Enlarge the output picture and coordinate axis together like Matlab

Is there anyway to enlarge the output picture and coordinate axis together like Matlab?
Like MatrixPlot or other Plot function.

In matlab, there is a zoom button in the picture display window. You can zoom in or out by clicking the Zoom button. The coordinates of the picture will also change accordingly. But I don’t know how to do it in mathematica. Or does Mathematica can do this?

The button in matlab:
enter image description here

Enlarged renderings:

enter image description here

A larger version of the image with coordinates:

enter image description here

dnd 5e – How does the Enlarge/Reduce spell work to enlarge a creature when the target creature is surrounded?

If possible, the creature grows and is squeezing. When it grows, its weapons grow accordingly.

A creature can’t usually overlap with other creatures’ spaces. If a Medium creature is surrounded and is Enlarged, then it is now Large and squeezing:

A creature can squeeze through a space that is large enough for a creature one size smaller than it. Thus, a Large creature can squeeze through a passage that’s only 5 feet wide.

On its turn, it can move away if it has a chance, and stop squeezing.

If the creature can’t squeeze, then the enlarge/reduce spell won’t make them grow. For example, let’s say the creature was a Large polymorphed druid, already squeezing for some reason, and surrounded. When you Enlarge, nothing happens. On its turn (if Enlarge is still in effect), if it moves to a space where it can grow, then it grows to Huge, and its weapons grow then (as only now did it attain a “new size”):

The target’s weapons also grow to match its new size.

dnd 5e – House Rule – Upcasting Enlarge / Reduce to extend duration

The party is deep into my 5e-updated classic Greyhawk Giants series.

The hill giants and their orc and goblin minions have attacked the Sterish city of Headwater and have taken about a quarter of the city. The party is about to embark on a mission to go behind enemy lines, kidnap and assassinate a stone giant who is critical to the hill giants’ city / siege offensive as being their only trained engineer. While the party’s patron recognizes that the stone giant needs to die, she also recognizes that at present the Stone Giant Thane has not joined the giant alliance and wants to keep it that way. Thus, she is requesting that they carry the body of the slain giant honorably back to his Thane in an effort to preserve a fragile peace between the humans and the stone giants. I would like the party to be able to accept this mission, without it becoming either a logistical challenge involving wagons and draft animals, or without loaning them a portable hole.

Instead, I would like to provide them with a version of the Enlarge / Reduce spell which is in all aspects identical to the original except that it can be upcast to extend the duration.

I figure the giant is 17 feet high and 1000 pounds; after reduce it would be 8.5 feet and a manageable 125 pounds.

For this version of Enlarge / Reduce I am proposing that:

When cast at 3rd level against living creatures, it lasts 10 minutes

When cast at 3rd level against objects, it lasts 1 hour

When cast at 4th level against living creatures, it lasts 1 hour (similar to polymorph)

When cast at 4th level against objects, it lasts 8 hours

When cast at 5th level against living creatures, it lasts 8 hours (much less than geas)

When cast at 5th level against objects, it lasts 24 hours

The party Wizard is currently 8th level and getting close to 9th. Requiring her to use both her fourth level slots and maintain concentration for the duration of travel every day in order to move swiftly and stealthily into the mountains with the body is just the right level of challenge for the group.

My only concern is that allowing this version of the spell to the party wizard permanently will have some unforeseen interaction with some other spell, ability, or item that I will later regret. This question, for example, asks about upcasting enlarge to permit two changes in creature size, and answers identify the interaction with levitation and grappling being problematic. I am interested in a similar troubleshooting review.

dnd 5e – How should Duergars enlarge power and Squeezing into cramped spaces interact?

The actual RAW rule for the Duergar’s enlarge is:

Enlarge (Recharges after a Short or Long Rest). For 1 minute,
the duergar magically increases in size, along with anything it
is wearing or carrying. While enlarged, the duergar is Large,
doubles its damage dice on Strength-based weapon attacks
(included in the attacks), and makes Strength checks and
Strength saving throws with advantage. If the duergar lacks the
room to become Large, it attains the maximum size possible in
the space available.

So, in abbreviated form, I see these effects while enlarged:

  • Status Change: Size is Large.
  • Benefit: For Strength based attacks, double the base weapon damage dice.
  • Benefit: Advantage on Strength checks and Strength save.
  • Special Condition: If not enough room to become Large, becomes maximum possible size instead.

It is this last point, and especially how it interact which with the 3 others, that we are confused about.

Also, here is the rule for cramped spaces:

SQUEEZING INTO A SMALLER SPACE
A creature can squeeze through a space that is large
enough for a creature one size smaller than it. Thus, a
Large creature can squeeze through a passage that's
only 5 feet wide. While squeezing through a space,
a creature must spend 1 extra foot for every foot it
moves there, and it has disadvantage on attack rolls
and Dexterity saving throws. Attack rolls against the
creature have advantage while it's in the smaller space.

Given the situation as detailed in my question above (i.e. duergar decides to enlarge while in a 1 square wide corridor i.e. a 5 feet wide corridor), what should actually happpens, as per RAW?

(A) There is not enough space for the Duergar to actually enlarge to Large size, so the Duergar remains Medium size. Thus, as a Medium creature, it is not Squeezing into a Smaller space. Also, given that it is not Large, it doesn’t get it’s other Duergar enlargement’s damage and Strength benefits.

or

(B) The duergar enlarges somewhat to the maximum possible for Medium creatures, becoming noticeably larger but still “barely under” the limit for actually becoming squeezed (kinda like how a Goliath is still a Medium creature but still has a much bigger “build” anyway). But, as there is not enough space for the Duergar to actually truly enlarge to Large size, thus the Duergar remains a Medium size creature. Thus, as a Medium creature, it is not Squeezing into a Smaller space. However, the Duergar still gets all of his other bonuses from his enlargement (weapon damage and strength advantage), because those benefits are dependent upon the activation of the enlargement power, not on the duergar effectivey really becoming Large size.

or

(C) The duergar enlarges to Large size because it is possible for him to do so anyway: “it attains the maximum size possible in the space available” meaning that it is indeed posssible for a Large creature to exist in a 5-feet wide tunnel, despite the cramped conditions. Thus, the “maximum possible” to exist there is not “Medium”, but it is instead “Large + squeezing”. Not only does the duergar gets all of his bonuses from being enlarged, but it is also now Squeezing into a smaller space.

So, which is it? DM + players each have their own ideas on how to resolve this, seemingly on opposite ends of the spectrum. We argue the duergar should become squeezed as in (C), thus getting the penalties. Aka “This is really a bad dungeon design for them, all the rooms and corridors where there could be any battle should instead be made to take advantage of their Large size in combat instead”. DM is the complete other way as you will see below.

Of course the DM ultimately decides, but we wanted to know what the actually RAW ruling is because a lot more duergars are going to be fought over the next few sessions, we have just entered into a huge dungeon and that dungeon is really seeminggly going to be a big dungeon crawl full of tiny tunnels and tiny rooms, full of duergars all the way to the bottom level.

But it actuallly goes further than even that.

The party is actually good at being fast & sneaky, so the PCs can relatively easily surprise the duergar while they are in a tiny room, to immediately enter the room and position ourselves so that the duergars simply do not have any free 10×10 feet area for them to easily become fully Large size. So, what happens then, when the duergar go into enlargement?

(D) Exactly the same thing as in the 5-feet wide tunnel above (either (A) or (B) or (C)). The PCs are treated as much as “solid obstacles” as the walls are. That is the players’ opinion on things.

or

(E) As the duergar enlarges, it also automatically pushes away any PCs into nearby empty spaces. The player decides which way he is pushed back (this is not a Shove Action made on purpose, after all), with a Strength Save to try to resist the push (duergar ability DC being 8 + 2 Proficiency + 2 STR = DC 12). If pushed and the only way to be pushed back is right into a hole, the PC falls, with a DC 12 Dex Save allowed to hang onto the ledge. This is a “middle ground” approach we tried to negotiate.

or

(F) Same as E, however since the enlargement is “magical” in nature, it pushes back so strongly that it is the duergar’s space that always takes priority, forcing PCs to be the ones pushed not only backways but even sideways too. Basically it works EXACTLY like a free multi-target Shove that is always automatically succesfull, without any opposing resisting check. So in other words it is the duergar who chooses which way we get pushed, even to the point of being forced to end up with 2 or more PCs forced into the same space. Thus, not only does the duergar end up with zero penalty for cramped space, but it is the PCs that end up being the ones that are all squeezed up! And if 3 or more PCs are forced into the same space, they get squeezed so much so that they automatically fall Prone, can’t attack at all, and have to Crawl to get out of the “body pile”, provoking an Attack of Opportunity in the process. That is the DM’s stance.

The DM retroactively said that that dungeon has lots of small tunnels and rooms on purpose: he actually built that duergar-built “fortress dungeon” fully with “Interpretation F” in mind.

Also, the DM made the duergar enlarge power “free” to use and not an “Action” to use. Basically, duergar can grow enlarged and immediately attack on their same turn. Monster Manual however seems to say otherwise? Anyway, that dungeon is full of very deadly traps that the perma-invisible duergars (they constantly short rest all day long to keep invisible, because you can somehow maintain your Concentration fulll time during a short rest?) just enlarge at exactly the right moment in order to auto-shove us into ridiculous damage traps (up to acid and lava pits and non-lootable vorpal wall blades and also “mordenkainen disjunction” traps), with of course being allowwed to make an attack too (making falling into a pit trap, or taking the trap’s weapon damage a second time “as you get whacked all around inside the swift moving blades of the trap even more”, becoming a neear certainty (DM makes the save DC based on the total damage they deal). Basically: Big Ouchie.

While a DM is allowed to run his campaign as he sees fit, he also insists that he is applying the rules “by the book”, so… as per RAW, is he really in any way in the right here? Please help?

Thanks!

dnd 5e – Can a wizard use his familiar’s senses to enlarge his “you can see” area?

Yes, you can teleport to somewhere your familiar sees provided that you are currently seeing through it’s eyes.

From the Find Familiar spell:

…as an action, you can see through your familiar’s eyes… (PHB 240)

If you’ve taken the action to see through your familiar’s eyes, and then cast Misty Step, then yes, you can teleport to somewhere your familiar can see, provided that it’s not more than 30′ from your current location.

dnd 5e – Cast Enlarge on a vial of acid then Catapult it. 8X damage?

Enlarge/Reduce does nothing to change the damage of Vial of Acid.

Enlarge says:

The target’s size doubles in all dimensions, and its weight is multiplied by eight. This growth increases its size by one category– from Medium to Large, for example. If there isn’t enough room for the target to double its size, the creature or object attains the maximum possible size in the space available. Until the spell ends, the target also has advantage on Strength checks and Strength saving throws. The target’s weapons also grow to match its new size. While these weapons are enlarged, the target’s attacks with them deal 1d4 extra damage.

If you use Enlarge to enlarge a vial of acid, all it does is make it bigger. That’s it. It doesn’t change the damage, because nothing in the spell says it changes the damage. See here for more details on “spells only do what they say they do”: What is the source of the “spells do only what they say they do” rules interpretation principle?

This seems pretty intuitive from a balance perspective. Vials of Acid are 25 gp, Enlarge/Reduce is a 2nd level spell, and catapult is a 1st level spell. Combining these very early game features shouldn’t produce an effect more powerful that many 6th and 7th level spells.

Using catapult can deal 4d8, but doesn’t activate the acid.

Catapult, which has a casting time of 1 Action, says:

If the object would strike a creature, that creature must make a Dexterity saving throw. On a failed save, the object strikes the target and stops moving. When the object strikes something, the object and what it strikes each take 3d8 bludgeoning damage. [Up casting to 2nd level adds 1d8 damage.]

However, Vial of Acid says:

As an action, you can splash the contents of this vial onto a creature within 5 feet of you or throw the vial up to 20 feet, shattering it on impact. In either case, make a ranged attack against a creature or object, treating the acid as an improvised weapon. On a hit, the target takes 2d6 acid damage.

These are two entirely different features that both require an action and cannot be used at the same time. You cannot both catapult and get the acid damage. You must choose one.

animation – Unity-How can I enlarge the sprite to avoid the movement of the character when the pivot change?

Thanks for contributing an answer to Game Development Stack Exchange!

  • Please be sure to answer the question. Provide details and share your research!

But avoid

  • Asking for help, clarification, or responding to other answers.
  • Making statements based on opinion; back them up with references or personal experience.

Use MathJax to format equations. MathJax reference.

To learn more, see our tips on writing great answers.

dnd 5e – Magic Stone + Enlarge

Can a thrown magic pebble be a target to the enlarge spell? For that matter, can anything from an arrow to a hurled table become enlarged while in mid-air and if so how would you suggest fantasy physics would work on this?

The enlarge spell states that the target doubles in all sizes but the weight is times eight. Would the (stone, for example) maintain its velocity and hit the target with 8x its weight? We all know that F = m*a.
How would you suggest to handle this DMG wise?

As always thanks in advance my fellow Dungeoneers.

wcag – Is 200% browser enlarge an alternative for colors with contrast less than 4,51:1?

I have a website that has font size for body 14px. All the colors have contrast ratio of 3:1.

wgac 2.1 states that normal fonts should have a ratio of 4,51. But if the user zooms in the site, normal font becomes large. and therefore has contrast of 4,51.

dnd 5e – Does the Enlarge spell stack if it is cast multiple times?

Does the enlarge/reduce spell stack if it is cast multiple times?

In my campaign my character and party want to know if it is possible to cause our barbarian to become huge in size (two enlarge spells). If so that’d be amazing but I can definitely see how it’d be too busted with the extra size, range, damage, and all that.