Three fair dice are rolled. What is the probability that the sum of the three outcomes is 10 given that the three dice show different outcomes?

I know how to solve this question using conditional probability. I tried using another method of solving it which gives me another answer(which i know is wrong), help me find the fault in it.

The 3 cases where the sum of 3 distinct outcomes of the die is 10 are : A=(3,5,2) B=(4,5,1) C=(1,3,6).
Probability (A) = 3!*(1/6)^3 .

Reasoning.

(1/6)^3=probability to get 3/5/2 (they are independent events)

3! = number of ways to arrange 3,5,2

This is the same for B,C as well. Hence the final answer should be 3*p(A)=(1/12).
The actual answer is 3/20 (solve using conditional probability). What are the wrong steps I have assumed or taken?

dnd 5e – Does the Gloom Stalker ranger’s Dread Ambusher feature apply only when the party actually engages in combat, or when initiative is rolled?

Initiative is rolled when combat starts

Per the rule for Initiative:

When combat starts, every participant makes a Dexterity check to determine their place in the initiative order.

If combat starts but you’re out of range to attack, then RAW, that has no bearing on the effects of Dread Ambusher.

If you feel that doing so is denying you the usage of your class features, you should work with your DM about when the start of combat should be called.

What if the Ranger joins combat late?

(Thanks for SeriousBri in the comments for clarifying the question here!)

Only “participants” roll initiative when combat starts, and the rules are silent on how to add participants to a combat already in progress. Doing so is up to the DM’s adjudication – so talk to your DM about what Dread Ambusher means in this context.

At my table

Speaking for myself, I allow PCs to remain “not in combat” as long as they’re not taking combat actions and no enemies recognize them as a hostile combatant. They would be allowed to enter the battle at the start of each combat round if they choose to or are forced to participate, such as by being spotted by an enemy. That is heavily imperfect and leads to all sorts of edge cases (what if they get spotted them in the middle of a combat round? What if they get caught in the AOE of a Fireball?) which I’d rule on a case-by-case basis.

My preference as a DM is to avoid those edge-cases by avoiding the situation in the first place. The rules work best if combat “starts” when the PCs become involved in it (a combat between NPCs does not use the combat rules; it just gets narrated), and if all PCs that are going to be involved in a combat enter are involved from the start.

Is damage rolled for once per area of effect spell, or rolled once per target?

I’m trying to figure out whether you roll damage for AOE spells as a group or individually in the Fantasy AGE system. I can’t find any explicit mention in the rulebook.

For example, the spell flame blast creates a 8×2 area of fire. Anyone in that area takes 2d6+1 damage unless they make a successful Acrobatics test in which case they take 1d6+1.

In this case there are at least two damage rolls going on, but it’s unclear if there are just two separate values for damage pre-rolled for the whole group, or if damage for each target is rolled separately.

If anyone can point me towards some applicable rules (or confirm that this is something the GM has to rule on) that would be wonderful.

dnd 5e – Should the target of Scrying know that they rolled a Saving Throw?

This is mainly a question about meta information, since players may act differently if they know that something happened requiring a saving throw. Especially if they know that a character will be casting scrying.

Would it be acceptable (within the bounds of the rules) for a Dungeon Master to secretly roll a character’s save against the Scrying spell?

And (if so) do you think a player would feel cheated if their DM did that?

The spell doesn’t specifically address it, and I’m not aware of a rule that would apply here, so I would think that it would be up to DM discretion, but I would like to make sure.

Thanks.

combat – How is enemy damage from weapons and super weapons rolled?

In the Troika! SDR page 67 are the enemies Troll and Ven. The Troll does damage as Weapon and the Ven as Super Weapon. But there are no generic damage tables for those.

The Zoanthrop for example does damage as a Modest Beast which is listed in the table of Beastly Weapons on page 70.

How is enemy damage for (Super) Weapon calculated?

dnd 5e – Can an enemy “surprise” a character with the Alert feat by readying the Attack action before initiative is rolled?

Rule 0

On one hand, the DM can do whatever they want; they are the DM. But, by the actual rules in the book…

No, this is not how the rules work as written

The description of Initiative states:

At the beginning of every combat, you roll initiative by making a Dexterity check.

When the creatures are “readying an attack”, this is already part of the combat; therefore, Initiative should have been rolled, and you would not be surprised by the attack. This interpretation is backed up in this similar Q&A.

Note that the creatures are still hidden (if you didn’t perceive them), so, even though you are not surprised by the combat, not necessarily you know where the creatures are. Even if they are hidden, the Alert feat also states (PHB, p. 165):

Other creatures don’t gain advantage on attack rolls against you as a result of being unseen by you.

By the way, in your text, you mention that the swarm of insects

immediately attacked him, dealing (x) damage.

From this, it is unclear whether the DM rolled an attack roll as well. Even if surprised and attacked by a hidden creature, the creature still has to hit with the attack roll before dealing damage.

Talk to your DM

It seems this situation has upset you. You have taken a feat, giving up an ASI, with the sole objective of such situations not happening, and then the DM pulls up something not entirely backed by the rules that makes the entire point of taking such a feat get thrown away.

Talk to your DM. Tell them that how they handled this situation was upsetting. Explain that the point of taking such a feat is to avoid these situations, and that by house ruling otherwise, they are harming your character’s concept. At worst, ask them to let you change the feat, if they are going to keep doing such things, because your expectations when building the character were different.

dnd 5e – Do +1 magic items affect each one of multiple dice rolled for damage?

The item you describe sounds like homebrew, which means the only person with an official answer would be the DM who gave it to you.

However, if we take your description literally:

My Dm gave me a magic knife that does 3d6 damage and has +1 on attack rolls.

Then this weapon does not add anything to damage rolls, because you say it adds +1 to “attack rolls” and the damage roll is not one of those.

In the case that this weapon has “+1 on attack and damage rolls”, you would add +1 to the total damage dealt, because even if the dagger rolls 3 dice for damage, those 3 dice together are still one “damage roll”. (Same as if you rolled a critical hit with a normal weapon or swing a Greatsword; you might roll 2 dice for the damage, but it’s still only one damage roll and you’d still only add +1 for your magic weapon)

The wording would have to be pretty specific if it added +1 to every die rolled. But, again, this is a homebrew weapon so the only official answer can come from your DM.

dnd 5e – Does Alchemist’s Fire damage get rolled once, or every turn?

Alchemist’s Fire does things quite differently from other items, being an improvised weapon that must always use ranged attacks, and deals its damage on subsequent turns, not when thrown. And Jeremy Crawford has tweeted a number of clarifications about how the damage works. But there’s one thing that I haven’t found any answers about, whether official, tweet, or even just accepted common practice. Does the damage get re-rolled every turn, or only the once?

On the one hand, only once would make sense with Crawford’s tweets; Dexterity gets added to the damage it deals, because that damage is the one roll made for the weapon’s damage, and the usual rule applies. Which feels more sensible than adding Dex to every roll, turn after turn.

On the other hand, there’s no rule to explicitly say that it’s rolled only once, and ongoing damage is usually re-rolled every time.

So, is the idea supposed to be that the improvised range weapon deals 1d4+dex damage, and the target takes that same damage every turn, or is it that they take a re-rolled 1d4+dex every turn?

For context: I DM, and a player with a Fast Hands-using Thief just brought this up. The whole Dex-to-ongoing-damage thing had always felt a bit off to both of us. He had an idea that his might be the intended interpretation, and I can’t actually find anything anywhere that actually definitively rules either way.

Storage: How can I flatten a photo that was stored rolled up for a long time?

Try this. Get a sheet of flat wrapping paper larger than the photo, a broom handle or a dowel, and some duct tape. Partially unroll the photo and place the unrolled part, with the photo facing up (assuming it has been wound with the photo on the outside), in a corner of the paper, at a 45º angle (so that the corner of the wrapping paper and the edge of the photo forms a triangle).

Place the peg along the edge of the photo, then carefully rotate it on itself, along with the wrapping paper, around the peg; essentially you're using the pin to help you roll the photo up on itself. Be sure not to damage the photo paper while rolling. You may need to help unroll the rolled part of the photo.

Keep rolling until the entire photo is reversed and the wrapping paper is completely wrapped around it, then glue the wrap in place.

The wrapping paper will keep the entire width of the photo in place; If you were to use, for example, an elastic band, the corners would be constantly trying to pull back. Leave the photo wrapped for a couple of weeks to give it plenty of time to "settle". It probably won't make the photo completely flat, but it should be flat enough to frame.

dnd 5e: does a monk decide to use a slow fall after the damage is rolled?

On the fourth level, the monks get the Slow Fall class feature:

Slow fall

Starting at the 4th level, you can use your reaction when you fall to reduce any fall damage you receive by an amount equal to five times your monk level.

My question is, does a monk decide to use his reaction to the slow fall before or after the fall damage is rolled?

Usually, when slow fall opportunities have arisen for me, it doesn't matter, I have nothing else to use a reaction at that time, so I will always use it even to deny a single damage. But recently a situation arose in which I wanted to save the reaction for something else, but whether it was worth it or not the reaction depended on how much damage I received from the fall.

My first inclination was that the monk must decide before throwing the fall damage, because other similar abilities that affect the throws explicitly say that they can be used after the throw is made, but before the result is determined and Slow Fall it do not says that.

But in thinking more, I am not sure that it is correct, because this does not affect whether a result is a success or not. I imagine a fall that lasted two turns, a monk presumably cannot use the Slow Fall during the first turn and expect the damage reduction to continue until the second turn (when the fall ends), so it makes more sense than what You're reacting is the end of the fall when damage is inflicted, not the fall itself.