Using Arcane Abeyance to cast Fabricate, could you turn an enemy’s plate armor into a full body restraint?

If a player uses a bead with the spell fabricate in it from the Arcane Abeyance feature, could they turn an enemy in plate armor’s armor into an iron maiden or just a full-body metal-binding?

using Arcane Abeyance to cast fabricate

If a player uses a bead with the spell fabricate in it from the Arcane Abeyance feature, could they turn an enemy in plate armor’s armor into an iron maiden or just a full-body metal-binding?

dnd 5e – Can Erupting Earth be cast somewhere that isn’t on “ground”?

Yes

In this case the term “on the ground” only refers means “not in the air/floating”. The rules don’t clarify “ground” any further. While it may not make sense for the ground to be covered with dirt after casting the spell inside a dungeon, on top of a roof or inside a gazebo it is easy to reflavor the spell to have the ground be covered in rocks, chunks of wood or another material that creates the same effect.

dnd 5e – What is the class of a spell cast from a staff?

The staffs details state:

While holding the staff, you can use an action to expend some of its Charges to cast one of the following Spells from it, using your spell save DC and Spellcasting ability

When you chose to cast a spell from the staff, you use your own spellcasting ability, whichever that is. You attuned as an Artificer, so you would use the artificers spell save DC and spellcasting ability, with the +3 bonus to Artificer spells. Some of these spells are not on the Artificers list of spells, but the artificer ignores “all class, race, spell, and level requirements on attuning to or using a magic item,” so it is no problem for them to use any part of this item.
Say you are a wizard 10/sorcerer 10. When you cast the spell through the staff, you can choose to use your wizard spell save DC and spellcasting ability, or your sorcerer spell save DC and spellcasting ability, to take advantage of whatever you are attuned to.

Class of a spell cast from a staff

in dnd 5e when a character casts a spell from a staff (e.g. staff of a magi), what is the class of that spell? It is important for items like "+1 to DC for this_class spells that you cast" from Tasha’s.

dnd 5e – Healing Word in a Higher Level Slot — is it still a Bonus Action to cast?

Big fan of critical role here, and am familiar with Matt Mercer’s house rule regarding Bonus Action spells- which is what your GM may be confused about.

Now, as other answers (THiebert’s, Purple Monkey’s) have pointed out, casting at a higher level doesn’t affect the casting time required.

Before going to the houserule, let’s go over to what RAW says about casting two spells during your turn. The rule is tricky to find as it’s hidden away in page 202 of the PHB in the last sentence under “Casting Time” – “Bonus Action”:

Bonus Action

… You must use a Bonus Action to cast the spell, provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn. You can’t cast a another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.

the emphasis is mine, take note of this, we will get back to it later.

This is a major balancing factor in the game to reign in spellcasters from flinging spells left and right. In the early months of Critical Role, Matt Mercer removed the restriction that only cantrips can be cast (see emphasized portion), and allowed any-level spells to be cast along with any-level bonus action spells.

This house rule changed, though, at around the time Orion Acaba (guy who played Tiberius, the Dragonborn Sorcerer) left the game (I don’t have enough fan trivia knowledge to point out the exact episode number of the house rule change). Matt Mercer put a restriction that only spells of 2nd-level or lower or cantrips can be cast as an Action after the bonus action spell (or vice versa).

Effectively making the houserule like this:

Matt Mercer’s Bonus Action (spell)

… You must use a Bonus Action to cast the spell, provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn. You can’t cast a another spell during the same turn, except for a spell of 2nd-level or lower or a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.

The point of confusion, I presume, for your DM is that during their (Critical Role) games, the players sometimes argue whether or not they can cast this spell as a Bonus Action and then comes some clarification about the level of the spell slot being used, then someone (usually Matt) clears it up that because it’s 3rd-level, you can’t cast it as a Bonus Action. Rest assured, even if you cast Healing Word at 9th-level, the spell still takes a Bonus Action to cast. If your DM allows Matt Mercer’s House-rule, you can also then cast a 2nd-level spell or lower as an Action (or vice versa)

dnd 3.5e – Protection from Evil cast on a player who’s already under a Charm Person spell?

Charm Person—None of your options

As Kommissar’s fine answer says, charm person doesn’t allow the caster to “exercise mental control,” so protection from evil doesn’t do anything to it.

That being the case, none of your three options describes the situation correctly: charm person is unaffected, but charm person also doesn’t make the caster into a “controller,” and doesn’t allow the caster to give any “orders.” The only thing charm person does is make the target think the caster is their best friend. They still won’t do anything the caster suggests that they wouldn’t do for their best friend. But the fighter will continue to treat the caster as their best friend even if you cast protection from evil on them.

Dominate Person—3, protection means freedom

But for the sake of argument, let’s consider dominate person, instead—that definitely exercises mental control, so protection from evil suppresses it. What does that mean?

The answer is that “suppressed” means “operates entirely as though it weren’t there at all, except that its duration continues to expire.” It is the same word used, for example, by antimagic field to describe what it does to magic. While suppressed, the magic may as well not even be there.

That being the case, protection from evil allows a creature to act completely of its own volition, as if there were no dominate person spell involved. Any orders given prior to the introduction of the protection from evil effect are ignored, and no further orders can be given. The only thing dominate person does is tick down its remaining duration.

To achieve an effect that could implant a command in a creature that could be maintained even under protection from evil (or in an antimagic field), you would need an “instantaneous” effect—see the definition:

Instantaneous

The spell energy comes and goes the instant the spell is cast, though the consequences might be long-lasting.

(Magic Overview: Duration)

In this case, since the spell energy comes and goes but the consequences remain, there is nothing for protection from evil to suppress. Dominate person has magical energy that stays with the target, constantly compelling it to obey. Our hypothetical instantaneous spell wouldn’t do that. Instead, it would change the creature in some fundamental way so that from then on, it would choose to obey that order of its own volition, and it would have lost the capacity to choose differently.

As horrifying as dominate person is—and it is—our hypothetical spell is vastly scarier. D&D 3.5e actually has a couple of spells matching this description—the 9th-level evil enchantment known as mindrape, and absurdly, the 9th-level “good” enchantment known as sanctify the wicked. The former is much, much more honest about what it is, and the latter is an excellent case-in-point for making the argument that D&D 3.5e alignment is deeply, deeply problematic, and Book of Exalted Deeds is a terrible book.

dnd 5e – Can I use the insects created by the Insect Cloud from the Staff of Swarming Insects to cast “Giant Insect?”

I would say yes

and here’s why.

It doesn’t matter to the game and it is cleverer and more rewarding to be resourceful.

It would be sad to let this be another sticking point for no-fun DM’s to call foul from left field, “Oh but did you collect all the specific insectoid spell components each day as well as your essential oils for the herbalism kit… “. Nobody wants to play that kind of game for long, do they?

It’s very easy to say “DM, i carry a pouch of various insects i’ve collected and i feed them and make sure they are well. ” But not necessary.
And lastly the spell wording doesn’t say the cloud of insects is vaporous, spiritual, illusory, or of only one kind of useless insect. It could quite possibly have 5 wasps in it and maybe even centipedes and spiders and one scorpion. Maybe that was some one’s intent.

In most situations that fun should rule over debbie downer, this is an easy call. Of course is should be allowed. The RAW rules do not imply that it is not possible. A player should be rewarded for this clever association between the two staff uses, as well as freeing up a spell caster from being encumbered by unnecessary spell parts, for say, if recovering from being prisoner and losing all their gear and finding only this staff.

It’s also an easy leap to say, “Look, the cloud of insects is harmless, and when you giant a couple of them they respond to the spell that cast it. This is at least 4th level magic happening here.”

When I read the RAW of it i don’t see any contradiction. It’s completely dependent on wanting creative solutions in the game or not.

dnd 5e – Does Astral Projection spell fail if cast while on the Elemental Planes or Material Echo Planes (Shadowfell, Feywild)?

Further to the question: Can there be portals in the Astral Plane that lead to the Elemental Planes , I wanted to ask does Astral Projection spell fail if cast while on the Elemental Planes or Material Echo Planes (Shadowfell, Feywild)?

According to the Etherealness spell (PHB p238) :

This spell has no effect if you cast it while you are on the Ethereal
Plane or a plane that doesn’t border it, such as one of the Outer
Planes.

According to the Astral Projection spell (PHB 215):

You and up to eight willing creatures within range project your astral
bodies into the Astral Plane (the spell fails and casting is wasted if
you are already on that plane).

And later in the same spell description:

Your astral form can freely travel through the Astral Plane and can
pass through portals there to any other plane.

However, according to DMG in the description of relevant planar travel spells (DMG pg 46) it indicates the following :

And the astral projection spell lets adventurers project themselves
into the Astral Plane and from there travel to the Outer Planes.

Accordingly, for both RAW and RAI, does Astral Projection spell fail if cast while on the Elemental Planes or Material Echo Planes (Shadowfell, Feywild)?

dnd 5e – Can you Counterspell a spell cast using a Ring of Spell Storing?

Is a spell cast using a Ring of Spell Storing observable, in the sense that you could Counterspell it? Or is it essentially same as if you cast a spell using something like a Sorcerer’s Subtle Spell metamagic, or some other means of hiding or not needing the components of the spell? Does it maybe even depend on the type of spell, ie. if the spell effect is observable, it could be counterspelled, but not if there is no visible effect?

Relevant snippet from the ring description:

While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell.