dnd 5e: if you have a negative spell casting ability modifier, how much damage can the green flame blade do to the second target below level 5?

The description of the green flame leaf Cantrip (SCAG, p. 143) says:

As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must perform a melee attack with a weapon against a creature within the range of the spell, otherwise the spell fails. In a blow, the target suffers the normal effects of the attack, and the green fire jumps from the target to a different creature of its choice that can see less than 5 feet from it. The second creature takes fire damage equal to your spell casting ability modifier.

Let's say you have a negative spell casting ability modifier; For example, your ability to cast spells is Intelligence, and you have an Intelligence modifier -1. Spears green flame leaf (and your character is below the 5th level). How much damage does the second creature suffer? None, -1, or round to 1 damage?

dnd 5e – Interaction between casting spells and attack action

So here is my question, let's say I have a spell like flame arrows, lightning arrow or absorb elements, these spells are cast before making an attack, but deal damage when an attack occurs.
When the attack charged with the spell hits, does this count as a spell for other mechanical purposes?

So, for example, if I had the elementary feat for fire or lightning and made an attack loaded with one of these spells; let's say that I then roll a 1 on the damage dice done for the attack, if the elementary adept applies this damage roll it now counts as a 2 and undermines the resistance to his element.

Personally, I am not sure, since this is a case of edge in which it is not clear if the spells in progress historically confer their spell status when taking the attack action.

Also, do magic damage rolls made due to magic items count?

dnd 5e: What happens if you finish the concentration in a spell with a long casting time without your concentration breaking?

Certain characteristics depend on the "breaking" concentration rather than simply ending. To show the difference, first there is the "Concentration" section of the rules that set:

(…) If you lose concentration, such a spell ends (…)

Keep in mind that this applies to any method to lose concentration. Then there is the conjure elemental spell, which includes the following:

(…) If your concentration is broken, the elementary does not disappear. Instead, he loses control of the elemental, becomes hostile towards you and your peers, and can attack (…)

Keep in mind that Jeremy Crawford has ruled unofficially (tweeted) about this, stating:

Deliberately ending your concentration in a D&D spell is not the same as breaking your concentration. In the concentration rules (PH, 203), voluntarily ending your concentration is not intentionally on the list of things that can break your concentration.

He has also tweeted monitoring:

The distinction between voluntarily ending your concentration and breaking your concentration is only relevant when a rule tells you that it is relevant. The elementary spell spell is a rare case of the distinction that has meaning, which is detailed in the spell.

The list to which it refers is that of the "Concentration" section, which states:

(…) The following factors can break the concentration:

  • Cast another spell that requires concentration. (…)
  • Taking damage. (…)
  • Be incapacitated or killed (…)

Therefore, it seems fair to say that the concentration can end but not break, for example, if a caster decides to stop concentrating on a spell.

The section on "Longer Release Times" only tells us what happens when the concentration is broken:

When you cast a spell with a longer casting time than a single action or reaction, you must pass your action each turn to cast the spell, and you must stay focused while doing so. If your concentration is broken, the spell fails, but you don't spend a spell space.

It doesn't explain what happens when your concentration it ends but it hasn't broken.

So what happens if you are casting a spell with a longer casting time and choose to stop concentrating? Or maybe the premise is flawed, and stop concentration on a spell like this make tell how to break your concentration; If that's the case, I'd like to know too.

Casting Civilization V based on a hexagonal grid in Unity Terrain and select certain areas of the grid

I am looking for an approach to launch a hex-based grid on a terrain that is prefabricated for now, but it will eventually be procedural for my exploration game where you can scan the planet and the elements will be highlighted / the hexagonal grid will be selected. What could be the approach to make this type of hexadecimal grid since my terrain will be uneven?

I've seen approaches like mesh creation, the use of mosaic maps, unit projectors, but eventually I feel that this should be something using shaders, but what about the selection?

Can anyone guide me in the right direction?enter the description of the image here

Pathfinder 1e: Does casting the Ventriloquism spell in a Silence field allow you to cast in silence?

The silence says:

When casting this spell, complete silence prevails in the affected area. All sound stops: Conversation is impossible, spells with verbal components cannot be cast, and no noise comes out, enters or passes through the area. The spell can be cast at a point in space, but the effect is stationary unless it is cast on a moving object. The spell can focus on a creature, and the effect radiates from the creature and moves as it moves. A reluctant creature can attempt a Will's salvation to deny the spell and can use the Spell Resistance, if applicable. Objects in possession of a creature or magical objects that emit sound receive the benefits of saves and Spell Resistance, but unattended objects and points in space do not. Creatures in an area of ​​a silence spell are immune to sonic or language-based attacks, spells and effects.

To divide it into a simpler format of understanding (at least for me), silence avoids the following in your area:

  • Conversation
  • Cast spells with verbal components
  • Sound entering or leaving

This seems to make it impossible for ventriloquism to make the sound come from an area of ​​silence, but that is incorrect. Ventriloquism states:

You can make your voice (or any sound you can usually make vocally) seems to emit from another place. You can speak in any language you know. With regard to such voices and sounds, anyone who listens to the sound and makes a successful recording recognizes it as illusory (but still listens to it).

So, although it seems that his voice comes from the area of ​​silence, he is not really doing it. Then you could make it look like your voice comes from an area of ​​silence.


The answer is no. Silence prevents any sound from entering its area of ​​effect, which is what ventriloquism tries to do.

Similarly, you could not use ventriloquism to cast spells with a verbal component within an area of ​​silence for two reasons. One, because silence specifically forbids it, and two, because its voice still comes from the area of ​​silence for the purpose of the spell, ventriloquism simply makes it appear that it is not.

dnd 5e: Can a prepared action be taken after casting a spell, but before it causes damage?

This question was developed from the discussion in the comments of another P / R: "Can you use Shape Water in Tidal Wave?"

I'm not sure how spells work with a "snapshot" duration. Specifically, Do their effects also occur instantaneously?

An example where it matters:
If one prepares the spell stone wall and has the trigger be "when I see a ball of fire throwing myself at me, I'll block it with the spell, "when do they cast the stone wall spell out?

We know that prepared actions occur after its triggers, but there are (at least) two possibilities.

  1. The effects of ball of fire happen instantly, so you can throw stone wall Only later every part of the spell, even exploding and inflicting damage.

  2. The effects of ball of fire happen in a timed order, so you can throw stone wall immediately after any part of the spell, including the ball of fire coming towards you

Can you activate and take a prepared action after casting a spell, but before it causes damage?
Which (if any) of the two previous interpretations applies to spells with the "instantaneous" duration?

angular – Casting class with different number of attributes in typescript

I have 2 angular classes of which one inherits from the other. When wanting to match an object of the daughter class with one of the parent class, which already meets the defined attributes, I get an error in which it tells me that I cannot match the objects since the attributes of the daughter class are lost . How can I do to match the objects and then define the remaining attributes?

This is the parent class.

pregAbiertas : OpenQuestionParamsModel[];
idExamenContenedor : number;
titulo: string;
valor: number;
descripcion: string;
tieneAdjuntos: number;
idExamen: number;
idCurso: number;
posicion: number;
visible: number;

and these is the daughter class

id:number;
next:boolean = false;
prev:boolean = false;
editing:boolean = false;
answerDescription = false;
answers : OpenQuestionExamModel[] = [];

I am trying to do this.

let blockParam : BlockParamModel;
    let block:BlockModel = blockParam; 

but I get the following message: Type 'BlockParamModel' is missing the following properties from type 'BlockModel': id, next, prev, editing, and 2 more.

dnd 5e – Does keeping a spell with a longer casting time count as casting a spell?

The section on "Longer Casting Times" states:

When you cast a spell with a longer casting time than a single action or reaction, you must spend your action each turn cast the spell

I wonder if spending your action in this way really counts as casting a spell for the purposes of features such as the following:

The characteristic of the Arcane Room of the Abjuration Assistant says:

When you cast an abjuration spell 1st level or higher, the room recovers a number of hit points equal to twice the level of the spell …

The Battle Magic feature of Valor Bard says:

When you use your action to cast a bard spell, you can make a weapon attack as an additional action …

The elemental affinity characteristic of the sorcerer states:

From the sixth level, when you cast a spell that deals damage of the type associated with your draconian ancestry, add your Charisma modifier to that damage.

The characteristic of the blessed healer of the cleric of life says:

When you cast a spell First level or higher that restores hit points to a creature other than you, recovers hit points equal to 2 + the level of the spell.

The Wild Magic Sorcerer & # 39; s Wild Magic Surge feature says:

Immediately after you cast a sorcerer spell 1st level or higher, the DM can have you take a d20.

Does this mean that the Arcane Guards heal several times, the Bards Value can make a weapon attack every turn, the Sorcerers can add their Charisma modifier several times at a damage roll, vital clerics are healed several times, and what can happen multiple Wild Magic Surges?


In terms of the strange cases of elemental affinity and blessed healer that happen several times, I analyze his paragraphs so that the spell doesn't have to hurt or restore hit points, just to be a spell that usually does those things.

This is supported by the question about "When should the wizard choose to change channels?
"where the following is said:

The time to use Overchannel is "when you cast," and a spell in which you can use it is "a magician spell of 5th level or lower that deals damage." This is only intended to specify that you can only use it in spells that include damage as part of its effects (such as a fireball), unlike spells that do not cause any damage (such as invisibility).
If he was destined to make up his mind after inflicting damage, he would have to use a wording like "When you cast a wizard spell of 5th level or lower and deal damage."

dnd 5e: What are the ramifications of this change in casting spells?

What he is proposing is a slight modification to the rules to launch at a higher level. RAW reads (emphasis mine):

When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the highest level for that cast. For example, if Umara launches a magic missile using one of its second level slots, that magic missile is second level.

What he is proposing is to make the bold part of that appointment optional. There are no rules for this because it is rarely beneficial, except in particular circumstances such as Overchannel. The twin spell metamagia will also benefit from this, since it costs a number of sorcery points equal to the slot level.

Indeed, it is converting a higher level slot into a lower one, this (almost) must always be a net loss and must be balanced. In fact, there are already two RAW methods to do this, the Wizard's Flexible Release function and the Variant: DMG Spell Points Rule. Both have the additional benefit of giving you the extra magic of the highest slot as resources you can use later.

Your proposal provides some additional flexibility, which is the same benefit as the Variant: spell points but with the additional cost of reduced damage, otherwise it does not allow you to do anything that you could no longer do with all resources. Also, your spells will be easier to counterattack or dissipate

The cost of these changes is equivalent to the benefit. This seems to be a balanced house rule, enjoy the game tests

attack of opportunity: what actions or feats of players are available to interrupt the actions of casting an enemy spell?

Obviously the Attack of opportunity has changed from 1e, now takes a Reaction and depends on triggers of specific skills.

There are several triggers that refer to manipulation actions, movement actions, and ranged attacks, but are there any that have triggers with respect to casting a spell and are capable of interrupting the action?