).

As for passing it, on the same page:

You can move through the space of a hostile creature only if the creature is at least two sizes larger or smaller than you.

However, this belongs to a creature that moves alone, so this decision may depend on the DM.

Also, as you said in your post, it says closer to you, not to you. That makes me think that it cannot happen, since that would not be bringing it closer. However, that can be annoying.

dnd 5e: Can the Thorn Whip Cantrip lift the target 10 feet in the air?

From the description of the Thorn Whip spell, the emphasis is mine:

… if the creature is large or smaller, you bring the creature closer to 10 feet closer to you

If you are an Aarakocra druid and you are in the air, you can approach the target 10 feet closer to you, in the air, and drop it to inflict fall damage.

dnd 5e: Can you choose not to cast with the Thorn Whip spell?

yesIt is a choice. Or more specifically, you must pull the creature, but you can pull it 0 feet.

Thorn whip
You create a long, vine-shaped whip covered with
thorns that attack your orders towards a creature within reach.
Perform a melee attack against the target. If the attack hits,
the creature receives 1d6 of penetrating damage, and if the creature is large
or smaller, strips of the creature until 10 feet closer to you.

The spell does exactly what it says. Many spells and abilities allow you to choose, including proper writing. This specifically allows you to choose the length you pull the creature (0-10 feet).

dnd 5e – If I have the War Caster feat, can I use the Thorn Whip cantrip to prevent an enemy launcher from escaping with the Dimension Door spell?

The movement of the hostile creature does not provoke an attack of opportunity, so your feat of War Pitcher is not activated.

The dowry of the war launcher (PHB 170) says:

When the movement of a hostile creature causes an attack of opportunity
You, you can use your reaction to cast a spell on the creature, instead of
to make an attack of opportunity. The spell must have a casting time.
of 1 action and must aim only at that creature.

The movement of the hostile creature does not provoke an attack of opportunity of yours, so your feat of Warcaster is not activated.

the Dimension door description of the spell (PHB 233) says:

You teleport from your current location to any other place
within reach. You arrive exactly to the desired place. It can be a
place that you can see, one that you can visualize, or one that you can describe by
indicating distance and direction, such as "200 feet in a straight line down"
or "up to the northwest at a 45 degree angle, 300 feet."

Dimension door it is a teleportation spell, and teleportation does not trigger attacks of opportunity.

The rules on attacks of opportunity (PHB 195) establish:

Nor do you provoke an attack of opportunity when you teleport or when
someone or something moves you without using your movement, action or
reaction.

In addition, spells do what they say they do, and the spell description of Dimension Door does not say that it creates a door through which you must pass; it simply teleports you to the place within range, so the mechanism proposed to prevent teleportation from happening will not work either.


Thanks to nick012000 for contributing the additional note.

Thorn Whip Cantrip vs enemy Casting Dimension Door

Is it possible, as a reaction to the Warcaster feat using a Warlock / Druid, to launch the cantrip? thorn whip to drive an enemy away from his / her Dimension door spell out?

dnd 5e – Does this Spirit Guardians + Thorn Whip combo work?

Ready

[…]

When you prepare a spell, you cast it normally, but you keep its energy, which you release with your reaction when the shot occurs. To be prepared, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and holding on to the magic of the spell requires concentration (explained in chapter 10). If your concentration is broken, the spell dissipates without effect. For example, if you concentrate on the web spell and the magic missile ready, your web spell ends, and if you take damage before launching a magic missile with your reaction, your concentration could be broken.

Actions in combat., Player's manual, p. 193

Unfortunately, Spiritual guardians It is a spell that requires the user to maintain concentration. So if you tried to use this sequence of events, Spiritual guardians it would end the moment you tried Ready the Thorn whip spell out.

For the sake of the argument, suppose that Thorn whip instead, it had a Release Time of "Reaction, used when a target moves away from you". This would mean that we would no longer have to use the Ready action to prepare it, which means that it is no longer necessary to maintain concentration on Thorn whip, meaning not to break the concentration in Spiritual guardians.

In this case, you could fire the second source of damage: this is the first time this turn has the creature. entry the radius of the spiritual guardians; previously, the creature started his turn inside the radio, but he did not get in during his shift. So using Thorn whip This would treat the second source of damage of that turn.

You are complicating this

You do not need to bother trying to prepare an action. The effect of Spiritual guardiansIn addition to inflicting damage, it is slowing the movement of the creatures affected by half. Most hostile creatures have a movement speed of 30-35 feet per round, which means that at half speed, a creature that comes directly from the Spiritual Guardians is probably not more than 5-10 feet away from the edge of the body. AOE. As a result, using Thorn whip in its own turn, as a normal Action, instead of trying to prepare it + Reaction, it is perfectly useful to return them to the interior of the Spiritual guardians, causing extra damage. And if they are more than 25 feet away from you (ie, Thorn whip you can not pull them inside the AOE), you can move a few feet closer before launching it. This will cause them to suffer damage by being moved within the radius and then take damage again when they start their turn.

So, in general, this method inflicts the same amount of damage as the method you are trying to use, but does not require you to use your Reaction, it does not require you to invent a false spell that is "Thorn whip, but issued as a Reaction ", and it is easier to make sense of the rules of the game.

Can the druid cantrip Thorn Whip really defeat a water that easy?

If a water is rare less than 10 feet from the edge of your pool, what would it be if you were trying to restrain and grab the characters that are on dry land, can a druid throw thorn whip Get him out of his pond, killing him instantly? I think the druid can, but am I missing something?

Can the druid cantrip Thorn Whip really defeat this monster so easily?

If a water is rare less than 10 feet from the edge of your pool, what would it be if you were trying to restrain and grab the characters that are on dry land, can a druid throw thorn whip Get him out of his pond, killing him instantly? I think the druid can, but am I missing something?