dnd 5e – Initiative: Do I lose my attack / action if my target moves or dies before my turn in combat?

Chapter 9 of the PHB / ground rules describes how combat actions work.

The sidebar of "Combat step by step" in the "Combat Order" section lists how the combat proceeds:

  1. Determine the surprise. The DM determines if someone involved in the combat is surprised.
  2. Establish positions. The DM decides where all the characters and monsters are. Given the marching order of the adventurers or their declared positions in the room or elsewhere, the DM realizes where the adversaries are, at what distance and in what direction.
  3. Roll initiative All those involved in combat combat launch the initiative, determining the order of the combatants' turns.
  4. Take turns. Each participant in the battle takes a turn in order of initiative.
  5. The next round begins When everyone involved in the fight has had a turn, the round ends. Repeat step 4 until the fight stops.

As you can see, it does not indicate anywhere in this macro view that it declares its actions before taking its turn.

Looking at the "Your Turn" section, we can see the types of things you can do on your turn:

On your turn, you can movement a distance up to your speed and take an action. You decide whether to move first or take your action first. Your speed, sometimes called your walking speed, is recorded on your character's blade.

The most common actions you can perform are described in the Actions in combat section. Many class features and other skills provide additional options for your action.

The Movement and Position section gives the rules for your movement.

You can give up moving, perform an action or do anything in your turn. If you can not decide what to do on your turn, consider performing the Dodge or Ready action, as described in "Actions in combat."

The section continues describing the bonus actions:

Various class features, spells and other abilities allow you to perform additional action on your turn called bonus action. […] You can perform a bonus action only when a special ability, spell or other game feature indicates that you can do something as a bonus action. Otherwise, you do not have a bonus action to take.

And another activity on your turn:

You can communicate as you can, through brief expressions and gestures, as your turn comes.

You can also interact with an object or characteristic of the environment for free, either during your movement or your action. For example, you can open a door during your movement while advancing towards an enemy, or you can draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack.

If you want to interact with a second object, you need to use its action. Some magical objects and other special objects always require an action to use, as indicated in their descriptions.

And even reactions:

Certain special abilities, spells and situations allow you to perform a special action called reaction. A reaction is an instantaneous response to a trigger of some kind, which may occur in your turn or in that of another person. The opportunity attack, described later in this section, is the most common type of reaction.

… But as you can see, none of these rules states that you must declare the action you intend to take at any time; it only says that you take them (some at any time, others when a certain condition is met or when a characteristic / spell allows you to take them).

Later, in the "Movement and position" section, it tells you how the movement works:

On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed. You can use as much or as little of your speed as you wish on your turn, following the rules here.

[…]

He can break his movement on his turn, using some of his speed before and after his action. For example, if you have a speed of 30 feet, you can move 10 feet, act and then move 20 feet.

You can even move between the attacks:

If you perform an action that includes more than one weapon attack, you can divide your movement even more by moving between those attacks. For example, a fighter who can perform two attacks with the Extra Attack function and who has a speed of 25 feet could move 10 feet, make an attack, move 15 feet and then attack again.

Once again, there is no mention of declaring your actions.

As you can see, there is nothing in the rules that requires you to declare your actions in advance, simply do the things you want to do in your turn, if you have the motion, the action or the bonus action (or any other resource you take) . ) available to do so.


Rules designer Jeremy Crawford unofficially confirms this fact on Twitter:

The D & D combat is sequential, without an action declaration phase at the beginning. Your turn can also be interrupted by someone's reaction. Such an interruption could, among other things, incapacitate him, which means that his intention to take some action was never fulfilled.

Add, in response to a question about the combat order.:

There are, in fact, tons of flexibility in how certain things can be ordered in combat. But if one thing is conditioned to another, they must happen in order, since the intention has no weight in the rules of engagement, since it could be interrupted at any time and incapacitated.

He repeats it here:

D & D combat does not have an action declaration phase. Things happen in order, and can be interrupted at any time by a reaction, a trap or something similar. You can say: "I plan to take the Attack action", but that has no relevance to the rules until you are taking the action.

And once again, in response to a question about the Monk's Coup Fugue.:

In D & D, the way you take action in combat is actually taking the action. There is no declaration phase of actions. Flurry of Blows occurs after the attack action, which means the action itself, not a statement that you will take the action.

dnd 3.5e – How can I make the initiative useful as a statistic when I eliminate it from combat?

I am running a D & D 3.5e game in a private forum. To keep the fight moving, I have decided that each round of combat will be "resolved" once a day (or more often if all are published). So far, comments from players have shown that it is difficult and confusing to have players post "out of turn" with their actions, because they have to anticipate what everyone can do, etc.

So I decided that we will ignore the initiative, and instead I will decide if the players or the monsters go first. And then, it's simply a matter of who first posts first that their action happens first. This means that when someone publishes, they know exactly what happened before their shift. It means that when someone has the time in their busy life to publish, they know exactly what they are doing.

However, this means that players who have, for example, make Initiative feats, or have a generally high skill, lose that aspect of their character.

How can I give these highly skilled and initiative characters a similar benefit to having a high initiative that does not create a bottleneck in Play By Post games?

dnd 5e – Can I cast a Magical Initiative spell using my own spell slots if the spell is also on my class spell list?

As indicated by the linked question and answer, its spell casting feature of the wizard specifies that you can use those slots to cast spells from the wizard. You can not use them to cast Bard spells. Even if you were a Multi-Class Wizard / Cleric using the optional multiclassing rules, those rules say you can use those slots to cast any spell in a class that offers you the casting spell feature, and since you're not a Bard, you still can not throw Bard spells in those spell slots.

However, if you were a Bard / Wizard multiclass, you could cast your Bard spells (from Magic Initiate or your Bard levels, either) in your multiclass spell slots.

(Note that you can simply choose the wizard for your magical initiation feat and take the horrible laugh as an assistant spell, and be able to prepare it normally.) I guess you're trying to get a specific Bard cantrip and that's why you want the feat to grant spells to Bard, but you will only get the 1 / day Magic Initiate and, of course, cast with your CHA instead of INT.)

dnd 5e – If the DM launches the initiative once for a group of monsters, how do end-of-turn effects work?

A magician goes around a corner to find two kobolds brandishing their weapons. Roll initiative!

The DM determines that neither side is surprised. The DM makes a single initiative role (10) for the two kobolds, since they are identical creatures (PHB, page 189). The magician has a great roll (15) and goes first.

The assistant decides that it is better to be sure than regret and reverse hold person to 3rd level, pointing to both kobolds. One kobold fails to save and is paralyzed, but the other (miraculously) succeeds. The magician now feels confident in his success and closes within 5 feet of both kobolds.

It's time for the kobolds to act. Kobolds has the Pack Tactics feature, which gives them advantage in attack rolls against a creature if a non-disabled ally is within 5 feet of that creature. One of the kobolds is paralyzed, which means he is also incapacitated. Hold person grants additional salvation at the end of the affected kobold turns.

Each kobold should have its own turn, but one full turn before the other, possibly allowing the paralyzed kobold to save vs. hold person? In short, is there any way for the non-paralyzed kobold to take advantage of Pack Tactics in this initiative if we count this round?

dnd 5e – How high can the initiative bonus of a PC get?

In general, most PCs rely solely on their Dexterity ability score modifier for their initiative; However, there are ways to get bonuses for the initiative. How high can you get this bonus?

For example, there is the warning feat (PHB, page 165):

Always looking for danger, you get the following benefits:

  • You gain a +5 bonus to the initiative.

The Dread Ambusher class characteristic of the Gloom Stalker ranger archetype (XGtE, page 42):

On the 3rd level, you master the art of ambush. You can give yourself a bonus to your initiative rolls equal to your Wisdom modifier.

And the Tactical Wit class characteristic of the archetype of the magician of the wizard war (XGtE, page 60):

Starting at the second level, your great ability to evaluate tactical situations allows you to act quickly in battle. You can give yourself a bonus to your initiative rolls equal to your Intelligence modifier.

So, a level 6 character who was a Ranger 4 / Wizard 2 who took the Alert feat at level 4 would have an initiative of 5 + DEX + WIS + INT. Is there anything else that can increase this number even more?

For the purposes of this, let's assume that the PC is a human (+1 in all skill scores) whose player was lucky to shoot all 17s during the creation of the character; Therefore, the character has +4 in each statistic (for convenience). Anything RAW is allowed; Multiclass, feats, magical objects, etc., but nothing of Arcana unearthed.

So, if my previous Ranger 4 / Wizard 2 example reached level 20 (Ranger 18 / Wizard 2) and used all its ASIs to maximize the DEX, INT and WIS, then they would have an initiative bonus of 20. someone beat that with a level 20 construction?

Initiative Q-you need this as air.

Who is behind the Q Initiative?

The Q initiative was founded by Saar Wilf, a serial entrepreneur who started his first payment initiation in 1997, and then founded Fraud Sciences, which redefined the payment security space and was acquired by PayPal in 2008.

The Initiative Q team is made up of the best experts in payment systems, macroeconomics and Internet technologies. The idea behind the Q Initiative is to first create a critical mass of users, which can then be used to create the best payment network in the world. Therefore, our main objective now is to get millions of Q members registered, after which we will recruit the best professionals in the world in space.

https://initiativeq.com/invite/r4-a-Vf3X

This publication has been edited by tman10November 4, 2018, 03:12 a.m.