dnd 5e – Can you use a bonus action before a held readied action?

I know you can not “Ready” a bonus action. But can you ready an attack action and use the bonus action before the attack action when the action is triggered?

The rule for bonus actions says:

You choose when to take a bonus action during your turn, unless the
bonus action’s timing is specified, and anything that deprives you of
your ability to take actions also prevents you from taking a bonus
action.

An example of bonus action’s timing specified is like with Monk’s Flurry of Blows:

Immediately after you take the Attack action on your turn, you can
spend 1 ki point to make two unarmed strikes as a bonus action.

So unless the bonus action specifies that you have to take it at a specific time, you can take the bonus action at any point in your turn.

If a member of your party is talking to a guard 40 feet away, could you, for example, do the following?

  1. Ready an action, the trigger being “If the guard draws his weapon I am going to attack”
  2. The guard draws his weapon triggering your readied action.
  3. Use your bonus action to cast ‘Misty Step,’ which has no timing restrictions, to move 30′ towards them, use 10 feet of movement, and attack.

dnd 5e – when can i use the Polearm Master bonus action attack?

the first benefit of PAM says

When you take the Attack action and attack with only a glaive, halberd, quarterstaff, or spear, you can use a bonus action to make a melee attack with the opposite end of the weapon.

can i only make this extra attack after the first attack action? and if so, can i make another attack in between the first attack action, and then bonus action attack or could i do it in reverse so i use my BA first, then the non-polearm attack, and then the polearm attack

Can you decide not to use a shield’s AC bonus? Dex bonus?

Let’s say that there is a combat. There’s is one player character and two enemies- one melee and one ranged. The player character has Armor of Agathys (or some other spell) and wants the melee combatant to hit them- but they also have a shield and light armor. If the initiative was Melee, Ranged, Player-

  1. Could the player use their shield to defend the ranged attack, but
    not the melee attack?

  2. Could the player apply their Dex bonus from their light armor to defend the ranged attack, but not the melee attack?

dnd 5e – If I have expertise in a skill and I take Aereni Expertise over the Elf Weapon Training, does that mean that I would have quadruple proficencey bonus?

dnd 5e – If I have expertise in a skill and I take Aereni Expertise over the Elf Weapon Training, does that mean that I would have quadruple proficencey bonus? – Role-playing Games Stack Exchange

pathfinder 1e – Magic Item Creation: Save Bonus Limit

This is actually something I’ve run into lately myself. I found this quote sourced from d20pfsrd Magic Armor

… Magic Armor bonuses are enhancement bonuses, never rise above +5, and stack with regular armor bonuses (and with shield and magic shield enhancement bonuses). …

In addition to an enhancement bonus, armor may have special abilities. Special abilities usually count as additional bonuses for determining the market value of an item, but do not improve AC. A suit of armor cannot have an effective bonus (enhancement plus special ability bonus equivalents, including those from character abilities and spells) higher than +10. A suit of armor with a special ability must also have at least a +1 enhancement bonus.

This effectively means that the enchantment bonus of the item is limited to +5 but you can go up to +10 in cost by adding abilities such as Billowing or Spell Resistance that don’t effect the enchantment bonus. That’s why the cost table goes up to +10.

I know that the Cloak of Resistance from the question isn’t “armor” in the sense that it goes in the armor slot and adds AC, but I found very similarly worded entry on d20pfsrd Magic Weapons so it’s probably safe to assume this applies to all magic items.

… Magic weapons have enhancement bonuses ranging from +1 to +5…

… Some magic weapons have special abilities. Special abilities count as additional bonuses for determining the market value of the item, but do not modify attack or damage bonuses (except where specifically noted). A single weapon cannot have a modified bonus (enhancement bonus plus special ability bonus equivalents, including those from character abilities and spells) higher than +10. A weapon with a special ability must also have at least a +1 enhancement bonus.

So in the end, you can have your Cloak of Resistance +5 with Spell Resistance, but not a Cloak of Resistance +6.

Pathfinder 1e Magic Item Creation: Save Bonus Limit

I was just wondering, for items in Pathfinder 1e that provide saves bonuses (like a Cloak of Resistance), they seem to only go up to +5, but in the Magic Item Creation rules, it looks like you could go much higher, all you’d need to do would be to calculate the different cost (and have that much gold to begin with, of course). Is a save bonus higher than +5 on any one item legal, or is there a hard limit to that?

dnd 5e – Can the Poisoner feat let you activate a Dagger of Venom as a Bonus Action?

The Dagger of Venom is a magic item with the following special property :

You can use an action to cause thick, black poison to coat the blade. The poison remains for 1 minute or until an attack using this weapon hits a creature. That creature must succeed on a DC 15 Constitution saving throw or take 2d10 poison damage and become poisoned for 1 minute. The dagger can’t be used this way again until the next dawn.

The Poisoner feat (from Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything) has the following feature :

You can apply poison to a weapon or piece of ammunition as a bonus action, instead of an action.

Would someone with the Poisoner feat be able to activate the special property of a Dagger of Venom as a Bonus Action rather than as an Action ?

dnd 5e – Redundant bonus spells for cleric peace domain

dnd 5e – Redundant bonus spells for cleric peace domain – Role-playing Games Stack Exchange

dnd 5e – Does the Tasha’s Mind Whip spell prevent bonus actions if you take away an action?

The description of the Tasha’s mind whip spell states (TCoE, p. 115):

You psychically lash out at one creature you can see within range. The target must make an Intelligence saving throw. On a failed save, the target takes 3d6 psychic damage, and it can’t take a reaction until the end of its next turn. Moreover, on its next turn, it must choose whether it gets a move, an action, or a bonus action; it gets only one of the three. On a successful save, the target takes half as much damage and suffers none of the spell’s other effects.

Meanwhile, the rules on bonus actions state:

(…) anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions also prevents you from taking a bonus action.

If the target chooses a bonus action, it technically shouldn’t be able to do so, as it was deprived of its action. Or is this a case of specific beats general?

Vidlox.me – Earn upto $70 for 10k views + Launch bonus

Hi guys,

I’d like to introduce vidlox.me to fellow members of wjunction. Vidlox is video hosting website, which can be used to stream your videos online over both mobile and desktop. Registered users can take benefit of our affiliate program and earn huge money with it.

What makes Vidlox Different from others ?

Less and quality ads.
Better user interference
Everything is free and unlimited, visitors,users and affiliates don’t need to pay anything to use vidlox.
No captcha or any…

Read more

DreamProxies - Cheapest USA Elite Private Proxies 100 Private Proxies 200 Private Proxies 400 Private Proxies 1000 Private Proxies 2000 Private Proxies ExtraProxies.com - Buy Cheap Private Proxies Buy 50 Private Proxies Buy 100 Private Proxies Buy 200 Private Proxies Buy 500 Private Proxies Buy 1000 Private Proxies Buy 2000 Private Proxies ProxiesLive Proxies-free.com New Proxy Lists Every Day Proxies123