As DM, I want to know if more than one creature can fit inside Otiluke resistant dial, Rules as written.
Here is the scenario:
A game of four medium creatures walks through the old sewers of a city. Suddenly, the sound of gallons of water running through the tunnel, the party only has moments to react before the camera floods with water. Thinking quickly, the group gathers and the magician throws Resistant dial on them to protect them from water.
Rules as written, this would not work. The spell says that:
"The dial has no weight and is large enough to contain he creature or object inside. "
This quote, and the continued use of the singular language instead of the plural, largely implies that it is only intended to affect one creature at a time.
However, using the Cool Rule I allow it, since the description of the spell also says that it is:
"A sphere of bright force (that) encloses a creature or object of large or smaller size within the range."
This means that if the four medium creatures get into a large box and throw Resistant dial In the box, this would have worked. That is because although the creatures are in the box, the spell is cast on the box, not on the creatures. (It is a strange technicality but it is within the rules, so I, like DM, allow it to be done without the box).
It would seem silly not to allow the contents of a container to be affected by the spell when the container itself is affected. That sets a precedent that, if you cast the spell on a chest, all content will fall as the spell can only contain a single object, which is the chest. Throwing it in a bottle would cause the liquid to spill, since it only casts the spell into the container. Casting the spell over a cage could free a creature inside it, since the spell was cast over the cage, not the creature.
So, with this in mind, can multiple creatures be contained within the Resilient Sphere within the rules?
Here are some rhetorical questions as food for thought:
If the spell was cast in a swarm, what would happen? Would the entire medium swarm be affected, or would only a small beast be affected in that swarm?
What if the spell was cast at the time a creature entered another creature's space? Or when a creature was fighting or riding another creature?
If the spell was cast on an Ocher Jelly that was then divided into the Resistant dialWould the spell end because it can only contain a single creature?
Could the spell be cast in a large box that had a huge creature tight inside it, since creatures can squeeze into a space smaller in size than they are? Or would the spell fail since it can only affect creatures or large or smaller objects?
Disclaimer for any potential VTC-ers. These rhetorical questions are not part of my question and do not need to be answered, they are simply meant to make the potential responder consider multiple possibilities before answering. This does not make my question broader, since I am not looking for answers, and therefore, any answer that focuses on answering only these rhetorical questions should be marked as "not an answer."