dnd 5e – Does a Fighter’s Action Surge stack with the Haste action?

A fighter, once per rest, can use Action Surge to gain an additional action on his turn.

The target of a Haste spell also gains an additional action on his turns (until the spell ends).

If a fighter is Hasted by a fellow mage and then uses his Action Surge, does he gain two additional actions on his turn (for a total of 3 actions, plus the eventual bonus action & reaction) ?

dnd 5e – How does the Oathbow’s benefit to ranged attacks interact with the Arcane Archer fighter’s Arcane Shot options Piercing/Seeking Arrow?

This is unclear. The main issue is this line:

On a failed save, a target takes damage as if it were hit by the arrow, plus an extra 1d6 piercing damage.

“As if it where hit with the arrow”. This is talking about a counter-factual; “the arrow didn’t hit the target, but we are talking about a situation where it did, and extract from that situation the damage it would do”.

What, exactly, is that counter-factual situation emulating?

As if “someone picked up the arrow and hit you on the head”?

As if “someone, not you, shot the arrow and hit the target”?

As if “you instead of using this power made a normal ranged attack on the target, and hit the target”?

I would argue that choice 3 is what people are implicitly emulating. They are applying your dex bonus to damage, any enhancement bonuses, any feats you have, etc.

By RAW, however, the first (someone bonked them on the head with the arrow) is just as supported, in which case the damage should be that of an improvised weapon at most with no modifier to damage from attributes.

When you make a ranged Attack roll with this weapon against your sworn enemy, you have advantage on the roll. In addition, your target gains no benefit from cover, other than total cover, and you suffer no disadvantage due to long range. If the Attack hits, your sworn enemy takes an extra 3d6 piercing damage.

The next question is, does the counter-factual “as if” case involve you making an attack roll before the arrow hits? If that counter-factual “as if” case involves you hitting the target after making a normal attack on them, then “as if the arrow hits” would deal an extra 3d6 piercing damage.

If it doesn’t include you making an attack roll before the arrow hits, I’m uncertain where in the rules you can hit a foe with an arrow without first making an attack roll. So the rules are unclear how much damage it does, ignoring this feature entirely.

Or you could choose to read the ranged attack portion as being severable where the hitting is divorced from the attack roll portion, in which case this doesn’t apply.

dnd 5e – Can an Arcane Archer fighter’s Shadow Arrow be used like a Wand of Enemy Detection?

Magic exists which can divine the intentions of other creatures toward me. For instance, the description of the wand of enemy detection magic item says, in part:

While holding it, you can use an action and expend 1 charge to speak its command word. For the next minute, you know the direction of the nearest creature hostile to you within 60 feet, but not its distance from you. The wand can sense the presence of hostile creatures that are ethereal, invisible, disguised, or hidden, as well as those in plain sight.

The Arcane Archer fighter can choose the Arcane Shot option Shadow Arrow (XGtE, p. 30; emphasis mine):

You weave illusion magic into your arrow, causing it to occlude your foe’s vision with shadows. The creature hit by the arrow takes an extra 2d6 psychic damage, and it must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or be unable to see anything farther than 5 feet away until the start of your next turn.

Abilities and effects do what they say they do. There is no fluff in descriptions.

As written, it appears that if I hit a creature with my Shadow Arrow, it does regular arrow damage plus 2d6 psychic damage. In addition, if the creature hit is my foe, it must make a Wisdom save or have its vision occluded.

Suppose I want to determine if an NPC of uncertain loyalty is my foe or not. I hit him with a Shadow Arrow. It seems that if his vision becomes occluded, he must be my foe; if not, he is either not my foe or he has succeeded on the saving throw. Is that right?

  1. Does the Shadow Arrow really know who is my foe, similar to a
    wand of enemy detection? Or does it assume that anyone I would
    shoot at must be my foe?
  2. If the latter, could an NPC that was trying to gain my trust
    volunteer to receive my arrow? Would that affect the result if they
    were being truthful vs. deceptive?
  3. If my DM house-rules that critical failures on attack rolls result
    in attacking allies when I fire into a melee, can I be confident
    that my Shadow Arrow will not be able to occlude the vision of
    anyone friendly to me?

Related questions:

dnd 5e – Does the Martial Adept superiority dice scale up alongside the Battle Master fighter’s superiority dice if you acquire the subclass after the feat?

Apparently it’s intended to scale, though that’s not totally obvious

As you point out, in the original printing of the PHB, the second bullet point of the Martial Adept feat read (PHB, p. 168):

If you already have superiority dice, you gain one more; otherwise, you have one superiority die, which is a d6.

This clearly indicates that Martial Adept’s superiority die does scale up with the Battle Master fighter’s Improved Combat Superiority feature, turning into a d10 at 10th level and a d12 at 18th level.

However, the very first errata in 2015 reworded that part of the Martial Adept feat to read as it does now (emphasis mine):

You gain one superiority die, which is a d6 (this die is added to any superiority dice you have from another source).

However, that errata document (and every other one up through 2017 or so) summarized the change as follows:

The superiority die is added to any others you have, no matter when you gain them.

Some people (including me!) were initially confused when the 2018 PHB errata quoted the new text, thinking it was a new change distinct from the previous printings (though it’s not marked as “(NEW)” in the errata document). However, the only new thing in that regard is that the 2018 errata consistently includes direct quotes of the new/current wording, rather than paraphrasing it as previous errata PDFs did (which can potentially lead to confusion, as in this case).

Many people understood this to mean that the Martial Adept die does scale with the Battle Master’s superiority dice regardless of when they get the feat vs. the subclass. However, the revised wording of the feat could also be interpreted to mean exactly the opposite – that this superiority die is separate from and in addition to any existing superiority dice (i.e. that it’s a flat d6, and does not scale with the Battle Master’s superiority dice).


Eventually, lead rules designer Jeremy Crawford unofficially clarified how Martial Adept interacts with Battle Master fighters in an April 2020 tweet:

If you’re a Battle Master fighter and take the Martial Adept feat, the superiority die from the feat improves when you gain the Improved Combat Superiority feature, which intentionally makes no distinction between a die you get from the class and a die you get from the feat.

In order to understand Crawford’s ruling, we then have to look at the wording of the Battle Master fighter’s Improved Combat Superiority feature (PHB, p. 74):

At 10th level, your superiority dice turn into d10s. At 18th level, they turn into d12s.

Given the parenthetical in the revised wording of the Martial Adept feat, it’s unclear to me whether the superiority die from Martial Adept remains a d6 from Battle Master fighter levels 3-9, or if it becomes a d8 as soon as you have any Battle Master fighter levels. (That may be worth asking as a separate question.)

However, what is clear from Crawford’s interpretation is that when you gain the Improved Combat Superiority feature, it is intended to extend the benefit to Martial Adept’s additional superiority die as well. Since the feature merely says “your superiority dice” (rather than “your superiority dice from this archetype” or “your superiority dice from the Combat Superiority feature”), it does apply to all your superiority dice, no matter where they’re from.1


If the intent was for Martial Adept’s superiority die to scale, the initial 2015 errata’s change in the wording of the feat seems unnecessary/self-defeating, since the first errata clearly indicated that it scaled (since it just added to your existing superiority dice if you had them already).

The reason for the errata may have been that the original wording might suggest that Martial Adept’s superiority die would scale if you had Battle Master fighter levels first before taking the feat, but not if you took the feat and then gained levels in Battle Master fighter (as you wonder in the question). In contrast, the revised wording merely says “this die is added to any superiority dice you have from another source”, with no mention of the Battle Master fighter.

However, if the change was merely out of concern about the rules around the Battle Master needing to account for other sources of superiority dice, then the designers could have instead removed the relevant wording from Martial Adept entirely and explicitly clarified in the Battle Master’s own features that Martial Adept’s superiority dice scale with it. Instead, Martial Adept’s clear but flawed wording was replaced with vague/unclear wording (that has resulted in confusion and rules arguments for years now).

Especially given the confusion around this issue, this question would be a good one to provide an official ruling on in the Sage Advice Compendium, rather than relying solely on Crawford’s tweet (which is not an official ruling) to understand the interaction.


1 The same logic extends to the interaction of the Battle Master fighter’s Improved Combat Superiority feature with other sources of superiority dice in playtest content, though none have yet been published. UA: Class Feature Variants adds the Superior Technique option to the fighter’s Fighting Style feature, letting any fighter gain a d6 superiority die and one maneuver (rather than two maneuvers, as Martial Adept grants). The playtest versions of the Cavalier and Scout fighter archetypes in UA: Kits of Old, as well as the Monster Hunter fighter archetype from UA: Gothic Heroes, also have superiority dice and an identical Improved Combat Superiority feature, so they’d interact with other sources of superiority dice in the same way.

dnd 5e – Do the pushing effects of the Battle Master fighter’s Pushing Attack maneuver and the Swords bard’s Mobile Flourish stack on the same attack?

These would stack.

The Dungeon Master’s Guide contains a rule for combining game effects (p. 252; emphasis mine):

Different game features can affect a target at the same time. But when two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap. (…) Game features include spells, class features, feats, racial traits, monster abilities, and magic items.

Because the Battle Master fighter’s Pushing Attack maneuver from the Combat Superiority feature (PHB, p. 73-74) and the College of Swords bard’s Mobile Flourish from the Blade Flourish feature (XGtE, p. 15) are different features with different names, they are not subject to the “most potent effect only” rule. As the DMG states, different game features can affect a target at the same time, so the effects of Pushing Attack and Mobile Flourish would stack.

dnd 5e – Would it be unbalanced for Dex-based Fighters to choose proficiency in Dex saving throws instead of Str saving throws?

The three common saving throws are DEX, CON, and WIS. The three uncommon saving throws are STR, INT, and CHA. Every character class gets proficiency in one of the three common saves and one of the three uncommon saves. For example, the Fighter gets CON as its common save and STR as its uncommon save.

If you allowed the Fighter to replace STR with DEX, they would then have DEX and CON saves, which are both common saves, making them far better at saving throws than other characters. This would overpower the Fighter relative to other characters.

The following are the saving throw proficiencies for each class, grouped by those classes with the same proficiencies. What you can do is allow your Fighter to take both proficiencies from another class with a DEX save instead of those from the Fighter class.

  • Barbarian & Fighter: STR, CON
  • Bard: DEX, CHA
  • Cleric, Paladin, & Warlock: WIS, CHA
  • Druid & Wizard: INT, WIS
  • Monk & Ranger: STR, DEX
  • Rogue: DEX, INT
  • Sorcerer: CON, CHA

In your case, you could allow the Fighter to take DEX and CHA saves (like a Bard), STR and DEX saves (like a Monk or Ranger), or DEX and INT saves (like a Rogue) without breaking anything in the game. Even though you’re giving them DEX saves, you’re taking away CON saves and replacing them with something less beneficial (CHA, STR, or INT).

Whichever pair you choose from the options described above, the Fighter still only has one common save and one uncommon save. Moreover, although DEX, CON, and WIS saves don’t have the same frequency in the game, the game is balanced in such a way that each of those saves is more or less as useful as each other. (In other words, after swapping saves in the way I’ve described, you shouldn’t have to worry that the Fighter is significantly more or less powerful than any other Fighter, just different. If you sat down and crunched the numbers, you might find that the Fighter has become slightly more or less powerful, but not in a way that would be problematic at the table.)

Note that the pair of CON and INT and the pair of STR and WIS shouldn’t be problematic, either, but no class in the core game uses either of those pairs (although some Unearthed Arcana supplements have done so). It really shouldn’t matter what pair you pick as long as it includes one common and one uncommon save. The reason I listed all the existing pairs in the game above is that it’s easier to get a feel for the theme behind each pair when there’s already a class that goes with it, whereas coming up with a pair on your own requires you to ascertain that feel for yourself.

Does Pathfinder 2e fix the “linear fighters, quadratic wizards” problem?

This question about the playtest got the answer "we just do not know it yet".

50 weeks after the publication, what it the final answer? How does it compare to DnD 5e in this regard?

Since America was established by imperfect people such as slave holders and Indian fighters, should we dismantle the whole Union and start?

The entire world has tried to dismantle this nation. 

Dynamics of world dominance, from the most powerful control-freak to the humblest Citizen, have only acted normally. 

And, by them acting normally, all attempts to dismantle this nation? 

…They have ALL failed.

dnd 5e – Does the Echo Knight fighter’s Manifest Echo feature create a snapshot of the character when creating it, or does it change as the Echo Knight does?

It mostly doesn’t matter, but it probably doesn’t change

Mechanically almost every single feature of the Echo Knight let you act based on the Echos position, the Echo itself never does anything. So for those it doesn’t make a difference.

The only cases where it might come up is if you’re under an effect that changes your shape or size (e.g. Enlarge/Reduce) which could affect Attack Of Opportunity, or if you’re using Echo Avatar, which allows you to see through the Echos senses. If you have anything altering your senses (like Wildshape or Polymorph (just an example, you couldn’t use the feature while polymorphed anyway)) your DM would have to make a judgement call of whether those changes apply to your echo as well. My feeling on either of those is that if the intention was that any changes of the sort should propagate to the Echo as well the feature probably would’ve said so, so I’d rule no on both of these.

dnd 5e – Is an Echo Knight fighter’s “echo” a tangible object, for the purpose of physical interaction?

The Explorer’s Guide to Wildemount sourcebook contains a new Fighter subclass, the Echo Knight. Echo Knights have the ability to summon an “echo” of themselves; per the overall subclass description (p. 183):

the Echo Knight has mastered the art of using dunamis to summon the fading shades of unrealized timelines to aid them in battle.

The Manifest Echo feature also describes it as follows:

This echo is a magical, translucent, gray image of you (…) It is the same size as you, and it occupies its space.

In this unofficial tweet from March 2020, Jeremy Crawford confirms that an echo is an object.

Is an “echo” a tangible object, for the purpose of being interacted with (e.g. a giant picking it up from the ground like a large bottle of beer)?