Staff Needed – Emerald Package | Forum Promotion

Site URL: Will send it out via PM….
Package: Emerald
Total posts your site: 145
Packager Preference: N/A
Preferred posting location: N/A
Would you like to upgrade all replies to threads?: No
Do you permit our packagers to promote Forum Promotion on your site?: Yes
Extra Notes: Thanks in advance!

 

Funhomebiz is looking for staff: | Forum Promotion

Funhome biz is an upcoming forum. It has a theme based around a magical world filled with wonders beyond human imagination.
We don’t want to give to much away.
What we are looking for:
Artist: We are looking for an artist to draw the different realms, sections, exc..
Writer: We are looking writer to help plan and write about the exciting new world.
Both these positions can be tied into a moderator position if the person wishes.
If interested pm me or message me on discord.
Discord: Altair.

 

Staff Needed – JoyFreak | Forum Promotion

Site URL: Gaming Forums
Package: Ruby Package
Total posts on your forum: 19,199
Packager Preferences: N/A
Area Preferences: All posts and threads are to be made in the Gaming Forum section.
Would you like to upgrade all replies to threads?: No
Extra Notes: Many thanks!

dnd 5e – Can you wield the Staff of Defense and a shield, and have their AC bonuses stack with the Mage Armor spell?

The staff of defense from the Lost Mine of Phandelver Starter Set campaign (p. 53) is a magic staff that grants +1 to AC when attuned. As a magic staff, it also functions as a quarterstaff, which has the versatile property and can be used one-handed.

Can you wield the staff of defense in one hand, and have an actual physical shield equipped in the other hand?

Say I have a Dex score of 16 (a +3 modifier), and the mage armor spell. If I’m also wielding the staff of defense and have a shield equipped, would I have an AC of 13 + 3 + 1 + 2, for a total of 19?

Staff of Defense, and then a an actual physical shield

So, Qstaff is versatile and can be used one-handed. Can you have it in one hand, and an ACTUAL physical shield in another hand? Say I have 16 dex, mage armor. The staff, and a shield. Would that be 13+3+1+2 for AC?

dnd 5e – Does a Staff of the Magi Fireball penetrate Globe of Invulnerability?

Globe of Invulnerability reads, in part (emphasis mine):

Any spell of 5th level or lower cast from outside the barrier can’t
affect creatures or objects within it, even if the spell is cast using
a higher level spell slot.

Okay, so a level 6+ spell penetrates the barrier. Normally, “a level 6+ spell” would include ANY spell cast using a level 6+ slot. Globe of Invulnerability has that extra “even if…” clause, though, so that we still check Fireball’s base level even when it’s cast with a level 6 slot. Great. This was all covered in this related question.

The question I’m writing now, though, comes down to whether that “even if…” clause can be circumvented by upcasting the spell with something other than a slot. Enter The Staff of the Magi:

While holding the staff, you can use an action to expend some of its
charges to cast one of the following spells from it, using your spell
save DC and spellcasting ability: conjure elemental (7 charges),
dispel magic (3 charges), fireball (7th-level version, 7 charges)

Interpretation 1: That fireball IS a level 7 fireball. That’s what the staff’s description says.
That fireball is NOT a “spell of 5th level or lower”. Moreover, that level 7 fireball was NOT cast using a higher level slot, so it doesn’t run afoul of the Globe’s “even if…” clause. The fireball penetrates

Interpretation 2: The fireball is normally a level 7 spell, but that’s per the rule about casting spells with higher level slot. Let’s look at the actual rule:

When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher
level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher level for that
casting. For instance, if Umara casts magic missile using one of her
2nd-level slots, that magic missile is 2nd level (PHB p.201).

One might argue that the Globe’s “even if…” clause means that it’s an exception to the above rule. The fireball fails to penetrate.

Interpretation 3: When The Staff of the Magi says, “7th-level version”, it means that, with respect to all other rules or exceptions-to-rules or whatever, pretend like the spell was cast from a level 7 spell slot (just don’t cross of a level 7 slot if you have one). The fireball fails to penetrate.

Staff of Power
On a lighter note, what got me thinking about this was encountering a Staff of Power in-game, which can (among other things) cast Globe of Invulnerablity. It’s only a Very Rare staff, whereas the Staff of the Magi is legendary. I find it interesting to see the little advantages the Staff of Power has over the Staff of the Magi.

Recruitment for design staff

Hi Everyone,

We really need some design staff for MAF(myanimeforum.net).
If you would like to share some other responsibilities, then you can be a moderator too
But please note that, we need some graphic skills at the moment

Regards,
Claraviolet

dnd 5e – Must I have seen a type of flower with my own eyes to use the Staff of Flowers to cause that type of flower to sprout?

Spells only do what they say they do. Wild Shape for example, says that you can only transform into a creature you have seen before. Staff of Flowers has no such wording.

But what I want to know is does the staff require me to know a flower, or just know of a flower?

You have to choose the flower, so you should at least know of it.

Specifically I want to know exactly how much knowledge of a flower is reasonable to grow it. Does one need to know the name? How it looks? Where it grows? How it can be used? All of the above?

The name or having a mental sense of “that one” is enough. Regardless if your PC is thinking “that white flower that grows by my house”, you need to communicate that to your DM.

Does one even need to know it’s a flower to make it grow? If a character has never seen Sugar Cane and hears the name and they want to know if it’s a flower or not, can they grow it? What if they know everything else about the plant except that it’s a flower and they want to confirm it?

Sugar cane isn’t a valid choice. Usually when you try to make an invalid choice in the game, the DM will tell you “pick something else”.

dnd 5e – Must I have seen a Flower with my own eyes to use Staff Of Flowers?

I’ve said this before but The Staff Of Flowers from Xgte is a surprisingly useful item for it’s level.

But what I want to know is does the staff require me to know a flower, or just know of a flower? Specifically I want to know exactly how much knowledge of a flower is reasonable to grow it. Does one need to know the name? How it looks? Where it grows? How it can be used? All of the above?

Does one even need to know it’s a flower to make it grow? If a character has never seen Sugar Cane and hears the name and they want to know if it’s a flower or not, can they grow it? What if they know everything else about the plant except that it’s a flower and they want to confirm it?

dnd 5e: If I use a staff as my arcane focus, can I add my competition bonus, like a bard does when using an instrument as an arcane focus?

You always use your skill bonus when casting spells

The Basic Rules clarify, in the chapter on Spellcasting (emphasis mine):

The DC to resist one of your spells equals 8 + your spell casting ability modifier + your competition bonus + any special modifier.

and…

Your attack bonus with a spell attack equals your spell casting ability modifier + your competition bonus.


Using a spellcasting approach only replaces certain material components …

A character can use a component bag or a spell casting approach instead of the specified components for a spell.

… so being proficient with an arcane approach doesn't affect the details of spellcasting.

As a side note, this is true not only for arcane spotlights that function as staff quarters, but also for characters like the College of Swords bards who get:

If you are proficient with a simple or martial melee weapon, you can use it as a spell casting focus for your bard spells.