combinatorial – Probability of obtaining at least a 6 and at least a 5 in 10 rolls of a dice

I came across this question and my answer was 1 - (4/6)^10 (i.e. 1 – probability that 6 and 5 do not appear)
However, the answer given is 1 - 2* (5/6)^10

It is my interpretation of NOT(atleast one 6 and atleast one 5) = No 6 and No 5 incorrect ?
Should be No 6 or No 5 instead?
(Should the DeMorgan Law apply here?)

Thank you !

film: a transparent negative when developing 2 rolls at a time

If the film is completely transparent: no numbers on the edges and, critically, no fogged leader, then you've never seen the developer. But has seen fixative, or it would look like an undeveloped film (possibly with the anti-halo layer removed), which is a bit gray (and will darken over time as the light hits it).

As Alan Marcus says, if the leader is fogged and there is border printing, then he has seen the developer and there is a problem with the camera, or he has never been to a camera.

It is difficult to see how the completely transparent housing could occur, especially for the bottom roll in a tank. If you are waving for investment, then really hypocrisy I think some chemistry will happen in every movie, even if not evenly. If you are stirring otherwise, then it is possible that upper part roll in the tank to be partially or completely out of the developer, but even then it is difficult to see how it will not splatter when shaking, and when filling and emptying the tank.

If the movie has seen any development (and was exposed), then there would be Some image there: it can be very pale, and it can be partial if it is by splash, but it will be nothing. Their reported dilutions and times (the first) look good for D76 for common emulsions: obviously, things vary to get the best negs, but this is an OK ball park: there would be a reasonable image.

And also, we know what the repairman saw: how can that work?

As described, I find it very difficult to see how this could have happened, unless the film has never been coated with emulsion or something like that: that should be detectable by watching the film: if there is no emulsion, both sides will be bright. Is possible to wash the film emulsion, but you need Really hot water to do that, and even then there would be fragments.

It would be useful if you provided details of the tank, agitation, etc.

Probability: What is the expected number of d20 rolls needed for at least 1 and at least 20 to emerge?

Let's say you are playing D&D. You know that for any given n-sided dice, it will take an average of n times before rolling a given face on that die (because it is a geometric distribution). So, if you wanted to roll a natural 20, in all the sessions you play, it will take an average of 20 rolls of a 20-sided die (one d20) per session before seeing a natural 20 for the first time. Every individual the session can take more or less rolls to get a natural 20 (suppose you are throwing a LOT per session, at least 100 times), but on average it will take 20 rolls by 20 to appear for the first time in a given session

Now suppose you want to predict, on average, when your first 20 natural ones will appear and your first natural one. In other words, What is the expected number of rolls of a d20 necessary for at least 1 and at least 20 to come out?

They do not need to be consecutive; They can appear in any order. You are also only shooting 1d20, one roll at a time. Any face can appear several times, but you only stop rolling once you've seen 1 and 20 at least once each.

dnd 5e – If Simulacrum is launched on a Divination Wizard that currently has Portent rolls stored, does the Simulacrum also have those Portent rolls?

Essentially, I'm not sure "where" stored Portent rolls exist "while not in use.

On the simulation, the description of the spell says:

It seems to be the same as the original, but has half the maximum hit point of the creature and is formed without any Team. Otherwise, the Illusion uses all the statistics of the creature it duplicates.

The Portent function says the following:

When you finish a long break, roll two d20s and record the numbers thrown. You can replace any attack roll, save roll or skill check made by you or a creature that you can see with one of these prediction rolls. You must choose to do it before launch, and you can replace a roll in this way only once per turn.

Each prediction roll can be used only once. When you finish a long break, you lose unused prediction rolls.

Presumably, if you used Simulacrum on a creature with the Lucky feat, the resulting simulation would be created with Luck points (the same number as the original creature had at the time of launch). Does Portent work the same way?

dnd 5e: What modifiers are added to the attack and damage rolls of this unique Waterdeep longbow?

There is a unique long arc in the Waterdeep: Dragon Heist module whose description includes:

This unique weapon can only be used by a medium or larger creature that has a force of 18 or more. The bow fires large arrows that inflict penetrating damage equal to 2d6 + the Bearer Force modifier …

However, when looking at the PHB section on "Skill and damage attack rolls", I realized that it says:

You add your Dexterity modifier to your attack roll and your damage roll when you attack with a ranged weapon …

For me, this means that, unless a feature specifically tells you not to do so, you would add your Dexterity modifier to the attack and damage rolls of a ranged weapon.

An example of such prevention is the fight with two weapons that establishes:

Do not add your skill modifier to the damage of the additional attack, unless that modifier is negative.

In particular, the NPC that owns it has a +3 ability bonus, a +7 to long-bow attacks and deals 2d6 + 4 damage. Unfortunately, its strength and dexterity modifiers are four, so I can't say which one is being added.

However, as @thedarkwanderer pointed out in a comment on this Q / A ("How can I shoot an arc using force instead of dexterity?"):

"NPCs use different rules than those of the PC"

This leaves me uncertain and with the following question: if a PC wields this unique long arc, what modifiers do they add to their attack and damage rolls?

dnd 5e: do actions with multiple rolls to hit with the help provided gain advantage in all rolls?

Your question: Do actions with multiple rolls to hit with the help provided gain advantage in all rolls?

The Help action has the following description:

Alternatively, you can help a friendly creature attack a creature 5 feet from you. Pretend, distract the target or, in some other way, form a team to make your ally's attack more effective. If your ally attacks the target before your next turn, the first attack roll is made with advantage.

This means, as already said, that a single Helper can only give advantage to the first attack roll.

However, if I had a number of assistants, it is possible that the DM allows everyone to have an action prepared to help using the following type of description: "if they make an attack, then I help them attack" or "if they make two attacks Then I help them attack "etc.

A prepared action interrupts, so they would come into play after the attack that triggered the action but before the next attack. So, the rule of the description of the Help action:

If your ally attacks the target before your next turn, the first attack roll is made with advantage.

would apply to your first attack roll after Help action is taken. You will get as many rolls in advantage as helpers who have properly ordered their actions prepared to help.

Where a DM can reject this is if they feel that an attack action cannot be interrupted "mid-attack." However, an attacker can move between attacks, so it is quite clear that each attack is a separate thing and it would also be possible to have a prepared action based, for example, on launching a Wind Wall if an enemy uses a ranged weapon as one of his multiple attacks and that would interrupt, so I don't see a problem here.

dnd 5e – How many attack / damage rolls does a sorcerer make when using the metamagic option of twinned spells?

(Preface: since I made this answer, I reviewed my thought and added a separate answer that I think is more accurate, since its conclusion is different from the accepted one, I left it as it is).

Purely RAW Response *: Attack rolls are not clear, but damage rolls must be a single roll for all targets (including Witch Bolt tracking actions for 1d12 damage per round).

Basic rules of D & D, p.75:

If a spell or other effect deals damage to more than one target at the same time, shoot the damage once for all of them. For example, when a magician throws a fireball or a cleric launches a fiery blow, the damage of the spell is cast once for all creatures trapped in the explosion.

Sister witch stud is still a single spell instance, you have just changed your orientation mode from 1 to 2 objectives. As such, it is a spell that inflicts damage to two targets at the same time (assuming it hits both), and without a more specific rule to defeat the previous general, it should apply. If I lack a more specific decision that says a single damage roll per attack roll, it is possible that part or all of this does not apply, but I have not seen such a precise statement in a quick glance.

As for the attack rolls, I can not find a specific RAW fault on that. I believe that all AOE items with attack rolls have an initial single attack roll followed by an AOE save around the target, or they are spells / effects that have a specific decision on built-in attack rolls such as the Eldritch Blast ( beam-separated) and The Battle Master Fighter's sweep attack (use the original attack roll for the second target).

As such, there is no "general" rule in multiple target attack rolls you can find, since the twin spell seems to be the only way to cause one that does not have its own built-in specific rule.


* The RAW interpretation of this is presented as a bit weird, especially because there is a gap in the rules where there is no general rule about the AOE attack rolls that I can find. Certainly, I would not have a problem with a fault & # 39; made at home & # 39; to fill the gap, but I wanted to provide everything I can find in the RAW.

dnd 5e – Can you use a reaction to affect the initiative rolls?

You can use a reaction to influence initiative rolls.

Initiative (PHB 177):

At the start of each fight, you launch initiative by making a
Dexterity checking

Automatically it would become part of the combat, but there is not a single instance in the rules that requires that it can not start the combat with a reaction with the usual exception of Surprise (PHB 189):

If you are surprised, you can not move or take an action in your first
turn of combat, and you can not react until that turn
ends

Reactions (PHB 190):

Certain special abilities, spells and situations allow you to take a
Special action called reaction. A reaction is an instant response to
a trigger of some kind, which may occur on your turn or on someone
on the contrary

If he wrote the trigger correctly, he would intervene in the fight and, therefore, he would have to launch the initiative.

Initiative (PHB 189):

When the combat begins, each participant does a Dexterity check to
Determine your place in the order of the initiative.

You could not take another reaction before it's your turn.

When you react, you can not take another until the beginning.
of your next turn. If the reaction interrupts the turn of another creature,
That creature can continue its turn to the right after the reaction.


Someone_Evil contributed to this response

dnd 5e – Hypnotic pattern – Lead rolls and group attacks

A magician in my group likes to use the hypnotic pattern. It is quite exceeded in its own right, but the way it did sound is as follows:

The targets that fail are incapacitated and can not move, attack or react. So he has the group that surrounds them one by one, where the whole group gets an advantage attack during a round.

I did not think about questioning this, but looking more deeply, should not it be just a direct attack and after the person is hit, we go back to the usual initiative?

Is there any way to include dice rolls in the damage formula without using add-ons?

I wonder if there is any other form of add-ons to randomize into damage formulas. For example, if you have a skill that makes 1 to 1000 minus damage. (If there is a way, how should that formula be? I tried this: rand (1000) – b.def but it did not work).