dnd 5e – Can a multiclass Artificer use Alchemical Savant on spell learned through the other class(es)?

The description for Alchemical Savant say:

You’ve developed masterful command of magical chemicals, enhancing the healing and damage you create through them. Whenever you cast a spell using your alchemist’s supplies as the spellcasting focus, you gain a bonus to one roll of the spell. That roll must restore hit points or be a damage roll that deals acid, fire, necrotic, or poison damage, and the bonus equals your Intelligence modifier (minimum of +1).

Now, say I have multiclassed with a Wizard and learn Infestation and Chromatic Orb via that class. Both can do poison damage so they qualify on that part.

Can I take advantage of Alchemical Savant with either spell?

Unlike a lot of other class features, it doesn’t say, “When you cast an (insert class name) spell…”, just cast a spell and use tools as the focus.

Initially I would just say no, but, while not laid out in the PHB, in XGE it says that the Alchemist’s Supplies kit contains:

Alchemist’s supplies include two glass beakers, a metal frame to hold a beaker in place over an open flame, a glass stirring rod, a small mortar and pestle, and a pouch of common alchemical ingredients, including salt, powdered iron, and purified water.

And in the PHB, the (Wizard’s Arcane) focuses are described as:

An arcane focus is a special item–an orb, a crystal, a rod, a specially constructed staff, a wand-like length of wood, or some similar item–designed to channel the power of arcane spells. A sorcerer, warlock, or wizard can use such an item as a spellcasting focus.

So it may be possible to have an arcane focus built-in to the character’s alchemist’s supplies and do double duty…


The is a related question about spells with no material components, but this is about spells that have material components, but learned through a different class.

dnd 5e – Multiclass – spellcasting prerequisite on feat

I have a multiclass Rogue (Inquisitive) 11 / Wizard (Diviner) 2.
I’d like to take a feat instead of an ASI on my Rogue level 12, but the feat has spellcasting as a prerequisite.
So my question is simply – does the spellcasting of my wizard part allow me to take a feat which requires spellcasting as my rogue level 12 feat, or would I need to use one of the Wizards ASI/feats for that instead?

(Specifically, I’m thinking about taking Eldritch Adept to gain the Devils Sight invocation.)

dnd 5e – If I multiclass into 2 or more spellcasting classes, how do I determine my known/prepared spells?

Multiclassed casters learn/prepare spells as if single-classed in each class.

The multiclass spellcasting rules in the PHB (p. 164) or basic rules clearly address how known and prepared spells work if multiclassed into 2 or more classes (or subclasses) with the Spellcasting feature:

Your capacity for spellcasting depends partly on your combined levels in all your spellcasting classes and partly on your individual levels in those classes. Once you have the Spellcasting feature from more than one class, use the rules below. If you multiclass but have the Spellcasting feature from only one class, you follow the rules as described in that class.

Spells Known and Prepared. You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class. If you are a ranger 4/wizard 3, for example, you know three 1st-level ranger spells based on your levels in the ranger class. As 3rd-level wizard, you know three wizard cantrips, and your spellbook contains ten wizard spells, two of which (the two you gained when you reached 3rd level as a wizard) can be 2nd-level spells. If your Intelligence is 16, you can prepare six wizard spells from your spellbook.

Each spell you know and prepare is associated with one of your classes, and you use the spellcasting ability of that class when you cast the spell. Similarly, a spellcasting focus, such as a holy symbol, can be used only for the spells from the class associated with that focus.

If a cantrip of yours increases in power at higher levels, the increase is based on your character level, not your level in a particular class.

As explained above, when you multiclass into multiple spellcasting classes, you determine your known and prepared spells as if you were single-classed in each of those classes. (This includes cantrips, which are spells with a spell level of 0.)

Note that some class/subclass features (such as the Lore bard’s Additional Magical Secrets, clerics’ Domain Spells, or paladins’ Oath Spells) may provide additional known or prepared spells that are not counted against your number of known/prepared spells for that class. If this is the case, the description of the class/subclass feature will tell you whether or not these spells are counted against your limit of known/prepared spells.

What about warlocks?

You may note that the rules I’ve quoted so far mention the Spellcasting feature in particular, so you might wonder how they interact with warlocks, who have the Pact Magic feature rather than the Spellcasting feature. On that topic, the multiclass spellcasting rules merely state:

Pact Magic. If you have both the Spellcasting class feature and the Pact Magic class feature from the warlock class, you can use the spell slots you gain from the Pact Magic feature to cast spells you know or have prepared from classes with the Spellcasting class feature, and you can use the spell slots you gain from the Spellcasting class feature to cast warlock spells you know.

Technically, they don’t mention how known spells are determined for warlocks multiclassed with another class at all, only how multiclassing interacts with their Pact Magic slots and which slots can be used to cast warlock spells. However, based on the stated logic, and the absence of any rules to the contrary, it seems clear: your known warlock spells are determined as if you are single-classed as a warlock, just as with any other caster class.

Rules designer Jeremy Crawford unofficially confirms that this is the rules intent as well in a series of tweets from December 2017:

Cleric Spellcasting feature says you can prepare spells up to your spell slot level. Pact Magic gives you higher level spell slots. can a level 1 Cleric/5 Warlock prepare Animate Dead? since Warlock has no spellcasting feature, doesnt use multiclass prep rules

Multiclass spellcasting. You determine the spells you know/prepare for each class individually, pretending you have just that class. The slots you get from the multiclassing rules don’t apply. You have 1 level in cleric? You prepare cleric spells as a 1st-level cleric.

“If you multiclass but have the Spellcasting feature from only one class, you follow the rules as described in that class.” Warlock doesn’t grant the Spellcasting feature, so it’d follow the Cleric “spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots.” Is that still wrong?

Keep reading, starting with the next sentence: “Spells Known and Prepared. …”

“If you have the Spellcasting feature from more than one class, use the rules below.” In this case, I wouldn’t have the Spellcasting feature from more than one class, so the rules below for Spells Known and Prepared wouldn’t apply.

Keep going, all the way down the page. You’ll get to the “Pact Magic” section, which tells you how Pact Magic interacts with Spellcasting. It has no effect on what you can prepare.

The spellcasting feature doesn’t mention where the spell slots have to come from.

Now that you’ve re-read the multiclass rules, let’s go to the cleric. The first sentence of “Preparing and Casting Spells” reads “The Cleric table shows how many spells slots you have to cast your spells …” That initial text sets the stage for what follows in that rule.

“The spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots.” The text in Preparing and Casting Spells doesn’t explicitly state that it only applies to Cleric spell slots though. I don’t feel like the first line restricts you in that way.

When writing that rule, I began it with that sentence for a reason: to contextualize everything you read after it in that rule. Sentences in our rules are not meant to interpreted in isolation from each other.

Thus, it’s clear that determining known/prepared spells when multiclassed into warlock is meant to work the same way as with any other combination of spellcasting classes.

A note on artificers

The artificer class, added in Eberron: Rising from the Last War and to the final version of the Wayfinder’s Guide to Eberron, works slightly differently from other classes when it comes to multiclassing. However, this distinction is only in terms of determining spell slots: you add half your levels, rounded up (E:RftLW, p. 54; WGtE, p. 176), instead of down, when using the multiclass spellcasting table to determine how many spell slots you have as a multiclassed artificer.

In terms of determining the spells you know/prepare, the artificer simply follows the general rule: you determine what spells you know/prepare individually, as if single-classed in each class. As such, for determining how many artificer spells you can prepare, you simply follow the rules in the artificer’s Spellcasting feature (E:RftLW, p. 55-56; WGtE, p. 177-178).


Moving back to the example:

For instance, if I am playing a multiclassed character with 1 level in warlock, 2 levels in bard, and 3 levels in paladin, how do I determine which spells I know/have prepared?

We must look at each class’ spellcasting feature and class table to determine how many spells known or prepared you have for each class:

  • The Warlock table shows that a 1st-level warlock knows 2 cantrips and 2 more spells. And per the Pact Magic feature, “At 1st level, you know two 1st-level spells of your choice from the warlock spell list.” (When you learn a new spell or swap out an existing spell for a new one at higher warlock levels, your new spell would need to be of a level no higher than that of your Pact Magic slots.)

  • Per the Bard table, a 2nd-level bard would know 2 cantrips and 5 more spells. As with the warlock’s Pact Magic feature, the bard’s Spellcasting feature says your non-cantrip spells must be a level for which you have spell slots; as the Bard table shows, a 2nd-level bard only has 1st-level spell slots, so all 5 must be 1st-level spells.

  • Finally, paladins prepare their spells instead of knowing/learning them. The paladin’s Spellcasting feature says you can prepare “a number of paladin spells equal to your Charisma modifier + half your paladin level, rounded down (minimum of one spell)”. It adds that the spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots; per the Paladin table, a 3rd-level paladin only has 1st-level spell slots. Let’s say your Paladin has a Charisma score of 16, and thus a Charisma modifier of +3. This means that you can prepare a number of spells equal to your Charisma mod (3) plus half your paladin level (3/2, rounded down to 1), for a total of 4 spells.

    However, that’s not all. At 3rd level, paladins get the Sacred Oath feature; each oath grants them oath spells at specified levels. Your oath spells are always automatically prepared, and don’t count against the paladin’s number of prepared spells (and are always considered paladin spells for you). The Oath of Devotion paladin’s Oath Spells at paladin level 3 are protection from evil and good and sanctuary. This brings your actual number of prepared paladin spells to 6.

Thus, as a warlock 1 / bard 2 / paladin 3 with a Charisma score of 16, you:

  • know 2 warlock cantrips and 2 1st-level warlock spells
  • know 2 bard cantrips and 5 1st-level bard spells, and
  • have 4 1st-level paladin spells prepared, plus 2 always-prepared oath
    spells specified in the subclass description (e.g. protection from
    evil and good
    and sanctuary for a Devotion paladin)

You would not have access to 2nd-level or higher spells in any of these classes unless you took at least 3 levels total in warlock or bard, or at least 5 levels total in paladin.

dnd 5e – Another Multiclass Booming Blade Question

I am building a rogue-warlock multiclass in 5e DnD and I have a question. I get advantage using my familiars help action. And because of it is near me I can have a sneak attack aswell. The question is this. I am thinking about using booming blade with booming blade. I know you can’t make your second attack with booming blade. So can I make two rolls (for 1st attack with advantage) than use booming blade, than use sneak attack, after that use cunning action to disengage.
And if my first attack miss, can I make a second attack with my other shortsword and after that use sneak attack (I won’t use disengage or booming blade in second attack)?

dnd 5e – Another Multiclass Booming Blade Question

I am building a rogue-warlock multiclass in 5e DnD and I have a question. I get advantage using my familiars help action. And because of it is near me I can have a sneak attack aswell. The question is this. I am thinking about using booming blade with booming blade. I know you can’t make your second attack with booming blade. So can I make two rolls (for 1st attack with advantage) than use booming blade, than use sneak attack, after that use cunning action to disengage.
And if my first attack miss, can I make a second attack with my other shortsword and after that use sneak attack (I won’t use disengage or booming blade in second attack)?

dnd 5e – What Hit Dice do multiclass characters spend at the end of a short rest?

You get one hit dice per level of each class that you have. So if you are Wizard 3, Monk 1. you would get 1d8, 3d6 to spend how you want. Hassassin’s answer has the pertinent rules quote.

So while the number of Hit Dice you have is equal to your overall character level (4 in this case). The denominations of those HD are dependent on the classes you’ve taken. This has the function of modeling the increased fragility of taking wizard levels and durability of taking fighter levels (etc).

Also, when you level, you add the HD for the new level (whatever class it is) to your pool of HP. So if you are a Fighter 4 and take a level of Wizard, your HD that you roll at level up is a d6.

dnd 5e – How does a Ranger/Fighter multiclass having Extra Attack (2) interact with their Beastmaster companion?

No, you can’t share your own extra attacks with your beast companion

Looking at the Beast Master features, we see the following:

You can use your action to verbally command it to take the Attack, Dash, Disengage, or Help action. If you don’t issue a command, the beast takes the Dodge action. Once you have the Extra Attack feature, you can make one weapon attack yourself when you command the beast to take the Attack action. (PHB, Chapter 3: Classes, Ranger, Beast Master, Ranger’s Companion)

This section doesn’t state that you can allow your companion to freely make use of your own multiple attacks, it only says that you can direct the companion to attack and also attack once yourself.

Additionally, there is a class feature which allows your companion to attack more than once, and importantly it even states that the companion can’t make multiple attacks using its own multiattack feature (if it has one) until that class feature is gained:

Bestial Fury

Starting at 11th level, when you command your beast companion to take the Attack action, the beast can make two attacks, or it can take the Multiattack action if it has that action. (PHB, Chapter 3: Classes, Ranger, Beast Master, Ranger’s Companion, Bestial Fury)

The companion’s ability to attack is a function of its Beast Master’s levels in the Ranger class, not the Beast Master’s other class levels, abilities, nor even the companion’s own stat block.

That said, if you wanted to homebrew something like that option, it probably wouldn’t be too hard to integrate into the game.

dnd 5e – When would it be most effective to multiclass into warlock as a 3rd level swashbuckler rogue?

I am currently playing a level three Satyr Swashbuckler Rogue with the Sailor (Pirate) Background. I want to multiclass into Warlock, but I still want to be at least okay in combat with my mostly min-maxxed party. My current thought is that it seems reasonable to multiclass at level 5 or 6, and I’m considering both the Fiend or the Genie. We are planning to go to level 14. My stats are 8 16 14 10 10 16, and I primarily use a rapier.

I know that a Rogue/Warlock multiclass is not very good but I really like the flavor and want to make it work. I’ve been looking at maybe booming blade and eldritch blast for the cantrips and going to second level for invocations like Mask of Many Faces to help with non-combat encounters.

I have all sources available with the exception of unearthed arcana and Plane Shift.

I want to stay with rogue primarily, but I’m open to alternatives.

My party is a High Elf Illusion Wizard, a Variant Human Bear Totem Barbarian with the Sentinel feat, a Base Dragonborn Conquest Paladin, and a Lotusden Halfling Beastmaster Ranger (from Tasha’s).

If I need to include any other information please let me know, this is my first time asking a question. Thank you!

dnd 5e – what is the best multi-class in 5e?

dnd 5e – what is the best multi-class in 5e? – Role-playing Games Stack Exchange

multi classing – Multiclass Monk or play it straight

I am playing a monk with my grandsons, one is playing a Druid and the other a fighter. Starting with level 1 characters to introduce them to the game. At some point, I plan to introduce them to multiclassing. I am not sure if will be with this character or some other in the future. Here are the stats for my Monk:

Wood Elf

STRENGTH 13 Mod +1

DEXTERITY 20 Mod +5

CONSTITUTION 18 Mod +4

INTELLIGENCE 6 Mod -2

WISDOM 19 Mod +4

CHARISMA 7 Mod -2

Thanks for in advance for any help and advice.

DreamProxies - Cheapest USA Elite Private Proxies 100 Cheap USA Private Proxies Buy 200 Cheap USA Private Proxies 400 Best Private Proxies Cheap 1000 USA Private Proxies 2000 USA Private Proxies 5000 Cheap USA Private Proxies ExtraProxies.com - Buy Cheap Private Proxies Buy 50 Private Proxies Buy 100 Private Proxies Buy 200 Private Proxies Buy 500 Private Proxies Buy 1000 Private Proxies Buy 2000 Private Proxies ProxiesLive.com Proxies-free.com New Proxy Lists Every Day Proxies123.com Best Quality USA Private Proxies