dnd 5e – How do you determine a druid’s eligibility to use Elven Accuracy’s reroll while in Wild Shape (assuming they do have advantage)?

Consider a druid that has the Elven Accuracy racial feat (available to Elves and Half-Elves). Among other things, this feat says:

Whenever you have advantage on an attack roll using Dexterity, Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma, you can reroll one of the dice once. (XGtE, pg. 74)

As discussed here, when in Wild Shape:

You retain the benefit of any features from your class, race, or other source and can use them if the new form is physically capable of doing so. (PHB, pg. 67)

Because of this, Elven Accuracy should apply to any attacks made while in Wild Shape.

However, beasts’ stat blocks don’t explicitly say which ability is being used in an attack. For example, the Wolf’s bite attack simply says it’s +4 to hit and does 2d4+2 piercing damage.

Now, it may be possible to deduce which ability was used. In the case of the Wolf, from a +2 damage bonus, we can guess that that relevant ability score modifier is equal to that bonus (+2). This would be consistent with +4 to hit if the wolf has a proficiency bonus of +2 (since +2+2=+4), which it does (according to its stat block). As a mundane attack, the Wolf must have used Strength or Dexterity, but the Wolf’s Strength is only +1 while its Dexterity is +2. Therefore the Wolf used Dexterity.

In contrast, a similar line of reasoning with the Dire Wolf leads to the conclusion that it uses Strength to power its bite attack.

So a druid in Wolf shape should be able to apply Elven Accuracy, but a druid in Dire Wolf shape should not.

Is this the correct way to determine a druid’s eligibility to use Elven Accuracy’s reroll while in Wild Shape?

It seems awfully convoluted…

dnd 5e – Which healing spells benefit from the Circle of Stars druid’s “Chalice” Starry Form?

The Circle of Stars druid’s Starry Form feature (TCoE, p. 38-39) lets the druid expend a use of Wild Shape to enter a starry form, choosing a constellation to glimmer on their body that grants certain benefits. The Chalice option grants the following benefit:

A constellation of a life-giving goblet appears on you. Whenever you
cast a spell using a spell slot that restores hit points to a
creature, you or another creature within 30 feet of you can regain hit
points equal to 1d8 + your Wisdom modifier.

Which healing spells benefit from/interact with the “Chalice” Starry Form?

It’s obvious how some healing spells (e.g. cure wounds or healing word) interact with it, and so I don’t think I need clarification on them – but some others are less obvious to me.

For instance, the goodberry spell creates berries that can be eaten within the next 24 hours to restore 1 HP to the creature:

Up to ten berries appear in your hand and are infused with magic for the duration. A creature can use its action to eat one berry. Eating a berry restores 1 hit point, and the berry provides enough nourishment to sustain a creature for one day.

Meanwhile, the healing spirit spell creates an intangible spirit that you can cause to heal a creature in the same space (XGtE, p. 157):

You call forth a nature spirit to soothe the wounded. The intangible
spirit appears in a space that is a 5-foot cube you can see within
range. The spirit looks like a transparent beast or fey (your choice).

Until the spell ends, whenever you or a creature you can see moves
into the spirit’s space for the first time on a turn or starts its
turn there, you can cause the spirit to restore 1d6 hit points to that
creature (no action required). The spirit can’t heal constructs or
undead. The spirit can heal a number of times equal to 1 + your
spellcasting ability modifier (minimum of twice). After healing that
number of times, the spirit disappears.

Finally, the aura of vitality spell creates an aura that moves with you and lets you use a bonus action to heal an ally in the aura (PHB, p. 216):

Healing energy radiates from you in an aura with a 30-foot radius.
Until the spell ends, the aura moves with you, centered on you. You
can use a bonus action to cause one creature in the aura (including
you) to regain 2d6 hit points.

(Aura of vitality isn’t normally on the druid spell list, but it’s added to the druid spell list by the “Additional Druid Spells” optional class feature (TCoE, p. 35).)

None of these 3 spells immediately heals a character at the moment it’s cast, but each one creates an effect that can then heal a creature. Do these qualify for the benefit of the Chalice form?

dnd 5e – Does the Wild Companion optional class feature for druids let them use spell slots to cast the Find Familiar spell?

You cannot cast find familiar using a spell slot unless you learn the spell as usual

The Wild Companion optional class feature for druids states (TCoE, p. 35-36):

You gain the ability to summon a spirit that assumes an animal form: as an action, you can expend a use of your Wild Shape feature to cast the find familiar spell, without material components. (…)

It states what ability you gain and then lists exactly how that ability manifests itself – the only way that you can summon a spirit is by expending a use of Wild Shape. If the feature also let you cast the spell using spell slots, then it would state that (likely by having the spell be always prepared, not count against your number of prepared spells, and count as a druid spell).

The Wild Companion feature gives you one specific way of casting the find familiar spell, and does not allow for casting the spell by any means other than expending a use of Wild Shape.

dnd 5e – Does a Shepherd Druid’s Mighty Summoner apply to creatures transformed by polymorph?

Does the language used in the Mighty Summoner feature, “Summoned OR Created”, allow the ability to apply to a player transformed by polymorph?

Does polymorph, which reads, “This spell transforms a creature that you can see within range into a new form”, count as creating a beast?

dnd 5e – Does a Shepherd Druids Mighty Summoner apply to creatures transformed by polymorph?

What im wondering is if the language used in the feature “Summoned OR Created” would allow it to apply to a player transformed by polymorph. Does polymorph, which reads, “This spell transforms a creature that you can see within range into a new form.” count as creating a beast?

dnd 5e – Does Power Word Kill kill druids in wild-shape?

In my opinion, Rules as Written, the Druid would not die. This is supported by the actual text. Unlike the current top answer for this question, there is nothing in the text to support the idea that Power Word: Kill “bypasses” Wild Shape. There is no separation or distinction between the Druid and Wild Shape. You can’t target one without affecting the other.

  1. The Druid under Wild Shape gains the effects of what’s written in the text of the ability (same with Polymorph spell). This includes the effect that the Druid (or person under the effects of the polymorph spell) would revert back to their natural form with the same number of hit points they had BEFORE they were under the effects of Wild Shape or Polymorph. The trigger for this effect is if they would be reduced to 0hp or die.

  2. Since Power Word Kill specifies that they would cause someone to die, it would trigger the effect of Wild Shape or Polymorph and revert the druid (or person affected by Polymorph) to return to their original form with a number of hp they had before they were Wild Shaped or Polymorphed.

I understand that Jeremy Crawford Tweeted about this, however the actual text of the book does not support this statement. Perhaps that was the rules as intended, but it is not the rules as written.

In order to conform to what Jeremy wrote, the clause in Wild Shape and Polymorph that includes death as a trigger should be removed. That is the only way I can see that would support this interpretation.

Just going to re-post Jeremy Crawford’s response on Twitter below:

*Bobby the Barbarian: If a druid wildshapes into a wolf and is then targeted with power word kill does the druid revert dead or alive?

Jeremy Crawford: If you have 100 hp or fewer, power word kill causes you to die. Notice that it doesn’t say you drop to 0 hp.

Airatome118: So what is PHB pg. 66 “You automatically revert if…..drop to 0hp, or Die .” telling us? Form dies, Druid reverts, yes?

Jeremy Crawford: Beast form ends if the druid dies; things like power word kill can end you without reducing hit points.”*

The problem with this exchange is that Jeremy seemingly makes no indication he remembered/realized that Wild Shape and Polymorph triggers on when the Druid dies as well as if they would reach 0hp. He only mentions the 0hp trigger.

Though I appreciate Jeremy’s answer, I would have to very much disagree that this is a correct ruling as the text within the book does not support this statement and I have reason to think he simply forgot or wasn’t paying attention to the fact that Wild Shape and Polymorph have a second trigger, not just from reaching 0hp.

So, again, the only way to support the idea that the Druid would die as a result of Power Word Death or would be if the clause where you automatically revert if you die is removed. Because that is literally the only kind of stuff that the clause of the power CAN affect. Not a whole lot of things out there just outright kill you. Wild Shape and Polymorph specifically address this.

dnd 5e – Is the star chart a material component for the Guidance and Guiding Bolt spells from the Circle of Stars druid’s Star Map feature?

It must be held in hand, but it is unclear if it counts as a material component.

The feature description is clear that you must be holding the star chart:

While holding this map:

But, this does not necessarily make it a material component. The Artificer’s spellcasting feature explicitly tells us that all Artificer spells have a material component:

You produce your artificer spell effects through your tools. You must have a spellcasting focus—specifically thieves’ tools or some kind of artisan’s tool—in hand when you cast any spell with this Spellcasting feature (meaning the spell has an ‘M’ component when you cast it).

It is unclear if this applies uniquely to the Artificer, or if the same logic applies to the Stars druid as well. This rule for the Artificer seems to set up a definition that may be applicable elsewhere. That is, that a requirement to hold something in hand to cast the spell means the spell has a material requirement.

It’s up to the DM.

dnd 5e – Can you foresee any balance issue with a Stars Druid using the Cleric spell list instead of the Druid’s?

I have a homebrew campaign where tinkering with class mechanics is encouraged to suit your character, I just want to make sure it isn’t horribly unbalanced.

I have an idea for a divination/stars/universe/fate obsessed character, lumbering, slow, strong, wise, warm. Heavy armour melee/mid-field support. However, I don’t really like the Twilight Domain’s Channel Divinity, so instead I looked at the Circle of Stars Druid.

Would it be unbalancing to allow this druid character to have the Cleric spell list instead of the Druid’s. My goal would be to allow the character to have the Cleric’s spells coupled with the features provided by the Circle of Stars.

dnd 5e – Does Gentle Repose work on a Circle of Spore Druid’s Fungal Infestation Ability?

It’s fine if that corpse is part of an undead creature, or a macabre decoration, or fresh, or really really old. Gentle Repose requires only ‘a corpse or other remains’ and places no limits on the state those must be in, beyond those inherent in the words themselves. If you wanted to Gentle Respose a fossil or something, that might be debatable, but since zombies are so iconically defined as walking corpses that shouldn’t be a problem here.

Gentle Repose prevents a corpse from becoming undead. Fungal Infestation, since it gives a creature the statistics of a Zombie and one of those is being undead, makes a corpse undead. So you can’t do Gentle Repose first.

The zombie still has a corpse as part of its body, so you can totally cast Gentle Repose on that part of it. That prevents it from becoming an undead creature, which it probably couldn’t already on account of already being part of one, but doesn’t stop it from continuing to be one currently. It also extends the time you have to cast Raise Dead et al. on the corpse for a while, as per usual, though you will have to wait the 1 hour for the zombie to die first (or kill it yourself, or use really powerful resurrection magics).

There isn’t a whole lot of reason to do this, but there isn’t anything stopping you from doing it either, at least from a strict and largely favorable RAW interpretation scheme. In less favorable interpretations, Gentle Repose‘s “protect(ion) from decay” may well bode poorly for your fungus-controlled zombie.

dnd 5e – When do Druids gain the ability to cast each spell level?

In order to cast a spell of level x you need a spell slot of at least x in order to cast it.

Your max spell slot level as a full caster can be calculated by adding 1 to your character level then dividing by two.

Hence level 3 spellcasters can cast 2nd level spells, for example.

Another way to figure this out is to open up your Player’s Handbook and look at the Druid class. On the table that shows when you get class features, it also shows you your spell slot progression.

Note: this works a little differently when you are multiclassing

When multiclassing, your maximum spell slots are determined by your effective spellcaster level. This is calculated by adding the number of class levels of full casters (bard, druid, sorcerer, wizard, cleric), number of levels/2 of Half-caster levels (paladin, ranger), and the number of levels/3 of 1/3 casters (trickster, Eldritch knight).

So a character who has cleric 3/druid 5, could prepare up to 2nd level cleric spells and up to 3rd level druid spells. They can cast any of these spells using up to 4th level spell slot. This can be figured out using the Multiclass Spellcaster table in the PHB or by using the formula above: (3 + 5 + 1)/2 = 4.