Can a wild druid command an animal companion?

As a druid, you can take both the Wild Order (winning Wild Form) and the Animal Order (winning an Animal Companion) through the Order Explorer (Druid Feat 2). To be more effective, you probably want to switch to a battle form and fight alongside your partner. But nevertheless…

According to the Animal Companion rules:

Your animal partner has the subject of the subject and earns 2 shares.
during your turn if you use the Command an Animal action to command it

From Command an Animal, the action has the auditory feature:

Auditory actions and effects are based on sound. An action with the
The auditory trait can be performed successfully only if the creature
The use of action can speak or produce the necessary sounds.

And according to the Polymorph feature (which is in all Wild Form spells):

Unless stated otherwise, the battle form prevents you from throwing
spell, speak and use most manipulation actions that require
hands.

From this, it seems that if you change to an animal form, you cannot effectively command your animal companion. However, Auditory does not specify that he has to speak, he only "produces the required sounds."

So, can you consider your trained animal to take commands in several grunts and grunts of your animal forms, or do you always have the trick of using only one or another feature (except for special forms like Thousand Faces that is not considered a battle form , and therefore not subject to restrictions)?

How do you explain animal anatomy in Pathfinder?

In the response https://rpg.stackexchange.com/a/156870/3263, it is strongly suggested that horses (skeletal) use trekking poles to increase their speed.

From what I understand, trekking poles are held in the hands. The horses would have difficulties to grab them and take advantage of them due to anatomy reasons.

For similar reasons, we could mean that elephants have difficulty climbing, even though they have great resistance. We may want to say that snakes have problems using picks.

There is, of course, also the question of whether a horse would need some training to use those trekking poles, or even agree. But let's focus on the anatomy for now.

So, Do Pathfinder's rules have provisions that take into account such anatomical characteristics of animals and monsters, or do they explicitly leave this in the hands of the game master, or are they completely silent?

dnd 5e – Can my Beastmaster Ranger's animal companion use its magic wand missiles?

Rules as written, a beast companion can only activate a magic item during combat if he is incapacitated and may require that he has concentrated on the object for an hour at some earlier time.

First some evidence collected:

From the question "Can a familiar tuning use and use a magic object?" we learn that there are no rules that prohibit any creature for using, using or tuning in with any magic item that is also corroborated in the question "Can beasts benefit from magic items?" where it is stated that:

All creatures can benefit and use magical objects subject to their anatomical limitations and other abilities.

In addition, the question "Can an animal tune into a magical object?" He explains that any animal (and certainly the beast companions) can tune into a magical object as long as they concentrate on the object for an hour. When tuning in to the article:

(…) the creature acquires an intuitive understanding of how to activate the magical properties of the object, including the necessary command words.

The section on "Identifying a magic item" also states:

(…) A character can focus on a magical object during a short break, while in physical contact with the object. At the end of the rest, the character. Learn the properties of the element, as well as how to use them.

The fact that you can tune an item even if you don't demand The tuning is explained in the question "Does a wand user know how many charges are left?"


Thus, a companion beast will know how to activate a magic item and have the capacity Do it if you focus on the article for an hour. If you can convince him or not to do so, it will depend on your GM. That said, the description of the companion beast says:

The beast obeys your orders as best it can. Take your turn at your initiative. In your turn, you can verbally order the beast where to move (no action required by you). You can use your action to verbally order him to take the Attack, Dash, Disconnect or Help action. If you do not issue an order, the beast takes the action of dodging.

That list of actions includes the only set of actions you can order to take during combat. And if you don't issue a command, just take Dodge action. Therefore, in combat you cannot order the companion beast to use a magic item.

That said, the beast company section goes on to say:

If you are disabled or absent, your beast companion act alone, focusing on protecting yourself and yourself.

In this case, the partner acts completely alone and, therefore, is not restricted by the command rules. This would allow you to perform other actions, such as Hide, or Use and Object, or use any magic object.

I agree that this is almost absurd that a companion beast cannot hide or use an object during combat unless his teacher in Disabled, but that seems to be what the rules say. Now I have asked if this is the case in the question "Does the animal companion of a Beastmaster Ranger earn more actions when his teacher becomes incapacitated?".

dnd 5e: Does the companion animal of a Beast Master Ranger earn more actions when his teacher is incapacitated?

RAW, I would say yes.

At my table, I would probably be less strict and allow a Beastmaster to train his partner to perform more tasks in combat, with some limitations.

The basic principles of the interpretation of rule 5e should apply here, namely, that things do what they say they do and not more. There is a list of things that a Beastmaster can order his animal companion to do, and that list is shorter than the list of actions that a generic creature can perform in combat.

A pet is part of a team With your beastmaster. The beastmaster trains the animal companion to follow specific orders and, more importantly, to act in the direction of the beastmaster instead of doing it alone. Then it is less than the companion animal I can not Doing other things and more than your training is limited to a finite set of maneuvers that the partner can understand and execute reliably in a combat situation.

This training is not represented in the game (in reality it is not progressively improved in the management of your partner) and, consequently, there are no mechanisms to add new skills to the repertoire.

Then, a Beastmaster can direct the partner and tell him to attack or dodge (familiar behaviors, attractive to generic Beastmasters, which could be practiced repeatedly during downtime). But giving instructions about something more abstract can be problematic, and although you could make a plausible case for training an animal to do very specific things with objects, the lack of a corresponding game mechanic makes it impossible (RAW).

That does not mean that the only What an animal companion can do is obey orders, and if the normal signals he receives from his Beastmaster do not come, he will have to make his own decisions. A baboon, struggling to protect his disabled friend, could search for an object. Perhaps he grabs a fallen sword, having noticed that the enemies distrusted the object when his friend held it. Or maybe you've seen someone use a Wand of (something), and I could try to make it work as they observed.

Commands to use these objects may fail because they require an abstract understanding that the baboon does not have (such as "grabbing the sword" would probably mean "grabbing the sword by the handle and adopting a reasonable posture", but that is too much to convey a command < 6 seconds)


The risk:

If allowing a Beastmaster to continue directing his partner personally (through the player), expanding the possible actions available to the partner could be problematic and open up some exploits. It is much more like having a backup NPC available at all times, and some players can deliberately incapacitate their characters in safe locations just to activate the additional skills of their peers.

As very basic examples, a downed Beastmaster could simply direct his partner (nominally acting alone, but still controlled by the Beastmaster player) to feed him. Healing Potion (or similar) to go back up immediately. Or, in a room that could be loaded with traps, the partner could be used to explore in a way that he normally could not and bear all the risk while the players hang out at the entrance.

It is not necessarily a big problem, and I think that significant feats would be rare and not necessarily desirable. But it is uncomfortable, and there is no particularly strong case that this has been an intentional transition (as opposed to an inadvertent marginal case).

I think the operational question is really who controls the partner if the Beastmaster is incapacitated. Having the DM do it solves all the awkward contradictions about the expanded menu of possible actions, and is probably the easiest way to implement the rules as written in this topic.

The oldest animal in the world …?

Hello friends,

Please tell me, which is the oldest animal in the world …?

dnd 5e: Can a Shape Changer use Innate Spellcasting in its animal form?

I am running the Dragon of Icespire Peak, and one of the monsters is a Talos Anchorite. He has the following skills:

Innate spell casting. The innate spellcasting skill of the presenter is
Wisdom (spell except DC 12). You can cast the following spells innately,
that do not require material components:

1 / day each: omen bless blessing (8d6 damage)revitalize

3 days: thunder wave (2d8 damage)

Figure changer The anacoreta can use her action to polymorphize in a
wild boar or return to its true form, which is humanoid. Your statistics are
The same in every way. Any equipment you are using or carrying is not
transformed Returns to its true form if it dies.

Rules as written, can Anchorite of Talos cast any of its spells using Innate Spellcasting while in the form of a wild boar?

dnd 5e: I killed the companion animal of a PC at the end of the last session, but then I realized that I should have survived; What are my options?

You made a mistake and found out. That's great!

You have three options.

Do not change anything retroactively. You made a mistake. Explain to your players and say "but I don't like to rewrite reality."

Especially because it was the last thing that happened; undo that moment Tell your players that you made a mistake. That the partner does not die.

The hawk dies in an acid pit. That stays.

The next session, the Falcon is dead. But shortly after (the next round?) It starts to burn. In an explosion of flames, and the Falcon is reborn. Start hacking and coughing; After a moment, a bright phoenix feather comes out of his mouth.

The Falcon has been reborn, and is now in full HP. Apparently he ate a Phoenix Heart Pen a long time ago, and the residual magic was activated by the Dragon's breath.

Now, that's a pretty useless story. Then we can add an adventure hook.

The pen of the heart is a possible magical object. When performing the secondary mission X, it can be forged on a Phoenix Blade.

A Phoenix Blade is a feather that, as an additional action, can become a long shiny sword that deals magic fire damage instead of sharp damage.

If it is in tune with its wearer, it becomes a tattoo on his sword arm. While in tune, it can be handled as a weapon of delicacy, and the carrier and any animal companion gain fire resistance. As an action by touching a companion of fallen avian animals with the sword, you can relive it without material components. The partner is reborn in a burst of fire and recovers full HP. You cannot do this again until the next dawn.

(Adjust the statistics of this to make it worthwhile).

That, or something like that, will convert a Ups at a time that your group will remember.

pathfinder 2e – Can a support benefit from an animal partner be activated by a cantrip?

Many of the support benefits contain the condition

"Until the beginning of your next turn, your Strikes that cause damage to a
creature that threatens your partner "

(pp. 215-216).

Strikes are defined as (p. 471)

"You attack with a weapon you are wielding or with an unarmed attack"

which implies that only weapons or unarmed attacks count as a Hit, but not spells. Neither the "Cast a spell" action nor the "Spell Attack" section indicates that a spell is a Strike, and the Attack tag explains that it could be "a Strike or … another attack action."

All this leads me to believe that the available cantrips do not count as Strikes to activate the support benefits of a companion animal. I just want confirmation, or someone to point out something I might have missed, since this significantly reduces the usefulness of animal companions for Druids, since the use of weapons is not one of their strengths.

I am not interested in the compilations that make this viable (well, I am if it is incredible, but that is not the purpose of this question): I am aware that Order Explorer (Wild) and / or Shillelagh make it something viable.

dnd 5e: Can a Beast Ranger choose a swarm as an animal companion?

RAW, no, you couldn't choose a swarm

Throughout the rule text cited by you, in the question, continuous reference is made to the companion in the singular as & # 39; a beast or & # 39; the beast & # 39 ;. The most crucial in the section detailing the eligible options says & # 39; Choose a beast & # 39 ;.

The swarm of crows is never known as a singular beast in the rules, it is a & # 39; swarm of small beasts & # 39; (plural) or after simply & # 39; the swarm & # 39 ;, therefore, RAW is not an eligible choice.

Pathfinder: if it transforms me into an animal, what modifier do I apply to my CMD?

The formula for CMD includes modifiers for Strength, Dexterity and Size, which means that the net difference can be zero.

The Combat Maneuver Defense of a creature (CMD) is normally calculated as follows:

CMD = 10 + Base attack bonus + Force modifier + Skill modifier + Special size modifier + Various modifiers

When your polymorphic character or otherwise changes in size, some of these modifiers may increase or decrease, depending on the method your character used to transform. This means that the character's attack bonuses, CMB, AC, CMD and some other statistics would be recalculated.

The size modifier of a creature is determined by its current size category. For example, the size modifier of a medium creature is +0, and the size modifier of a small creature is +2. This modifier is always added to attack and AC rolls, 2x is added to flight checks and 4x to stealth checks, but subtracted from CMB and CMD.


In your example, your math is correct. Suppose a medium-sized humanoid uses Beast Form II To become a little animal. This changes its size modifier from +0 to +2. They also get a "+4 size bonus" to their Dexterity score, which translates into a +2 increase to their Dexterity modifier.

(The natural armor bonus is not added to CMD).

By recalculating CMD in this way, you Add your new Dexterity modifier (which is +2 higher than before), and subtract The new size modifier (which is +2). Compared to their previous CMD (when they were medium sized), the net difference is +2 – (+2) = 0.