dnd 5e: What benefits does the Power Word Kill spell have?

One of the biggest advantages of Power Word: Kill is that the target is dead, not just 0 HP.

I can think of several situations in which an enemy that has 0 HP is not the same as the enemy that is dead.

Enemy healers

While it depends on your DM, not all enemies die when they reach 0 HP. Optionally, the DM may choose to have death saving throws for an enemy; or worse, there may be an enemy healer in battle too.

Think of all the times you've seen someone throw Word of healing, or put a Goodberry or Healing Potion in the mouth of an unconscious ally. Such a tactic is very powerful to put another PC into operation immediately.

A DM is free to use that same strategy by including powerful healers as part of a meeting. Knock down the great enemy at 0 HP? Good job, until it is the turn of the healer and put them back in positive again.

Vampires

Vampire

Misty escape. When he falls to 0 hit points outside his resting place,
the vampire transforms into a cloud of fog (as in the form changer
trait) instead of falling unconscious, as long as it is not in
sunlight or running water. If it cannot be transformed, it is destroyed.

When you fight a vampire Word of power: Killing can be the difference between a challenging encounter and a recurring villain.

Polymorph / Wild Form

Theik's answer covers this well.

In short, a Polymorphed or Wild Shaped creature returns to its original form when it reaches 0 HP. With Power Word: Kill, they simply die.

Many spells have the ability to save to reduce or prevent damage. Some creatures have Legendary Resistances, which allows you to save a limited number of times per day, even if they fail in your saving throw.

There is no such save for Power Word: Kill. The only condition is that they have 100 HP or less, and then die.

There are no material or somatic components in this spell, which means you can do it even if you lack the bag of components or have your hands busy with other things.

Not all tables pay attention to such restrictions, but if your DM demands to have a free hand (or something that meets the requirement) to use somatic components and / or materials, this makes this spell potentially very useful.

In summary, the spell is not a generic "I win" button, but rather a situational tool that can be used in a variety of circumstances.

It won't be the best option all the time, but it can easily be the best option sometimes.

dnd 5e: is this Portent-like spell balanced?

As a magician of divination, I love the portentous mechanic. There is nothing better than pointing to an ally about to unleash his biggest attack on BBEG and say: & # 39; you just took a 20 & # 39; (or any number you have that is high enough to hit). It makes me feel like a real fortune telling Wizard.

Unfortunately, I have discovered that there are few combat spells that have the same feeling of being able to directly influence the fortunes of others. That is why I tried to capture the sensation of wonder in the form of a spell.

Alter fate

Second level divination

Audition time: 1 share

Distance: I

Components: V, S, M (a glass bead)

Duration: Concentration, up to 1 minute.

By focusing your inner eye on the near future, you can influence the fabric of destiny. When you cast this spell, you cast 1d20 and record the number. As a reaction, you can replace any attack roll, save roll or skill check made by you or a creature you can see with this prediction roll. You must choose to do it before launch. This prediction roll can only be used once.

In higher levels: When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 3rd level or higher, you can add or subtract 1 for each spell level above the 2nd to the dice roll, with a minimum result of 1 and a maximum result of 20.

I have trouble finding an adequate way to estimate the power level of this spell. I realize that there is a reason why divination wizards only receive their third bearing die on lvl 14. That is why I have tried to limit the spell by requiring concentration and an action to cast.

The part that worries me most about being unbalanced is the part & # 39; at higher levels & # 39 ;. Does this make it too easy to get critical hits or failures?

dnd 5e: Can the Metamagia of the Twin Spell be used in a spell as a reaction to the War Launcher feat?

I am not sure if this interpretation of RAW is correct or if there is any RAI that would decide if the combination of a warcast spell is valid. Is there anything that makes explicit that a single objective spell cast through the Caster feat of war may or may not be twinned?

War pitcher

When the movement of a hostile creature causes you an attack of opportunity, you can use your reaction to cast a spell on the creature, instead of making an attack of opportunity. The spell must have a cast time of only 1 action and must aim only at that creature.

From what I can say, War pitcher takes place during the activation of the reaction. You replace an attack of opportunity with the casting of a spell, or essentially the act of casting spells. Once you select a spell that performs 1 action and is directed only at the creature that caused the Reaction, the requirements for War pitcher They are satisfied.

Metamagia: Sister Spell

When you cast a spell that targets only one creature and does not have a self range, you can spend a number of sorcery points equal to the level of the spell to point to a second creature in range with the same spell (1 spell point if the spell is a cantrip).

According to the formulation of this metamagic function, you select a twin spell after selecting targets. That would be later War caster The conditions have already been met.

Now, Brother spell It doesn't work on things like Fire Ball, because may it points to more than one creature, even if it currently does not. However, I'm not sure if this can be applied to War Caster in the same way, because what makes that the case is Brother spell. And if you can't use something like Fire Bolt because could to be twinned and that makes the condition violate "it must point only to that creature", which would imply that you can never hurt Fire Discharge because "that target only to a creature" would also apply. So, if you can't make a warcast spell, you shouldn't be able to twin any spell, so I can say. That leads me to conclude that you must be able to twin a warcast spell. Brother spell does not apply retroactively to itself, so it would make sense not to apply retroactively to War pitcher.

What information exists that makes this clear and less dependent on just trying to guess the order of operations for when War caster condition stops applying?

dnd 5e: What spells are in the ranger spell list and not in the druid spell list?

As I have requested in this question, what spells are on the ranger spell list and not on the druid spell list?

I am more interested in the basic rule books. Unofficial material and unearthed arcana must not be included.

This should only include base spell lists; no discussion about subclass expanded spell lists is necessary

feats: Can you cast a spell cast through a war launcher reaction?

I am not sure if this interpretation of RAW is correct or if there is any RAI that would decide if the combination of a warcast spell is valid. Is there anything that makes explicit that a single objective spell cast through the Caster feat of war may or may not be twinned?

War pitcher

When the movement of a hostile creature causes you an attack of opportunity, you can use your reaction to cast a spell on the creature, instead of making an attack of opportunity. The spell must have a cast time of only 1 action and must aim only at that creature.

From what I can say, War pitcher takes place during the activation of the reaction. You replace an attack of opportunity with the casting of a spell, or essentially the act of casting spells. Once you select a spell that performs 1 action and is directed only at the creature that caused the Reaction, the requirements for War pitcher They are satisfied.

Metamagia: Sister Spell

When you cast a spell that targets only one creature and does not have a self range, you can spend a number of sorcery points equal to the level of the spell to point to a second creature in range with the same spell (1 spell point if the spell is a cantrip).

According to the formulation of this metamagic function, you select a twin spell after selecting targets. That would be later War caster The conditions have already been met.

Now, Brother spell It doesn't work on things like Fire Ball, because may it points to more than one creature, even if it currently does not. However, I'm not sure if this can be applied to War Caster in the same way, because what makes that the case is Brother spell. And if you can't use something like Fire Bolt because could to be twinned and that makes the condition violate "it must point only to that creature", which would imply that you can never hurt Fire Discharge because "that target only to a creature" would also apply. So, if you can't make a warcast spell, you shouldn't be able to twin any spell, so I can say. That leads me to conclude that you must be able to twin a warcast spell. Brother spell does not apply retroactively to itself, so it would make sense not to apply retroactively to War pitcher.

What information exists that makes this clear and less dependent on just trying to guess the order of operations for when War caster condition stops applying?

dnd 5e: Do you need to concentrate on a spell when you cast it with a spell roll?

I'm currently running Out of the abyss, and my group is about to meet a wizard with a description that says

If the characters become hostile, [the magician] orders
let them go, so that they do not provoke the wrath of their
Almighty teacher. If attacked, use your balloon
Invulnerability shift, throws fly over itself and fly towards
the abyss

Both spells are concentration spells, so I'm not sure if it's a module error, if you don't need concentration for the scrolls, or if I read the paragraph incorrectly and he only uses the scroll first, escapes and then proceeds to fly and fly away.

So my question is: Do I need to stay focused for concentration spells cast with a spell roll?

dnd 3.5e – What are the exact rules for the Polymorph spell considering its Alter Self spell inheritance?

The first point of confusion with the spell. Polymorphic organism is clarifying how exactly your text interacts with that of Alter Self. To that end, the combination of the two spells is shown below as if Polymorphic organism It was written as an independent spell instead of a derivative one. This was accomplished by breaking both spells line by line, and then replacing lines of Alter Self with the respective lines of Polymorphic organism, in addition to changing lines of Alter Self to refer to "subject / it" instead of "you / his" as appropriate.

Polymorphic organism It begins with the line, "This spell works as an alter self, except that …" Usually, there are two separate ideologies on how to interpret this statement: "replace" and "add or replace." For the first, any individual element of Alter Self affected by a rule of Polymorphic organism It is completely stripped and completely replaced by the new rules. For the latter, the language of Polymorphic organism it simply adds to Alter Self unless an acute conflict is created, in which case only the language in conflict is removed from Alter Self.

This answer uses the "replace" interpretation of Polymorphic organism vs. Alter Self instead of the interpretation "add or replace". The interpretation of "add or replace" leads to strange rules that do not make much sense from a player's perspective, such as arbitrarily limiting a normal-sized creature, of which there are no standard player races, so that they become even more Small but does not affect the size options. So, in all cases where a Polymorphic organism rule refers to something directly governed by Alter Self, the relevant Alter Self the language has been completely discarded and replaced by the language found in Polymorphic organism.

Polymorphic organism

Transmutation
Level: Sor / Wiz 4
Components: V, S, M
Audition time: 1 standard action
Distance: I touched
Objective: Willing living creature touched
Duration: 1 min / Level (D)
Saving Throw: Any
Spell Resistance: Do not

You change the willing subject to another form of living creature. It cannot cause a subject to assume a smaller form than Fina, nor can it cause a subject to assume a disembodied or gaseous form. The assumed form cannot have more hit dice than your thrower level (or the subject's HD, whichever is lower), up to a maximum of 15 HD at level 15. The new form may be of the same type as the subject or any of the following types: aberration, animal, dragon, fairy, giant, humanoid, magical beast, monstrous humanoid, exudate, plant or vermin.

When changing, the subject recovers the lost hit points as if he had rested overnight (although this healing does not restore the damage of temporary ability and provides other benefits of resting; and the change of back does not heal the subject anymore). The subject obtains the Force, Dexterity and Constitution scores in the new form, but retains his own Intelligence, Wisdom and Charisma scores. The class and level of the subject, hit points, alignment, base attack bonus and base rescue bonuses remain the same.

The subject retains all special attacks and supernatural qualities and spells in its normal form, except those that require a part of the body that the new form does not have (such as a mouth for a breath weapon or eyes for a look attack). The subject maintains all extraordinary special attacks and qualities derived from class levels, but loses any of its normal form that does not derive from class levels. He also wins all the extraordinary special attacks that the form possesses, but does not obtain the extraordinary special qualities that the new form possesses or any supernatural or spell-like abilities.

If the new form is able to speak, it can communicate normally. The subject retains any spell casting abilities he had in his original form, but the new form must be able to speak intelligibly (i.e. speak a language) to use verbal components and must have limbs capable of fine manipulation to use somatic components or materials

The subject acquires the physical qualities of the new form while retaining his own mind. Physical qualities include life size, worldly movement capabilities (such as burrows, climbing, walking, swimming and flying with wings, at a maximum speed of 120 feet to fly or 60 feet for movement without flight), natural armor bonus, natural weapons (such as claws, bites, etc.), racial skills bonuses, feats of racial bonus and any serious physical quality (presence or absence of wings, number of limbs, etc.). A body with additional limbs does not allow the subject to make more attacks (or attacks with two more advantageous weapons) than normal.

The subject does not obtain special qualities not mentioned above under physical qualities, such as dark vision, low light vision, blind sense, blind vision, rapid healing, regeneration, aroma, etc. The subject does not get any special supernatural attack, special qualities or spell abilities in the new way.

The type and subtype of the subject's creature (if applicable) change to match the new shape. The subject cannot take the form of a creature with a template, even if that template does not change the type or subtype of creature. The disembodied or gaseous creatures are immune to being polymorphs, and a creature with the form-changing subtype can return to its natural form as a standard action.

You can freely designate the minor physical qualities of the new form (such as hair color, hair texture and skin color) within normal ranges for such a creature. The significant physical qualities of the new form (such as height, weight and gender) are also under your control, but must be within the standards for the class of the new form. The subject effectively disguises himself as an average member of the race in the new way. If you use this spell to create a costume, you get a +10 bonus on your costume check.

When the change occurs, the subject's equipment, if any, remains worn or retained by the new form (if it is able to use or hold the item), or merges with the new form and stops working. When the subject returns to its true form, any object previously mixed in the new form reappears in the same location on its body that it previously occupied and becomes functional again. Any new item that the subject used in the assumed manner and that he cannot use in his normal form falls and falls at his feet; Everything that you can use in any form or carry in a part of the body common to both forms at the time of reversal is still maintained in the same way.

Any part of the body or piece of equipment that separates completely returns to its true form. If killed, the subject returns to its original form, although it remains dead.

With the spell more clearly defined, we can now go section by section to determine exactly what Polymorphic organism It really does, organized by paragraph:

Choose a legal form:

You change the subject arranged to. . .

  • At least fine size
  • It is not gaseous or incorporeal.
  • The hit dice must not be more than the minimum throwing level of the Polymorphic organism subject spell or hit dice, up to a maximum of 15
  • The assumed form can be the type of subject, or any of: aberration, animal, dragon, fairy, giant, humanoid, magical beast, monstrous humanoid, exudate, plant or vermin

Effect on subject hit points, attributes and statistics

When changing, the subject. . .

  • Heal the hit points as if resting one night, but no other benefit of night rest
  • Get Strength, Dexterity and Constitution scores in the new way
  • It retains its own intelligence, wisdom and charisma.
  • Keep your own class, level, hit points, alignment, base attack bonus and base save bonuses
    • Note that the "hit points" in this statement refer contextually to the hit dice of the target form / average hit points without any constitution modifier. For example, a subject that has polymorphic d4 hit dice on a type of magic beast will not be able to roll their hit points again to take advantage of d10 hit dice in that way, nor will their hit points be adjusted to match the average score. for such a creature (the number in brackets). In other words, they are the subject's hit points, regardless of their Constitution score. It is the opinion of this DM that Polymorph does no change how the Constitution attribute works. So, while the polymorph does not change the subject's hit points, it does change the subject's constitution modifier. Changes in the subject's Constitution score can alter the subject's hit points, even if the spell itself does not.

      If a character's Constitution score changes enough to alter its Constitution modifier, the character's life points also increase or decrease accordingly.

    • There is an alternative interpretation of Polymorphous The effect on hit points is that any possible change in the Constitution simply does not count towards the calculation of the hit point; the presence of Polymorphic organism Simply ignore completely to calculate life points. This can be considered under the "specific> general" clause, but it is the opinion of this DM that such an interpretation is ignoring the context of how Polymorphic organism He manages the rest of his skills and settings. There are no other effects of Polymorphic organism The spell adjusts the fundamental mechanics of the game in such a way, but it is a possible interpretation.
      • The alternative form includes such stipulation:

        The creature gains physical ability scores (Str, Dex, Con) in its new form. Keep mental ability scores (Int, Wis, Cha) in their original form. Apply changed physical ability score modifiers in all appropriate areas with one exception: the creature retains hit points in its original form despite any change in its Constitution.

Effect on the subject's special abilities

The subject retains everything. . .

  • Maintains supernatural (SU) and spell-like (SLA) abilities unless the relevant ability requires a body part that the subject does not have in the objective form
  • Subject maintains extraordinary abilities (EX) obtained from class levels
  • Subject loses extraordinary abilities (EX) of his normal racial form
  • The subject gains extraordinary special attacks (EX) in the objective way
  • The subject does no obtain any SU or SLA skills in the objective way
  • The subject does no obtain extraordinary special qualities in the objective way

Effect on the speaking subject and spell casting

If the new form is capable. . .

  • If the objective form is able to speak, the subject can communicate normally
    • This means that the objective form must be able to speak a language, not that it can simply vocalize some sounds
  • The subject can still cast spells.
    • Spells with verbal components (V) require the subject to speak
    • Spells with somatic components (S) require the subject to have limbs capable of penalty fee manipulation (gorilla fingers: yes, dog paws: no)
    • Spells with material components (M) require that the spell components are still accessible / not absorbed in the form

Effect on the physical qualities of the subject

The subject acquires. . .

The subject no. . .

  • Keeps his own mind
  • It obtains certain physical qualities of the objective form:
    • Movement (maximum speed 120 & # 39; flying, 60 & # 39; otherwise)
    • Natural armor
    • Natural weapons
    • Racial Skills Bonuses
    • Racial bonus feats
    • Rude physical qualities (i.e. shape and anatomy)
  • Additional limbs do not grant additional attacks
    • This refers to attacks from limbs, that is, attacks with weapons or attacks made with iterative attacks based on base attack bonuses
    • Natural weapons are explicitly granted, but keep in mind that such attacks are not with the limb but with a "claw" or "blow."
    • For example: a human becomes a whirlwind. The subject gains a bite and four natural claw attacks, as well as a tear attack (EX). The subject does no win 2 more dagger attacks or attacks based on the use of "limb": only "claw" attacks are obtained. If a whirlwind did not have a claw attack associated with its additional arms, then the subject would simply obtain the great physical quality of having 2 more arms, but could not use those arms to attack
    • Another good example is the behir, which has six arm-shaped limbs, but those limbs can only be used as part of their Rake (EX) action and not with any other form of attack.
  • Make no obtain physical qualities that have not been explicitly granted before, including (but not limited to) dark vision, low light vision, blind sense, blind vision, rapid healing, regeneration, aroma, etc.
  • The topic maintains their own non-EX physical qualities if they are not explicitly obtained from Polymorphic organism. Therefore, a subject dwarf, for example, would still have dark vision while transforming into a human being. A quality in the above list that is EX would still be lost, since EX qualities are normally lost explicitly.

Effect on the type of subject

The type of creature of the subject. . .

  • The type and subtype change to match the destination form
    • The clause "(if any)" in the subtype simply means that a subject whose normal form does not have a subtype will win one, and a subject whose normal form does have one will lose and / or change that subtype.
  • Templates are not allowed, no exceptions.
  • Incorporeal and gaseous creatures cannot be polymorphic
  • If the normal form of a creature has the form-changing subtype, it can return to its normal form as a standard action. This is an exception to the rule in which the normal subtype of a creature changes to match the new form.

Effect on the subject's appearance

You can designate freely. . .

  • All qualities related to appearance are at the discretion of the pitcher provided the values ​​are within the normal ranges for the target form
  • Give a +10 to the caster's costume check
    • This bonus probably also applies to the subject's costume test if, for example, a rogue is the subject of another character Polymorphic organism spell, but then disguises itself, but this is not clear

Effect on subject's equipment

When the change occurs. . .

Any part of the body . .

  • When a subject is transformed into the objective form, any equipment that the objective form is "capable of using or holding" is maintained
    • If an object is held in the hands and the new hands can hold it physically, it is maintained
      • Weapons can also make use of sizing property (Compendium of magic items, p.43) as a quick action to activate
    • If a worn object physically fits the new shape, it is preserved
  • In contrast, any equipment that is not "stored" is absorbed into the new form and is inactive while the subject is polymorphized.
  • When a subject resumes its original form:
    • the absorbed elements reappear in their original locations
    • any equipment retained / used that the original form can transport / retain is maintained
    • equipment that the original form cannot use / hold falls and lands at the feet of the subject
  • Polymorphic organism by itself no Resize or change the shape of any team, so that most mundane equipment that is not held in the hands, assuming the objective form has hands, will probably be absorbed if the objective form is larger than the current form of the subject. It will be the discretion of DM to what extent the subject may shrink and still be physically able to use equipment, but it does not have to fit well, just fit at all.
  • Any part of the body or equipment separated from the set returns to the original form.
  • A murdered creature returns to its original form and remains dead.

dnd 5e: What would be the implications of balance by eliminating the spell school restriction of learning spells for the Eldritch Knights and the Arcane Tricksters?

I repeat the same answer that I gave in a previous question that I will link to this, but I think it still remains:

The DMG has a Workshop section to customize your game, and one of the sections is in "changing spell lists." It says (among other things) that:

Modifying the spell list of a class generally has little effect on the power of a character, but can change the taste of a class significantly.

So, really, there shouldn't be problems to do it from a power perspective. Your class might play a little differently if you choose thematically different spells, but that's to be expected.

You can find this section on page 287 of the DMG.

In this case, the impact is likely to be even less on the side of power, because both classes already get some free selections from the entire list, so any spell they may have under their rule is already available.

This will surely be just a change of flavor.

dnd 5e: is the command spell linked to conditions?

The spell is generally left to the GM, but some commands, such as "Drop!" have specific default effects

Much of the spell is left to the GM's interpretation:

You can issue a different command than the one described here. If it does, the GM determines how the target behaves.

That said, the "Drop" command in particular is an example that provides the spell:

release: The target releases whatever he is holding and then ends his turn.

So, for this example, an objective would simply drop what is participation and use standard English, which means that the target would not drop things he wears as a backpack, and he would not be paralyzed or anything like that.

The "Grovel!" command states:

Crawl: The target falls prone and then ends its turn.

If you fall prone They are prone, this means that it is affected by the prone condition. This is shown because everything that makes a target prone uses that wording or similar (such as hitting a prone target).

The "Stop!" He says:

Stop: The target does not move and does not perform actions …

All it does is make a target not move and cannot perform actions, nothing more. No conditions apply because spells only do what they say.

dnd 5e: Would it be possible to take a dragon to CR27 using only official material and variants (Shadow Dragon / Dracolich, innate spell, etc.)?

The CR should already be 27 based on the orientation in the Dungeon Master's Workshop

The defensive CR of a golden dragon is 31. This is due to his effective HP (set at 90 for his legendary resistance and 1.25x due to his immunity to fire) that lands on CR 29, and his effective AC (set at 2 for his saving throwing abilities) is five times higher than suggested for CR 24 up to 31:

Now look at the suggested armor class for a monster with that challenge rating. If your monster's AC is at least two points greater or less than that number, adjust the challenge rating suggested by its hit points up or down by 1 for every 2 points of difference.

The offensive CR of a golden dragon is 22. This stems from the damage production that lands in CR 19.

Damage production of three rounds of a golden dragon includes 2 bite attacks, 4 claw attacks, 9 tail attacks (wing attacks do slightly less damage if they are not in more than 2 targets) and 1 weapon of breathing On average, this places the damage production per round somewhere around 117.

Then, due to the high attack bonus, this fits 22:

Now look at the suggested attack bonus for a monster with that challenge rating. If your monster's attack bonus is at least two points greater or less than that number, adjust the challenge rating suggested by its damage production up or down by 1 for every 2 points of difference.

High CR Monsters

Monsters with high CR do not fit very well in the CR model. the Monster Manual was created before the Dungeon Master's Guide, and like most games take place in the previous levels, the system in the Dungeon Master's Workshop was probably designed with a focus on those game levels.

Do not design your level 4 meetings for CR. When it comes to a high level game, the focus should no longer be on hyper-attention to the exact CR levels to make a balanced encounter. Instead, when player characters reach this upper echelon of power, it treats epic combat encounters more like a plot in themselves.

This may include the creation of multi-stage fighting, incorporating various challenges and strips of subjects that do not have strict statistical blocks, but are treated more as hazards or obstacles (and definitely include real hazards and obstacles). This will not only avoid the problems that the CR system has at this level, but in my experience it makes it a more pleasant epic level.