dnd 5e – Can you cast a spell learned from the Magic Initiate feat using spell slots?

No, unless you choose the class associated with your spellcasting feature.

Without loss of generality, suppose we are a Wizard who takes the Magic Initiate (Cleric) feat. Then the feat says:

choose one 1st-level spell from the cleric’s spell list. You learn that spell and can cast it at its lowest level.

So this spell is a cleric spell. Even if the spell chosen is on both the cleric and the wizard spell list, it still counts as a cleric spell for you.

Unfortunately, the Wizard’s spellcasting feature says:

The Wizard table shows how many spell slots you have to cast your wizard spells of 1st level and higher. To cast one of these spells, you must expend a slot of the spell’s level or higher.

A wizard may only cast wizard spells with their wizard spell slots. This is confirmed in the Sage Advice Compendium:

If you have spell slots, can you use them to cast the 1st-level spell you learn with the Magic Initiate feat?
Yes, but only if the class you pick for the feat is one of your classes.

If the cleric spell chosen counted as a wizard spell for you, you would be able to cast it using your spell slots, but the SAC confirms that the associated class of Magic Initiate must be one of your classes for this to be the case.

On the other hand, if the wizard took the Magic Initiate (Wizard) feat, the chosen spell would be a wizard spell and would be eligible for casting with the wizard’s spell slots. This is confirmed in the Sage Advice Compendium:

Similarly, if you are a wizard and pick that class for the feat, you learn a 1st-level wizard spell, which you could add to your spellbook and subsequently prepare.

In short, you must follow your character’s normal spellcasting rules, which determine whether you can expend spell slots on the 1st-level spell you learn from Magic Initiate.

Eldritch Knight and Arcane Trickster

In particular, casting a spell with your spell slots as an Eldritch Knight or Arcane Trickster requires two things: you know the spell, and it is a wizard spell. The spell gained from Magic Initiate (Wizard) satisfies both of these conditions.

Magic Initiate (Wizard) says:

In addition, choose one 1st-level spell from the wizard’s spell list. You learn that spell and can cast it at its lowest level. Once you cast it, you must finish a long rest before you can cast it again using this feat.

The Eldritch Knight’s Spellcasting feature says:

The Eldritch Knight Spellcasting table shows how many spell slots you have to cast your wizard spells of 1st level and higher. To cast one of these spells, you must expend a slot of the spell’s level or higher. You regain all expended spell slots when you finish a long rest.

For example, if you know the 1st-level spell shield and have a 1st-level and a 2nd-level spell slot available, you can cast shield using either slot.

Similarly, the Arcane Trickster’s spellcasting feature says:

The Arcane Trickster Spellcasting table shows how many spell slots you have to cast your wizard spells of 1st level and higher. To cast one of these spells, you must expend a slot of the spell’s level or higher. You regain all expended spell slots when you finish a long rest.

For example, if you know the 1st-level spell charm person and have a 1st-level and a 2nd-level spell slot available, you can cast charm person using either slot.

Since you know the spell from Magic Initiate, and it is a wizard spell, it meets all the conditions for being able to expend spell slots to cast it as an Eldritch Knight or an Arcane Trickster.

This ruling is confirmed in the Sage Advice Compendium:

In short, you must follow your character’s normal spellcasting rules, which determine whether you can expend spell slots on the 1st-level spell you learn from Magic Initiate.

dnd 5e – Can an Arcane Trickster or Eldritch Knight with the Magic Initiate feat (picking the wizard list) use spell slots to cast the chosen 1st-level spell?

Yes, this works.

Magic Initiate (Wizard) says:

In addition, choose one 1st-level spell from the wizard’s spell list. You learn that spell and can cast it at its lowest level. Once you cast it, you must finish a long rest before you can cast it again using this feat.

The Eldritch Knight’s Spellcasting feature says:

The Eldritch Knight Spellcasting table shows how many spell slots you have to cast your wizard spells of 1st level and higher. To cast one of these spells, you must expend a slot of the spell’s level or higher. You regain all expended spell slots when you finish a long rest.

For example, if you know the 1st-level spell shield and have a 1st-level and a 2nd-level spell slot available, you can cast shield using either slot.

Similarly, the Arcane Trickster’s spellcasting feature says:

The Arcane Trickster Spellcasting table shows how many spell slots you have to cast your wizard spells of 1st level and higher. To cast one of these spells, you must expend a slot of the spell’s level or higher. You regain all expended spell slots when you finish a long rest.

For example, if you know the 1st-level spell charm person and have a 1st-level and a 2nd-level spell slot available, you can cast charm person using either slot.

Since you know the spell from Magic Initiate, and it is a wizard spell, it meets all the conditions for being able to expend spell slots to cast it as an Eldritch Knight or an Arcane Trickster.

This ruling is confirmed in the Sage Advice Compendium:

In short, you must follow your character’s normal spellcasting rules, which determine whether you can expend spell slots on the 1st-level spell you learn from Magic Initiate.

In particular, casting a spell with your spell slots as an Eldritch Knight or Arcane Trickster requires two things: you know the spell, and it is a wizard spell. The spell gained from Magic Initiate (Wizard) satisfies both of these conditions.

dnd 5e – Can you cast a spell learned from the Magic Initiate feat using spell slots?

The Sage Advice Compendium appears to be misquoting it’s own source texts (which is truly frustrating because the most indelible measure of being wrong is being wrong by your own logic) as, in the PHB, the Sorcerer Spellcasting feature makes no mention of specifically casting “Sorcerer” spells.

The above ruling is wrong, at least in the 5e rule set as written (including errata). After a careful reading of the spellcasting ability description of all classes you will find the specificity of the cleric description to be an exception in terms of wording.

Further examination of the multiclassing section of the PHB will net you the understanding that spell slots are a feature tied to Character Level, though the ability to cast spells in general using a spell slot requires having a class with the spellcasting feature, as they are the only classes with spellslots to use.

Looking through the Spellcasting chapter of the PHB will also reveal that regardless of the source of the magical knowledge, all spells follow the set out rules in the same way. In this section there is no mention of spell slots being class specific, and evidence would lead one to conclude that the function of spells being denoted as class specific pertains to the traditions in which they are learned and thus the ability modifiers applied to them.

The only difference in casting type is in the form of the distinction made between the Spellcasting and Pact Magic class features.

Add to this the fact that the only specification in the Magic Initiate feature regarding learning the spell is that it is learnt as a spell from a specific class which means the ability modifiers added to it are derived from that class’ specification for spell modifier and it is obvious to me that RAW allows the spell to be cast with any spell slot, at least before the question was answered by the Wizards Team in which they misquote their own material.

This leads me to believe that either the team misread their personal notes on the topic and substituted them for final copy materials to reference, or that they need to issue another errata, or, finally, that given that the DM is the be all and end all of rules and that all forms of common sense from the material given would lead you to deduce that you can cast a spell with any spell slot because there is absolutely no mention of spell slots being class specific, most DMs should probably ignore the above ruling.

This is the way I have been running my games since we moved to 5e at least, and its the one that makes the most sense deriving from the base texts only. Though the team may have notes that clarify this, they have not shared them, and the SAC quotes a non-existent line of text, so I’m not entirely sure this ruling will stand for long anyway.

character creation – How can I create a Viking/Saiyan that creates his own weapons with energy, ki or magic?

I’m going to play on a table with some friends and I wish to create a Viking-type warrior that is able to use energy/ki/magic to create weapons and fight like a barbarian but without being one. The character creation limitations are to be a lvl 5, using the core rulebook 2nd edition, advanced players guide and Lost omens: character guide, Gods and magic & Legends.

The concept would be a Viking/Saiyan, so it’s starting from a low lvl 5 and the campaign is estimated to end up anywhere from lvl 8 to 10. Any magic that he learns is focused on the typical saiyan powers from dragon ball (flying, ki attacks, move absurdly fast and, if possible, visual indication of powering up like going super saiyan).

dnd 5e – Can you detect telepathic messages in your head, like the Sending spell, via Detect Magic?

Detect Magic (PHB p.231):

For the Duration, you sense the presence of magic within 30 feet of you. If you sense magic in this way, you can use your action to see a faint aura around any visible creature (…) in the area that bears magic, and you learn its school of magic, if any. (…)

This questions hinges on the definition of ‘bears’ here, and whether a creature that is being spoken to with sending bears magic:

Bear

  1. (of a person) carry.
  1. support

So is a creature who has had the spell sending cast on them supporting or carrying the spell?

Sending (PHB p.274):

You send a short Message of twenty-five words or less to a creature with you are familiar. The creature hears the Message in its mind, recognizes you as the sender if it knows you, and can answer in a like manner immediately. The spell enables creatures with Intelligence scores of at least 1 to understand the meaning of your Message.

In order for the spell to succeed, the creature targeted must have an intelligence of at least 1, and the creature can respond to the spell immediately. This would imply the creature requires some capacity to support the spell being cast on them, which I believe is enough justification for the creature to ‘bear’ at least part of the weight of the spell, and be detectable by Detect Magic. In order for the Detect Magic caster to determine the source of the magic and spell school, however, they would need to activate the faint aura within the same time frame that the targeted creature is receiving and responding to the spell.

Are there any PbtA games for Contemporary Fantasy and Magic?

I’m being (late) introduced to PbtA games and I’m looking for a Contemporary Fantasy and Magic option, something like Ars Magica, Mage The Ascension, Dresden Files?

Let me narrow down the question a bit…

I know we have Monsterhearts, but it is about relationships and lack Skins for magic users. What I am looking is something with more freedom (make your own spells) and combat/explosions or at least rituals.

I’m a huge fan of games likes Mage and Dresden Files, but I like how PbtA plays with conflicts and tests and I can imagine a 6- resulting in a chaotic backslash when failing to cast a spell.

Any PbtA game I can use for that?

pathfinder 1e – What are the rules for upgrading existing magic item?

Paying the full price

If you decide to pay the difference of magic item’s Price, then this difference already includes both the magical components and his spellcasting services. The magical components cost is always half the market price of the item, everything else is profit for the creator/seller.

If you have a Belt of Incredible Dexterity +2 (4,000 gp), and want to upgrade it to a Belt of Incredible Dexterity +4 (16,000 gp), the 12,000 gp difference already includes the components and services.

But if you want to save some money, you could buy the required reagents for 6,000 gp and look for a spellcaster to upgrade the item for you.

You can simply go to a wizard with the reagents…

and pay for his services

Yes, unless said wizard is a friend and wants to work for free, the Cost of a magic item is simply the Magical Components required to craft the magic item, or upgrade the item.

Cost: This is the cost in gold pieces to create the item. Generally this cost is equal to half the price of an item, but additional material components might increase this number. the cost to create includes the costs derived from the base cost plus the costs of the components.

Now, if you read the rules for cooperative crafting magic items (on that same page), you will see that for each day spent crafting, one of the creators (or yourself) must provide the spell required for that magic item, or suffer an increase of +5 to the spellcraft DC per spell missing.

For convenience, i will quote those rules here:

Requirements: Certain requirements must be met in order for a character to create a magic item. These include feats, spells, and miscellaneous requirements such as level, alignment, and race or kind. The prerequisites for creation of an item are given immediately following the item’s caster level.

A spell prerequisite may be provided by a character who has prepared the spell (or who knows the spell, in the case of a sorcerer or bard), or through the use of a spell completion or spell trigger magic item or a spell-like ability that produces the desired spell effect. For each day that passes in the creation process, the creator must expend one spell completion item or one charge from a spell trigger item if either of those objects is used to supply a prerequisite.

It is possible for more than one character to cooperate in the creation of an item, with each participant providing one or more of the prerequisites. In some cases, cooperation may even be necessary.

When you ask someone else to craft or upgrade an item for you, you can provide all the components, but that doesn’t mean he will work for free (unless you convince them somehow), and you will have to pay for the spellcasting services(normally Caster level × spell level × 10 gp), which may or may not be available on that town, based on it’s population and size.

This cost must also be paid when you request a npc cleric to cast spells on you, or when you ask a npc to use a divination spell to ask questions about your quest, or when you need a npc wizard to enchant your masterwork sword with a +1 enhancement bonus.

Of course, if you are the creator, and provide all requeriments, you do not have to pay for any extra service. But if you need the aid of someone else, they may charge for their availability.

Example

On your example, you can pay 6k gp for the materials, provide the base item (Belt of Incredible Dexterity +2) and would still need to pay for it. “How much?“, you will ask your GM.

To craft this item you must be at least 8th caster level and be able to cast cat’s grace, either that or have enough ranks in spellcraft to beat a DC 18 (not that difficult), but for the sake of this example, let’s say they only need to be able to cast cat’s grace and be 8th level caster (could be a wizard, or cleric, or anyone able to meet those requeriments, really).

  • Spell Level: 2nd x Caster Level: 8th x 10 gp: 160 gp

So 160 gp is the average cost for each cast of cat’s grace from a generic spellcaster. Since the upgrade has a cost of 12,000 gp, that means he will spend at least 12 days working on your belt, so he may charge you 1,920 gp for all the trouble.

Note that this is still cheaper than buying 12 scrolls and cast the spell yourself if you don’t have that spell.

This example is probably the most expensive you could go, working with your GM and rolling Diplomacy, you could make this go lower. If you have the feats but not the spell, you could find a 3rd level spellcaster to cast it for 12 days and pay only 60 gp per day (720 gp total) instead.

The spellcasting service’s formula is an average market value for that kind of service, the GM can lower or increase that cost based on any circunstances he sees as necessary. But this cost should never be the same as what he would profit from using his own money to craft the item and sit it on his shop waiting for someone with enough money to buy it (that could take months to happen).

Usually, spellcasters that work on a town, are more than happy to sell his spells and time, as the average earnings for downtime is about 2-4 gp a day. Unless, of course, he is already working on another project and cant cancel it (or all his progress is lost)

dnd 5e – Can you identify telepathically received messages sent through spells like Sending as magical via Detect Magic?

An enemy casts Sending to communicate with a player from far away. In this example, the player character doesn’t know anything about the Sending spell and he might think he is just hearing voices or going crazy.

Another player casts Detect Magic to scan the area. Can this player detect the presence of the telepathic message inside the first players head via Detect Magic as an evocation spell.

canon – Magic lantern vs. tragic lantern. Any differences?

Tragic Lantern is a fork of the Magic Lantern codebase, which means it was based on ML, but is no longer a part of ML or supported by the ML community. But probably the biggest difference is that from what I can tell, TL development is no longer active (the latest commits I can find, on bitbucket.org are from 2014). I suspect all TL development has moved back to ML.

And yes, just like with its parent project, Tragic Lantern builds are model/OEM firmware-version specific. (See also: Is there a way to get Magic Lantern on my newer model Canon?)

The main history is that the user “1%” began learning to code and chose to use the ML code base as his first project, because he had an (at the time) unsupported 7D and wanted to see if he could add it. 7D users rejoiced. He made a lot of progress (not just on the 7D, but also the 6D and EOS M) and did amazing things, but he was inexperienced and not versed in two major things that caused trouble down the line.

The first issue was that while he knew how to download the codebase and develop from it, he wasn’t versed in open source practices, and did not habitually push his code changes back to the main ML development effort for review and inclusion into the main ML development repository, or pull down newer codebases to stay in sync with the current development everyone else was doing. As a result, as time went by, TL got more and more out of sync with ML, and trying to roll in his new features (on old code) eventually became more effort than simply rewriting from scratch in the current codebase.

The second issue was that he activated some features by simply ignoring known bugs. So TL had features that ML chose not to activate for safety reasons. In the main thread on the Tragic Lantern fork on the ML messageboards, “a1ex” (the main contributor to ML) pointed out that 1% had, for example, enabled WAV recording, which was known to write to unallocated memory. Without fixing the issue first. (As far as I can gather as a non-programmer, 1% misinterpreted the situation and thought he was disabling the write capability, not just an error message).

Naive users of the models that only TL supported or who wanted the features TL has that ML doesn’t, of course, complained, and gave anecdotal “evidence” that since their TL-equipped cameras hadn’t crashed, clearly the code was safe. 1% was also putting up with some harsh criticism and felt that his efforts were unappreciated, while the ML developers were upset about all the wasted effort that could have (from their POV) been avoided. But basically, it was a huge mess of hurt feelings and a Big Learning Experience for all. And forking TL off as a separate open-source project was the cleanest way of getting out of the mess. And then everyone rolled up their sleeves and started working on backporting 7D features from TL.

Today, ML supports the 6D, 7D, and EOS M. And is still very actively developed. Unless you rely on one of the TL features that isn’t active in the ML code, then you should probably stick with ML.

dnd 5e – (How) Can a Rogue use the Use Magic Device feature to cast spells from Spell Scrolls?

Thief rogues get the Use Magic Device feature at 13th level, which lets them ignore all class, race, and level requirements on the use of magic items.

Spell scrolls are an unintelligible cipher if the spell isn’t on your class’s spell list. If using a spell scroll to cast a spell higher than you’re normally capable of, you need to make an ability check using your spellcasting ability against a DC equal to 10 + spell level.

Since the Thief rogue ignores all class and level requirements on the use of magic items, does this mean they may use spell scrolls without an ability check regardless of their level (essentially allowing them to be able to fake being a high-level caster for any class as the situation warrants)?

Or does the ability just let them attempt to use the scroll, but because the spell’s not on their spell list (because they don’t have a spell list), they need to make the ability check? If so, what ability would they use to make the spellcasting ability check?