pathfinder 1e – Multiclasses with Wizard and Sorcerer. Do the effects of the magician's school benefit the sorcerer's spells?

The relevant rules are found in these frequently asked questions:

Sorcerer: Do the bonuses given by Arcane Bloodline apply to all spells cast by the sorcerer, or only to those cast from the sorcerer's spell list?

The powers of the bloodline arcana apply to all spells cast by the characters in that bloodline, not just to those cast using the spell slots of the sorcerer.

General rule: if a class skill modifies your spell casting, it applies to your spells of all classes, not just the spells in the class that grants the ability. (The exception is if the class ability specifically says that it only applies to spells of that class.)

This specifies the opposite interaction, and the answer is yes. More importantly, it also gives us a rule to discover other interactions: do the wizard's spell school characteristics specify that they only work for wizard spells? Versatile evocation no. Therefore, it also works for sorcerer's spells.

dnd 5e – In DnD 5e, is there a saving throw against the hex, the curse of a sorcerer's spell blade?

There is no salvation against hex (the spell).

Each spell that is eligible for a saving throw will indicate with what skill salvation is measured: Str, Dex, Con, Int, Wis, Chaone. As hex has no such text, there is no saving throw against hex. (Great spell, huh?)

HexBlade's Curse, the class feature, also does not have a save throw.

The curse of Hexblade
As a bonus action, choose a creature that you can see 30 feet from you. The target is Cursed for 1 minute. The curse ends early if the target dies, you die or are incapacitated. Until the curse is over, you will get the following benefits: {trim details} You can not use this function again until a short or long break ends. (XGtE, p.55)

None of the texts in the description of this class characteristic indicate a saving throw, nor an ability against which to make a salvation. Therefore, we conclude that There is no saving throw against Hexblade's Curse.


oneSalvation shots
Many spells specify that a target can make a saving throw to avoid some or all of the effects of a spell. The spell specifies the ability that the target uses to save and what happens in case of success or failure. The CD to resist one of your spells is equal to 8 + your spell cast ability modifier + your skill bonus + any special modifier. (Basic rules, p.85)

Note that this does not say "all spells", but rather "many spells".

dnd 5e – Does the strength characteristic of the sorcerer's tomb of shadow magic and the relentless resistance feature of the half-orc work together?

Yes, you can use these two features together

Both the strength of the grave and the implacable resistance are characteristics that can use if the damage leaves it at 0 hp, and there is no language in any of the functions that makes them mutually exclusive. It is logical that you first try using the Tomb Force, since that implies a check that could fail, but if you fail in the save, you are still in the state of having been reduced to 0 hp, so you can choose to activate Relentless Resistance.

Do not forget that both the Tomb Force and the Relentless Resistance have circumstances in which you can not use them. The Tomb Force can not save you from a critical hit or from radiant damage, but make It works even if you get so much damage in one hit that you would otherwise be dead instantly. Relentless resistance can save you from any type of damage, but only if it is not enough to kill you instantly (inflicting an amount of excess damage that exceeds your maximum normal HP). In some circumstances, the character could only use one of his abilities, or neither, if he receives a critical hit that would kill them instantly, for example.

dnd 5e – Should a sorcerer learn new spells from * exactly * his level of sorcerer's slot?

The Warlock Pact Magic feature says:

The column of known spells from the Warlock table shows when you learn more
Sorcerer spells of your choice of 1st level and above. A spell you
the choice must be at a level no higher than that shown in the table
Slot the level column for your level. When you reach the 6th level, to
For example, you learn a new sorcerer's spell, which can be 1st, 2nd or 3rd.
level.

Also, when you gain a level in this class, you can choose one
of the sorcerer spells you know and replace it with another spell of
the list of sorcerer spells, which also it must be of a level for which you
They have spell slots.

Consider a wizard level from level 4 to level 5, where Pact Magic's spell slots change from level 2 to level 3. They can replace a wizard spell they know with a spell from the wizard's spell list that "must be of a level for which they have spell slots", and they no longer have spell slots of second level. May the sorcerer therefore only Replace a wizard spell you know with a 3rd level sorcerer spell? Or can they learn a new second level sorcerer spell instead?

(The word "also" suggests that the same conditions apply as in the previous paragraph, but the first paragraph uses a different wording: "a level no higher than the one shown in the Slot Level column of the table", and the second paragraph refers to "at the level for which you have spells.")

dnd 5e – Does the Metamagic option of the sorcerer's subtle spell allow you to ignore the verbal and somatic components?

The expression "without any somatic or verbal component" is interpreted, in a simple language, which means that they are no longer necessary.

If the intention of this metamagician was to force an election of which component the Sorcerer would ignore, then it should have been expressed in one of the following ways:

Subtle spell. When casting a spell, you can spend 1 spell point to choose one of the verbal or somatic components. Regardless of the components you choose, you do not need to provide them for this spell.
Stated as clearly as possible.

Subtle spell. When you cast a spell, you can spend 1 spell point to cast it without the somatic components or the verbal components.
Keep the general phrasing, but with the comma doing heavy lifting.

Subtle spell. When you cast a spell, you can spend 1 spell point to cast it without the verbal components. Alternatively, you can cast the spell without the somatic components.
Call more attention to the election itself.

Silent spell When you cast a spell, you can spend 1 spell point to cast it without the verbal components.
Still spell When you cast a spell, you can spend 1 spell point to cast it without the Somatic Components.
Divides them into different metamagics; However, it would make it more difficult to gain additional metamagics.

dnd 5e – What happens to a sorcerer's spent spell slots when they win a level?

There is no text anywhere in the sorcerer spell section, nor do the spell rules indicate that a spell slot changes levels. Since no other class has slots that change levels, and this single rule is not mentioned in any Warlock report, the most direct reading of the rules is that they lose their third level slots and gain fourth level slots instead of that level .

If the slots "gained levels", then a magician who goes from the 2nd level to the 3rd with all the spent spell slots should have already spent their new slots of the 2nd level. to take it to the amount in the table. Obviously, that's not what happens: the slots in the new level are new.

However, like many other recent questions, this situation could be simplified if the party increased in level during a long break, so all the spaces are updated anyway. In my personal opinion, I think that leveling up during a long break was an assumption in the rules that were never written, so now there are all these questions. Although I can not prove that.

dnd 5e – Does the sorcerer's metamagic work for spells that are not?

Jeremy Crawford, official designer of rules 5e, answers this question unequivocally here (even using the same multiclass example):

Can my multiclass cleric / sorcerer use metamagic effects on cleric spells?

Yes.

This is compatible with all descriptions of the sorcerer's Metamagic options; everyone can simply apply "when casting a spell" (or, for Enhanced Spell, "when you cast damage by a spell"). None of them is restricted to sorcerer spells specifically, and nothing in the multi-classification rules suggests that Metamagic does not work for the non-sorcerer spells of multiclass characters.

By the same logic, Metamagic options can also be used in spells cast using racial traits, feats, magic items or any other source.

dnd 5e – Can you use an unattended magic weapon (which requires tuning) as a sorcerer's pact weapon?

While it is not in tune with a magical weapon that requires tuning, it does not benefit from its magical properties … but that does not suspend its classification as a magic weapon.

Here are the relevant rules for the Tuning of the Basic rules:

Some magical items require a creature to form a link with them before they can use their magical properties. This link is called tuning, and certain elements have a prerequisite for it … Without being in tune with an element that requires tuning, a creature gets only its non-magical benefits, unless its description indicates otherwise.

However, nothing in that rule indicates that the magic weapon ceases to be a magical weapon while you are not in tune with it, only that you can not benefit from its magical properties during that time. Being a "magic weapon" is not really a property, per se. It is a categorical description of the intrinsic nature of the weapon.

Now refer to the Pact rules of the Blade feature:

You can transform a magic weapon into your covenant weapon by performing a special ritual while holding the weapon.

There is no other stipulation other than that the magic weapon you make your covenant weapon is … a magical weapon. It still is, even when you're not in tune with it.

Note that the magic weapon not activated as a covenant weapon still benefits from being treated as magic according to the Pact Boon characteristic simply because it is a covenant weapon (any covenant weapon is treated as such, is a magical weapon or not), much less because it is still a magic weapon.

Is [pact weapon] counts as magical with the purpose of overcoming resistance and immunity to non-magical attacks and damage.

dnd 5e – Does the sorcerer's subtle spells require a proof of ability not to be seen?

The Xanathar Guide for everything has optional rules for this situation.

Dungeon Master Tools> Spellcasting> Perceiving a Launcher at Work

If the need for the components of a spell has been eliminated by a special ability, such as the Subtle Spell feature of the sorcerer or the innate spell feature that many creatures possess, the cast of the spell is imperceptible. If an imperceptible throw produces a perceptible effect, it is usually impossible to determine who casts the spell in the absence of other evidence.

The real cast of the spell is hidden.one Under the subtle metamagic spell.

The effect of casting the fireball spell is to create.

A bright streak flashes from your pointing finger to a point you choose within range and then blooms with a low roar in a burst of flame.

The light streak coming from your finger is clearly "other evidence", however, it has some warnings about how strong this evidence is. Your finger does not have to be pointing from an outstretched arm, it does not have to be obvious.

The bright streak though. It is an obvious and perceptible effect of the spell.. If the Sorcerer were behind the cleric, the cleric would notice absolutely a streak of light behind them, but they may not notice it. who He came from. That's what most of the rest of the game would do.

1. Note that it can be argued that the arcane focus is still noticeable under normal circumstances, however, the special ring element that you created for the PC eliminates this from a detection perspective.

Passive perception does not give you a 360 degree view.

PHB> Skill Controls:

Your Wisdom check (Perception) allows you to detect, hear or detect the presence of something. Measure your general awareness of your environment and the sharpness of your senses. For example, you can try to listen to a conversation through a closed door, eavesdrop under an open window or listen to monsters that move stealthily in the forest. Or you can try to detect things that are hidden or easily lost, whether they are orcs ambushed on a road, thugs hiding in the shadows of an alley or candlelight under a closed secret door.

If the Sorcerer were intelligent in some way, they would know that the streak of light is produced by the fireball and they would wait to throw it until no one at the party was looking at them.

Therefore, the cleric would not know "automatically" where he comes from because of his passive perception.

Throwing fireball is not an attack.

The rules you mention about invisible attackers indicate

If it is hidden, whether it does not see it or not, when it makes an attack, it gives away its location when the attack hits or fails.

The rules of the game define the attacks quite clearly (in the same section of the PHB as the rules of the invisible attackers).

If there is ever any doubt as to whether something you are doing counts as an attack, the rule is simple: if you are making an attack roll, you are making an attack.

Fireball does not require an attack roll, therefore it is not an attack.

As a result, the section of the rule of invisible attackers does not apply.

Would a subtle psychic scream be imperceptible?

Yes, I would. It requires only somatic components and does not produce any perceptible effect that indicates its point of origin.

dnd 5e – Does the sorcerer's subtle spells require a proof of ability not to be seen?

I have a guest player who is being an evil secret plant inside the party causing problems. He is a sorcerer who wants to use the metamagic of subtle spells to prevent the party from entering the old lair of his master, and has a custom ring element that functions as an arcane hands-free focus. He and I agreed that he would give me signals about what to throw and where, and I would do the damage and follow the lost sorcerer's points.

So the party escapes from a sleeping giant and the wizard points a ball of fire to the party to awaken the giant. After the battle, the cleric says that his passive perception (which is quite high, certainly) should have allowed him to see where the fireball originated from, noting that the fireball is:

A bright stripe flashes from your pointing finger to a point you choose within the range

Now, I assume that the pointing finger is part of the somatic components of the fireball and, therefore, is not necessary with the metamagic of the subtle spell. And the spells that obviously originate in the caster as the cone attacks, it would not be particularly possible to hide the location of the caster. But the beam effect of the fireball does not seem to be a mechanism of the spell, but rather a flavor text.

I solved the problem in the game by doing a hands-on test against the passive perception of the cleric using the sorcerer's statistics and I managed to keep it hidden and "it happened so fast that you saw it from behind but nothing more", but is that the right solution? ?

But the more I think about it, the more complicated it seems to me. Do you follow the rules of stealth where any attack, even the long-range arrows, immediately reveal the position of the attacker? Could a subtle psychic cry be traced to the pitcher despite not having visible links to the pitcher?