dnd 5e – War caster feat and green flame blade, is it legit?

The RAI on this one is a little uncertain from what I can tell.

Jeremy Crawford responded here to a question about using Green-Flame Blade for AoO.

Without a feature like the War Caster feat, a spell can never be cast in place of an opportunity attack.

He doesn’t make it incredibly clear, but the implication here is that with the feat this would be possible. However, this is contradicted by a later tweet here, stating that:

Twinned Spell doesn’t work with a spell that targets more than 1 creature. Green-flame blade targets 2.

This explicitly states that the spell targets multiple creatures, and therefore doesn’t qualify for the War Caster benefit, but again in a different context. My instinct here is to agree with explicit disqualification, rather than implied exception, so I would say the RAI is that you can’t use Green-Flame Blade with an opportunity attack.

dnd 5e – Can the blade created by Shadow Blade be used with the Booming Blade or Green Flame Blade cantrips?

Unfortunately, Xanathar’s Guide to Everything doesn’t have a section that stipulates the value of “Gloom” as a raw material, nor does any other 5e sourcebook (that I’m aware of), so the value of the created blade is indeterminable except by DM ruling.

As DM, I would rule that the blade must have a non-insignificant value

For starters, spells aren’t free. Even an 18th level Wizard who has chosen Shadow Blade as one of their “Mastered Spells” (PHB, 112) still places value on A) their time spent casting the spell, and B) the concentration spent maintaining the spell instead of any other spell they’d rather be maintaining.

And if the spell isn’t being provided by an 18th level wizard who can produce it at will, then it must be provided by either a character who does have a limit on how many times they can cast it in a day; or a spell scroll, which (for a 2nd level spell) has a value between 100gp and 500gp (depending on whether you use the table in the PHB or the table in Xanathar’s Guide to Everything).

So as DM, I would generally maintain that a Shadow Blade must have a value that at least exceeds 1sp.

Green Coins – greencoins.club – HYIPs

Green Coins Ltd was founded in 2018 by a group of investment professionals who wanted to become the industry leaders and create an innovative investment platform where the investors needs are placed before the needs of the investment firm. We are located in London, UK and have clients throughout the world who depend on our investment packages to provide them with effective portfolio growth solutions. We are a trading company focusing mainly on bitcoin trading and we have become the foremost bitcoin advisors to serious investors. The main advantage Green Coins Ltd offers our investors is the simplicity of our program. Green Coins Ltd investors don’t need any trading experience at all as our team of experienced, knowledgeable professionals do all of the work for them. Our investors need only deposit their money and Green Coins Ltd will give them returns daily. Our plan is 150% after 1 day return for 1 days with a total of 150%!

Who We Are
Who We Are
Green Coins Ltd is made up of a team of financial experts. Along with our CEO, Tracey Scott, we have 1 coder, 8 day traders,4 night traders and 2 members of support staff. From our founding, we have held to the conviction that there is a different way for an investment firm to create value. Our commitment to create lasting impact means that we work differently, tenacious in our desire to unearth the fundamentals that drive businesses and markets over the long-term. And it means that we partner differently, aligning our interests with those of our investors for lasting impact. Our offices in London,UK are open business days from 9am to 5pm; feel free to stop in and visit us.

Invest plans:
– 260% After 20 Minutes 
– 280% After 1 Hour
– 340% After 2 Hour 
– 450% After 4 Hour

Program Features:
– GC HYIP Script
– SSL Certificated by COMODO RSA
– Secure DDOS Protection Hosting
– Instant Withdrawal

dnd 5e – If Booming Blade or Green Flame Blade are counterspelled, does the attack still go through?

The Booming Blade (SCAG, page 142) description says (emphasis mine)

As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the spell’s range, otherwise the spell fails. On a hit, the target suffers the attack’s normal effects, and it becomes sheathed in booming energy until the start of your next turn. If the target willingly moves before then, it immediately takes 1d8 thunder damage, and the spell ends.

The PHB explicit says under the Spell Casting section that (emphasis mine)

Each spell description in Chapter 11 begins with a block of information, including the spell’s name, level, school of magic, casting time, range, components, and duration. The rest of a spell entry describes the spell’s effect.

The Booming Blade’s description presents a sort of contradiction: indeed, per PHB’s rules the quoted text describes the effects of the spell, hence the melee attacks is one of this effects. Nonetheless, this very text says that the melee attack is part of the casting.

On the other hand, Counterspell (PHB, page 228) says (emphasis mine)

You attempt to interrupt a creature in the process of casting a spell. If the creature is casting a spell of 3rd level or lower, its spell fails and has no effect. If it is casting a spell of 4th level or higher, make an ability check using your spellcasting ability. The DC equals 10 + the spell’s level. On a success, the creature’s spell fails and has no effect.

Since Booming Blade is a cantrip, Counterspell automatically succeeds. The highlighted text in the above description tells us that, on success,

  • Counterspell interrupts the casting, hence if the melee attack is also part of the casting (by description) then it does not occur
  • Counterspell makes the spell fail, hence there are no effects: since the melee attack is part of the effects, it automatically fails.

Both interpretations lead to say that a counterspelled Booming Blade has no effects at all, both the melee attack and the subsequent thunder damage do not take place.


This reasoning applies also to Green Flame Blade (SCAG, page 143), since it shares the same text.

dnd 5e – if booming blade or green flame blade are counter-spelled, does the attack still go through?

It seems the attack attached to booming blade is not interrupted by counter spell.

Having come to stack exchange to find an answer to my question, and not finding it, I looked over the source material and found what I believe to be RAW. I will first quote counterspell and booming blade as I did in the question.

Counterspell:

You attempt to interrupt a creature in the process of casting a spell. If the creature is casting a spell of 3rd level or lower, its spell fails and has no effect.

Booming blade:

As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the spell’s range.

The text in booming blade suggests that the attack is made as part of the same action used to cast the spell, but it does not suggest that the attack is made as part of the spell. If the latter were the case booming blade should read: “as part of the spell, you must…”

Whereas counterspell causes a spell to fail, not the action to cast a spell. Hence I believe if booming blade is counter-spelled, the attack still goes through, it just doesn’t benefit from the spell itself.

dnd 5e – Does the Gust of Wind spell nullify the “poisonous gas” from a green dragon’s Poison Breath?

The gust causes the gas to vanish in the 10-foot-wide column.

The gust of wind spell lists the following effects, among others:

A line of strong wind 60 feet long and 10 feet wide blasts from you in a direction you choose for the spell’s duration. Each creature that starts its turn in the line must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be pushed 15 feet away from you in a direction following the line.

(…)

The gust disperses gas or vapor, and it extinguishes candles, torches, and similar unprotected flames in the area. (…)

A strong wind is defined in the Dungeon Master’s Guide as follows (p. 110; emphasis mine):

A strong wind imposes disadvantage on ranged weapon attack rolls and Wisdom (Perception) checks that rely on hearing. A strong wind also extinguishes open flames, disperses fog, and makes flying by nonmagical means nearly impossible. (…)

As “disperse” isn’t a defined game term, and D&D 5e is written using natural language, we need to refer to the normal meaning of the word. Merriam-Webster includes the following definition:

transitive verb

1.

  • a: to cause to break up (see break up sense 1a)
    • police dispersed the crowd
  • b: to cause to become spread widely
  • c: to cause to evaporate or vanish
    • sunlight dispersing the mist

In particular, 1c is the most relevant definition, dealing with “disperse” as it relates to an environmental effect (mist). So we have to conclude that the meaning of “disperse” in the spell description, as it applies to a gas in this context, is to cause the gas to “vanish or evaporate”.

Conclusion

As a result, the gust of wind spell causes the gas to vanish in the 10-foot-wide column, and thus has no effect on the creatures behind the line of wind. This does not mean that the breath weapon has no effect on creatures on either side of the column (if its cone is appropriately wide).

This DM would take account of the dragon’s positioning to determine just how much of the breath weapon is dispersed. For example, if the dragon releases its breath weapon while its mouth is directly in the gust, then this DM would rule that the gust nullifies the whole breath weapon (as it vanishes before it has a change to “fill” the cone). Alternatively, were the dragon to release its breath weapon from above the gust, angled downwards, then only the central line of the cone would be dispersed (protecting creatures behind the gust).


As an aside, if the dragon is flying, within the column of the strong wind (as you indicate), then it must either land at the end of its turn or fall (and take falling damage) due to the Strong Wind rules. It also must spend 2 feet of movement for every 1 foot it moves toward the caster (in effect, difficult terrain) due to the gust of wind spell (on top of the Strong Wind effects).

dnd 5e – Gust of Wind vs Green Dragon Breath

I think this is similar to Can Warding Wind block the effect of a Green Dragon’s Poison Breath? but the wording of Warding Wind seems more conservative than Gust of Wind.

I just ran a combat where a druid used Gust of Wind against a green dragon. I had the dragon retaliate by flying (slowly) towards the druid and using its breath weapon. The players were delighted, immediately declaring that the monster’s attack should have been nullified because:

(Green Dragon)
The dragon breathes poisonous gas in a 30-foot cone

(Gust of Wind)
The gust disperses gas or vapor…

However, I ruled that the breath weapon worked as normal through the line of the wind, using similar logic to the most upvoted answer on the linked question, that “dispersing gas” is for handling cloudkill, wall of fog and other lingering effects that explicitly describe being dispersed, and that breath weapons (or other instantaneous area effects) do not get cancelled through dispersal. Instead, I would argue, breath weapons may only get blocked by spells that say it more directly e.g. Wind Wall which says that it “keeps gases at bay”.

It would not have been a big deal if the players were correct in my case, as the dragon had other tactical options – moving out of the of the gust of wind to attack from the side for instance – so the ruling did not change much about the outcome (although it disappointed the players because they were convinced they had outsmarted the dragon and made it lose an attack). And in the end the battle was won by the PCs.

Should I have allowed Gust of Wind to nullify gas-based breath weapon attacks made within it, according to rules as written? What exactly does “dispersing” mean in the Gust of Wind spell description?

address – What are Green Addresses?

The green address is a third party trust trick and can help resolve most problems related to the need to wait for confirmations (slow transactions).

To make it very simple :

Service A publishes its green address, service B decides to trust service A.

When someone send bitcoins from service A to service B, he will send from the service A green address.

The service B knows he can trust the service A, he knows A won’t double spend, so B can credit the sent bitcoins immediately, without waiting for confirmations ( or waiting for just one confirmation, which is probably wiser ).

This is mostly useful for transferring bitcoins b2b (business to business), typically it would help making arbitrage easier and faster between 2 bitcoin exchanges, if both decide to trust each other’s green address.

This can also be useful to allow for POS (Point of sales) with instant transactions if the POS can trust the green address of your bitcoin bank (or online wallet)

As an individual, I could also negotiate with my local supermarket to trust my green address (providing them my IRL address, ID number and more if needed). Once they decide to trust my green address, I can pay immediately with bitcoins at my local supermarket (they trust me and won’t need to wait for confirmations).

The green address is just a bitcoin address, but it’s a “from” address people decide to trust and accept transactions from this address without waiting for confirmations.

Possible drawbacks are :

  • Less anonymity, or even no anonimity at all ( always using the same public from address), which is not a problem for a business, and its even great for public accounting/auditing ( yes bitcoin can also help fighting corruption ! )

  • Blockchain spam (more transactions for the bitcoin network), which is a good thing if the blockchain can scale.

  • Encourages people to use trusted wallet providers (some kind of bitcoin banks). Here too, this have good and bad sides.

  • It’s not enough to create a green address, you still need to be trusted so that your green address is useful

  • For now, afaik, only mtgox.com, btcpak.com and instawallet.org support the idea. To be useful, green address system needs to be widely adopted by bitcoin pools, exchanges, online wallets, businesses, etc.

    See also https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Green_address
    ( edit 11 years ago, october 2020 , this reference is no more very relevant, some people completely rewrote the wiki page years later,for obscure reasons . . . they even replaced the first line with a blockstream ad . . . but you can still go and check the earliest versions of this page, around 2011-2012 , by clicking the “history” tab of the wiki page )

dnd 5e – How do green flame blade and the tiefling feat Flames of Phlegethos interact?

Cantrips are spells, so green-flame blade is a spell and you can reroll its fire damage

To quote the feat:

When you roll fire damage for a spell you cast, you can reroll any roll of 1 on the fire damage dice, but you must use the new roll, even if it is another 1.

So the question is whether green-flame blade is a spell. To quote the rules on “Spellcasting” (specifically “Spell Level”):

Every spell has a level from 0 to 9. A spell’s level is a general indicator of how powerful it is, with the lowly (but still impressive) magic missile at 1st level and the earth-shaking wish at 9th. Cantrips — simple but powerful spells that characters can cast almost by rote — are level 0. (…)

Thus we can see that Cantrips are also spells, and so Flames of Phlegethos will let you reroll the fire damage dice (and only the fire damage dice) of green-flame blade.


The flames can appear but the 1d4 additional damage occurs when somebody hits you, not when you hit somebody else

To quote the feat:

Whenever you cast a spell that deals fire damage, you can cause flames to wreathe you until the end of your next turn. The flames don’t harm you or your possessions, and they shed bright light out to 30 feet and dim light for an additional 30 feet. While the flames are present, any creature within 5 feet of you that hits you with a melee attack takes 1d4 fire damage

Notably, green-flame blade is a spell that deals fire damage, so you can choose to wreathe yourself in flames. However, the 1d4 fire damage occurs when a creature hits you with a melee attack, while green-flame blade involves you hitting them. Thus, the 1d4 damage does not occur when casting green-flame blade.


I don’t believe this is what you’re asking, but if somebody attacked you directly with green-flame blade while flames wreathed around you, they would be hitting you with a melee attack, and would take 1d4 fire damage.

Also note that the rerolling of 1’s does not apply to the 1d4 fire damage because rerolling only applies to the fire damage of spells, and the wreathing fire effect of the feat is not a spell.

dnd 5e – Dnd 5e Green flame blade and Flames of Phlegethos stacking

I’m playing an eldritch knight, and I’m looking to optimize the damage of green flame blade. The feature “flames of Phlegethos” states that “When you roll fire damage for a spell you cast, you can reroll any roll of 1 on the fire damage dice, but you must use the new roll, even if it is another 1. Whenever you cast a spell that deals fire damage, you can cause flames to wreathe you until the end of your next turn. The flames don’t harm you or your possessions, and they shed bright light out to 30 feet and dim light for an additional 30 feet. While the flames are present, any creature within 5 feet of you that hits you with a melee attack takes 1d4 fire damage” would both the 1d4 fire damage and the re-roll 1’s on fire damage trigger when using green flame blade? Or is this meant for spells of level 1 and higher?