Is email marketing dead or dying?

Advertising

y u no do it?

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

dnd 5e – Can I stack the duration time of Animate Dead?

The duration of Animate Dead giving you control is effectively 24 hours.

The regular duration of Animate Dead is instantaneous, this means that you create the undead instantaneously (after the casting time of 1 minute), but the duration of the control effect is 24 hours.

The creature is under your control for 24 hours, after which it stops
obeying any command you’ve given it

Under normal circumstances you use it to animate undead from a corpse:

This spell creates an undead servant. Choose a pile of bones or a corpse of a Medium or Small humanoid within range.

But it also specifically allows you to assert control over undead that you have already created with this spell, as long as you do it before the current 24 hour period ends:

To maintain control of the creature for another 24 hours, you must
cast this spell on the creature again before the current 24-hour
period ends.

This requires you to cast the spell again, and the control effect again has a total duration of 24 hours. As it overlaps with the old control effect, so it takes effect for a total of 24 hours after you cast the spell, without combing the duration time of the prior effect as the equally potent but most recent effect.

Combining Magical Effects:

The effects of different spells add together while the durations of
those spells overlap. The effects of the same spell cast multiple
times don’t combine, however. Instead, the most potent effect — such
as the highest bonus — from those castings applies while their
durations overlap, or the most recent effect applies if the castings
are equally potent and their durations overlap.


If you fail to re-cast the spell once within 24 hours, then the undead you created become an invalid target for the spell. Once you lose control, it is gone, and it lasts only 24 hours from the last time you cast the spell.

dnd 5e – Can i stack the extra time of Animate Dead?

Animate Dead can reassert control over undead you created. It spells:

The creature is under your control for 24 hours, after which it stops
obeying any command you’ve given it. To maintain control of the
creature for another 24 hours, you must cast this spell on the
creature again before the current 24-hour period ends. This use of the
spell reasserts your control over up to four creatures you have
animated with this spell, rather than animating a new one.

The spell says “another” 24h, which means, that the timespan is added to the existing time, if i understand that correctly.

Could i cast Animate Dead to animate a Skeleton and then right after cast it another time, to add another 24h, to a total of 48h?
How much could i stack that?

I would rather make sure, that my Undead stay under my control, instead of having a small army with them.

Marketing is dead, need new ideas

Hi, i have been in this field for more than a decade now and as of now i feel that amrketting is done. The online workspace is so saturated that there is hardly any room to work with and with rapid digitisation has only worsen the situation. I am looking for ideas that would enhance my online presence, feel free to provide feedback

dnd 5e – Are there any effects in the game that would cause a necromancer to lose control over the undead he created with animate dead?

Animate Dead says

The creature is under your control for 24 hours, after which it stops obeying any command you’ve given it. To maintain control of the creature for another 24 hours, you must cast this spell on the creature again before the current 24-hour period ends. This use of the spell reasserts your control over up to four creatures you have animated with this spell, rather than animating a new one.

Animate Dead does not use concentration. It does not have a “duration”, so it can’t be dispelled. And other than the undead being passive when not being issued a command, it appears that even if the caster becomes unconscious, he doesn’t lose control over the created skeletons or zombies.

There are effects in the game like the Oathbreaker’s Control Undead, or a Charm Monster spell, which can presumably wrestle control over a skeleton created with Animate Dead away from the necromancer. But is there any effect in the game (other than the 24 hours running out) which would cause a necromancer to lose control over all the undead he made and controlled with Animate Dead?

dnd 5e – Multiple instances of the spell of Animate Dead and bonus action scope

If you cast Animate Dead, that allows you to use a bonus action to command any creature you made from “this spell”. Do multiple instances of the effects created by the spell named Animate Dead apply to “this spell”, or only one instance of the effects created by “this spell”?

That is, does “this spell” refer to the instance of the spell you cast when you cast it, or does it generally refer to the spell in name and all instances of that spell name whenever it is cast?

On each of your turns, you can use a bonus action to mentally command any creature you made with this spell if the creature is within 60 feet of you (if you control multiple creatures, you can command any or all of them at the same time, issuing the same command to each one).

Same question applies for multiple spells of Create Undead or multiple castings of any similar and singular spell name.

Similar question answered here:
Can I command both Ghouls and Zombies/Skeletons with one bonus action?

It seems entirely ambiguous to me and no clear direction to lean towards. I know of no good comparisons that do have clear RAW or RAI. The difference of interpretations is extremely substantial, potentially 14 vs 98 creatures. Further, I could not find this question asked anywhere else on the internet.

dnd 5e – Multiple castings of Animate Dead and bonus action scope

If you cast Animate Dead, that allows you to use a bonus action to command any creature you made from “this spell”. Do multiple instances of casting Animate Dead apply to “this spell”, or only one instance of “this spell”?

That is, does “this spell” refer to the instance of the spell you cast, or does it generally refer to the spell in name?

On each of your turns, you can use a bonus action to mentally command any creature you made with this spell if the creature is within 60 feet of you (if you control multiple creatures, you can command any or all of them at the same time, issuing the same command to each one).

Same question applies for multiple castings of Create Undead or multiple castings of any similar and singular spell name.

Similar question answered here:
Can I command both Ghouls and Zombies/Skeletons with one bonus action?

It seems entirely ambiguous to me and no clear direction to lean towards. I know of no good comparisons that do have clear RAW or RAI. The difference of interpretations is extremely substantial, potentially 14 vs 98 creatures. Further, I could not find this question asked anywhere else on the internet.

rom flashing – Emdoor EM TS809 Dead Boot – KCOLO point wanted to revive

Flashing with a bad firmware to this tablet became completely unresponsive and does not switch on. M/B marks report that is created from Emdoor and its model is EM TS809.

https://www.globalsources.com/Voice-activated-speaker/MT8167-EM-TS809_R70-1173578814p.htm#1173578814

I tried to revive it, by shorting GND and KCOLO joints and reflashing with SP Tools. Unfortunately, joints do not have descriptions so I tried every joint without voltage. None of them worked. Does anyone know if this M/B has KCOLO or just COLO/KOLO joint?

enter image description here

enter image description here

dnd 5e – Can you use animate dead on something that was previously animated by the same spell?

As you’ve quoted, the spell requires (my emphasis):

a pile of bones or a corpse of a Medium or Small humanoid within range.

Once a dead humanoid is turned into a skeleton or zombie, they are no longer humanoids, but undead. Their form may be that of a humanoid, but their creature type is not. When creature types are mentioned, such as in this spell, that is the requirement.

A pile of bones that was previously an undead is now a corpse of an undead zombie or skeleton – not a corpse of an dead humanoid.

As they no longer have the humanoid type, they are no longer valid targets for animate dead.

Without a mechanic that all undead creatures who were once humanoid revert to being a humanoid at death, their creature type remains from what they were when they died: undead.

It could be interpreted as a (pile of bones) is completely separate from (a corpse of a small or medium humanoid), but that seems kinda strange.

It means you could take the corpse of a large humanoid, remove the flesh, and now all of a sudden it’s a legit target? That doesn’t seem like the intent and the reading that the bones or corpse must be of a medium or small humanoid makes more sense.

GM’s choice

As always, a GM can allow the reanimation of the bones or corpse of an undead. I don’t think it’d be massively imbalanced, and would help those who use those types of spells to re-use their undead army.

This is also supported by the published guidance in the Sage Advice Compendium that states:

(NEW) Can I cast animate dead on the humanoid-shaped corpse of an undead creature such as a zombie or a ghast? When animate dead targets a corpse, the body must have belonged to a creature of the humanoid creature type. If the spell targets a pile of bones, there is no creature type restriction; the bones become a skeleton.

dnd 5e – Is there a RAW way to resurrect the dead as an undead slave without changing its stats?

This does depend heavily on your setting, specifically the details of “what exactly happens to your soul when it dies?” I don’t know the answer to that question for any official setting, but if you’re the DM then you get to choose for your setting. As long as the answer is something like “Your soul travels to a specific plane, and becomes a Celestial, Elemental, Fiend, or Fey, but retains all other statistics” then this method shouldn’t require any fudging of the actual rules, and should work for the players just as well if they choose. I will note that it doesn’t actually involve any necromancy spells though.

Step 1: Getting the creature

The 9th level Conjuration spell Gate has this option:

When you cast this spell, you can speak the name of a specific creature (a pseudonym, title, or nickname doesn’t work). If that creature is on a plane other than the one you are on, the portal opens in the named creature’s immediate vicinity and draws the creature through it to the nearest unoccupied space on your side of the portal. You gain no special power over the creature, and it is free to act as the GM deems appropriate. It might leave, attack you, or help you.

This is where “Other planes as afterlife” is important; if souls go somewhere other than a plane then this doesn’t work in the official rules. That said, as long as the creature is on another plane this spell doesn’t seem to even allow a saving throw. A way to make this somewhat limited for players but not out of reach is that the true name of ancient heroes may be difficult to find, and the Bad Guy only managed after years of “off-screen” research.

Step 2: Containing the creature

So your Legendary Hero is now in front of the Big Bad Necromancer Guy. Generally speaking such a situation is actually not beneficial to the Bad Guy’s plans, so it’s important to contain the Hero until Step 3 is done. The ideal spell for this purpose is the 3rd level Abjuration spell Magic Circle, with its inverted mode:

When you cast this spell, you can elect to cause its magic to operate in the reverse direction, preventing a creature of the specified type from leaving the cylinder and protecting targets outside it.

It also needs to be cast at 4th level or higher to actually work for step 3, and it’s better to cast it at as high a level as you can. This is the first place where the soul having the type Celestial, Elemental, Fiend, or Fey comes in, though Undead would work here if you choose an alternative option for step 3. There may be other methods of protecting the Bad Guy, but this one is approximately tailor-made for the purpose especially if the Hero doesn’t have teleportation or interplanar travel in their stat block.

Step 3: Binding the creature

The best spell for this purpose is Planar Binding, a 5th level Abjuration spell. The casting time is 1 hour, which is why Magic Circle needs to be cast at 4th level; it must be cast before the Gate, but Planar Binding must start casting after the Gate so there would be at least 1 round when the Hero is not contained by the Magic Circle or affected by Planar Binding. Higher levels of Magic Circle allow the Bad Guy to make cast Planar Binding multiple times if the Hero succeeds on the saving throw.

Planar Binding should also be cast at as high a level as possible; a 9th level Planar Binding lasts for a year and a day, giving plenty of time for the Bad Guy to wreak havoc and then order their unwilling servant to return so the Binding can be renewed for the following year. As long as the initial saving throw fails the Hero must follow the Bad Guy’s orders for the duration though it technically has some free will as long as it doesn’t contradict the Bad Guy’s orders.

This is where the main creature type restriction comes in: only Celestials, Elementals, Fey, and Fiends can be affected by Planar Binding. If you want the souls of the dead to be Undead creatures then Magic Circle will still work but you’ll need to deal with one of the Step 3 Alternatives. If you want some other creature type then you need to find your own Step 2 alternative as well (there are a lot of options for “keep someone imprisoned” so I’m not going to try to list them all).

Step 3 alternatives:

If you don’t want dead souls to have one of the four listed creature types for Planar Binding, some of these alternatives might work well enough for your purposes:

  • Mass Suggestion doesn’t give such fine control, but phrasing something reasonable like “My secret ritual is necessary to save the world, so you should protect me from anyone who tries to stop it” might be close enough. At 9th level this lasts for a year and a day just like 9th level Planar Binding. Note that regular Suggestion does not get an extended duration from upcasting, so Mass Suggestion must be used even if you only target one creature.
  • Modify Memory could work if you cast it enough. At 9th level it can modify any portion of a creature’s memory as needed, replacing real memories with false ones that would make following the Bad Guy seem reasonable. However, each casting only modifies 10 minutes at a time; the Bad Guy will need a LOT of 9th level spell slots to rewrite the Hero’s full history. Some more nuanced applications could cut that down by a lot, but that’s more of a DM-fiat situation.
  • Magic Jar isn’t quite there but could be close enough for your purposes and is notable as the only option that involves any Necromancy. It requires that the Hero be Humanoid rather than any of the previously discussed creature types. It doesn’t fully retain the Hero’s statistics though, instead the result has some statistics from the caster and some from the target, but still a “real character sheet” rather than just a generic stat block. This version also grants the most complete control, completely supplanting the Hero’s will, and also has “until dispelled” duration rather than needing periodic refreshes. On the other hand, the caster’s body is left catatonic, so it’s not much of a “servant” as it is a disguise.
  • As-written Geas probably isn’t good enough, but it is the type of spell used for this purpose. With a Geas you issue instructions for the duration, which can be indefinite at 9th level. The problem with Geas is that it doesn’t actually force the target to follow those instructions, it just punishes them for not doing so. I personally find it unlikely that a Legendary Hero would do the bidding of a Bad Guy just to avoid some damage.