linux – Howto redirect cheese webcam effect to new video device

I am on ubuntu 20.04, but v4l2 package is not working: so I installed it from here

git clone git@github.com:umlaeute/v4l2loopback

make

sudo insmod v4l2loopback.ko exclusive_caps=1 video_nr=1 card_label="Fake"

now I can see “Fake” webcam with black screen in discord… how do I go on from here, using e. g. ffmpeg, in order to see the cheese webcam effect as new “Fake” webcam? It has to be a simple /dev/video0 to /dev/video1 streaming, but I cannot accomplish it.

dnd 5e – Are creatures aware of the effect of Mirror of Life Trapping?

It’s up to the DM.

It’s up to the DM to decide what the player experiences, and to then relate that experience to the rules for perceiving magical effects. In this case, we have this rule concerning spells from the Player’s Handbook:

Unless a spell has a perceptible effect, a creature might not know it was targeted by a spell at all. An effect like crackling lightning is obvious, but a more subtle effect, such as an attempt to read a creature’s thoughts, typically goes unnoticed, unless a spell says otherwise.

Obviously this is talking about spells, but it should be obvious that it applies to other magical effects. So it is up to the DM to decide what a player experiences when they look at the mirror. The item description does not say.

How would the same name for a website and Blogspot effect website SEO

I have a website (ex: www.example.com) and it contains a blog. Can I create a new Blogspot with example.blogspot.com for blog posting? How does this help SEO?

same name for website and blogspot effect website seo

I have a website

ex: www.myname.com and it contains a blog. can i create a new blogspot with mynames.blogspot.com for blog posting. how does this help?

dnd 5e – Does a spellcaster know when their spell has no effect due to a save or immunity?

On page 85-86 of Xanathar’s Guide to Everything, Invalid spell targets, there’s a ruling that would seem somewhat relevant to this issue:

A spell specifies what a caster can target with it: any type of
creature, a creature of a certain type (humanoid or beast, for
instance), an object, an area, the caster, or something else. But what
happens if a spell targets something that isn’t a valid target? For
example, someone might cast charm person on a creature believed to be
a humanoid, not knowing that the target is in fact a vampire. If this
issue comes up, handle it using the following rule.

If you cast a spell on someone or something that can’t
be affected by the spell, nothing happens to that target,
but if you used a spell slot to cast the spell, the slot is
still expended. If the spell normally has no effect on a
target that succeeds on a saving throw, the invalid target
appears to have succeeded on its saving throw, even
though it didn’t attempt one
(giving no hint that the creature is in fact an invalid target). Otherwise, you perceive
that the spell did nothing to the target.

Emphasis mine.

The only caveat of the above rule is that it specifically refers to invalid targets, not immune ones. It even uses an example of trying to use a spell targeting humanoids on a non-humanoid in disguise, thus an invalid target by the spell’s targeting rules and not due to the target’s innate immunity. A rakshasa is a creature, and thus still a valid target for spells like Zone of Truth. As such, this might not be applicable strictly RAW.

As for RAI, I’d still say it sets the precedent that DM could always hide any sort of immunity they do not wish to explicitly reveal to the players behind the guise of a successful save.

How do you get the administrator effect off your computer so nothing is bloced on your computer

Is there anyway to remove the administrator or like overpower it
I have look everywhere but it seems like there is no possible way

dnd 3.5e – How does combining eldritch essence and shape with metamagic feats effect the spell level?

In the Complete Arcane, page 9, it indicates:

When
a warlock uses both kinds of invocations to alter an eldritch
blast, the spell level equivalent is equal to the spell level of
the eldritch blast, the level of the eldritch essence invocation, or the level of the blast shape invocation, whichever
is higher.

Therefore if a warlock combines Eldritch Chain (Shape – 4th level) as well as Brimstone Blast (Essence – 3rd level), it will be as if casting a 4th level spell if I am understanding correctly since shape and essence levels don’t stack together, and just take the whichever is higher.

Using Maximize spell-like ability on Eldritch blast requires CL to be at least 6 since, Eldritch blast is a 1st level spell and the formula is ((CL/2) – 2).

By that, can a 6th level warlock cast Eldritch Chain with Brimstone essence combined with Maximize spell like ability? Or do I need to re-calculate the spell according to maximize-spell like abilities formula, which would require CL 12?

dnd 5e – Engulfed while Gust of Wind is in effect

The spell stays, but only the cube is affected by it while you are engulfed

Why?

The key parts from the spell are:

A line of strong wind 60 feet long and 10 feet wide blasts from you in
a direction you choose for the spell’s duration. Each creature that
starts its turn in the line must succeed on a Strength saving throw or
be pushed 15 feet away from you in a direction following the line.

So we know the spell comes from you, rather than some point in the distance. The duration is also 1 minute, but it does require concentration.

Assuming you pass your concentration save from the damage you took while being engulfed, there is nothing written to say that the spell stops, so it doesn’t. None of the conditions engulf imposes would stop you concentrating either (for example if you were incapacitated that prevents concentration, but this is just restrained and not being able to breath has no specific effect on concentration).

Then we look at the effects of the spell, but the important part is that spells need line of sight to their target, and line of sight in D&D needs to be unobstructed, so even a window counts as an obstruction. The cube is as clear as a window, but also ‘solid’ so would count as an obstruction preventing the spell from targeting anything beyond it. Effectively the cube counts as a wall for these purposes.

The spell is still active however, so the cube still has to succeed on a Strength saving throw or be pushed away from you.

But engulf doesn’t mention that as a method to escape!

Well this is a case of specific beats general. The general rule for engulf is:

An engulfed creature can try to escape by taking an action to make a
DC 12 Strength check.

But your spell has a more specific effect, and if the cube took you with it then that would not count as being pushed away from you.

Addendum

The spell is a single gust which you can repeat as a bonus action, and the targets are decided at the instant the bonus action is used. This means that even if the cube is pushed away from you the targets behind that might also be in range would be unaffected, because the could not be targeted at the start of the turn. The narrative would be that the cube takes the full force of the blast.

pathfinder 1e – Can you wear a Mithral Chain over Snakeskin Tunic and have their effect stack?

Two armor bonuses does not stack, everything else will

Bonuses with the same name or from the same source do not stack, as explained on the glossary:

Bonuses are numerical values that are added to checks and statistical scores. Most bonuses have a type, and as a general rule, bonuses of the same type are not cumulative (do not “stack”)—only the greater bonus granted applies.

The important aspect of bonus types is that two bonuses of the same type don’t generally stack. With the exception of dodge bonuses, most circumstance bonuses, and racial bonuses, only the better bonus of a given type works. Bonuses without a type always stack, unless they are from the same source.

That means two armor bonuses will not stack, only the highest will be applied, two natural armor bonuses will not stack, two deflection bonuses will not stack, and so on.

If you look at this image from the SRD, you will see that the Snakeskin Tunic uses the Chest magic item slot, while the Mithral Shirt uses the Armor magic item slot.

Magic Item Body Slots

Each slot can only gain the benefits of a single magic item, but your character will benefit from all magic items from all those slots at once, assuming the other rules are respected (like stacking bonuses).

When a character wears a slotted wondrous item he cannot gain the benefit from a wondrous items of the same slot until the first item is removed. Of course, a character may carry or possess any number of slotted items of the same type, but additional items have no effect until they are worn.

In other words, your character will gain the benefit of both magic items (except for the armor bonus).

dnd 5e – Can a creature under the effect of a Discord Symbol perform verbal spell components?

They should not be, though of course it’s up to the DM

Verbal components are described as this:

Most spells require the chanting of mystic words. The words themselves aren’t the source of the spell’s power; rather, the particular combination of sounds, with specific pitch and resonance, sets the threads of magic in motion. Thus, a character who is gagged or in an area of silence, such as one created by the silence spell, can’t cast a spell with a verbal component.

Now, when we look at discord, there are two key points that I see that seem to confirm to me that verbal components would be impossible to perform

The first thing to look at is why you are unable to perform meaningful conversation:

a target bickers and argues with other creatures for 1 minute

So, you are reduced to bickering and arguing with other creatures for a minute. Considering the time needed to cast a spell, if you needed to perform a verbal component then you couldn’t be arguing and bickering with others while casting that spell, and the words and sounds needed to cast the spell probably aren’t random lines in a nonsensical argument.

The second thing to look at is the words “Meaningful Conversation”. While this does specify conversation, conversation consists of the words that you speak that are simply directed at another person, and the words needed for a verbal component are very specific and meaningful words, they just aren’t directed at a person. As such, it only makes sense that if you can’t speak those specific magical words to another person, you aren’t going to be speaking them at all.

While none of this is necessarily an explanation supported by the RAW of the spell, it is not denied by it either. As such, it seems clear that with how the spell is intended to work, A creature can not reasonably cast a spell using a verbal component while under the effects of ‘Discord’