dnd 5e – Does the spell “Silence” affect the caster?

The Sorcerer is not affected by Silence

So this is my logic on this matter:

  1. Targets are not limited to creatures.
    • The target in the Silence spell is a the Point of Origin of a Sphere.
  2. Targeting Yourself states that if you are in your AoE spell, you can target yourself.
    • It does not say choose yourself, in comparison to “If a spell targets a creature of your choice, you can choose yourself.”
    • Choose indicates a choice, as in you must make a choice. In the case of a target creatures spell, that choice is how many creatures. In AoE, that choice is where the PoO is and it’s orientation.
    • It is impossible to target 0 creatures with a spell that targets creatures. It is possible to target 0 creatures with an AoE spell if nothing is inside the AoE.
    • If you are in the Area of Effect of your spell, you would assume you are affected by it based on the AoE mechanics, unless if it was stated otherwise somewhere.
    • This means if the area is under the Silence effect, you can include or exclude yourself from the magic.
  3. Can in this case can have multiple interpretations.
    • It is possible to include yourself.
    • You have the ability to include yourself.
    • You have permission to include yourself.
    • Given that this is the Designers telling us the rules on targeting yourself, I interpreted it as permission to do so.
    • Possibility is already thoroughly covered in the AoE section.
    • I don’t see anything that directly implies one way or the other however.
  4. Careful Spell and Sculpt Spells explicitly state other creatures. If you were not immune to your magic, why doesn’t it simply state creatures?
    • Both those abilities imply you already have the ability to exclude yourself from your magic.
    • On the other hand, why would you be able to exclude other creatures from your magic and not yourself? That in the very least doesn’t make sense.
      -In this case these don’t matter since Silence does not require a Save

So NO, they would not be affected by that logic.

  • Why would they need to tell you that you can target yourself in your own AoE, if from the AoE mechanics you already know that?
    • I believe that they are noting it is a option, not automatic.

    • In Targeting Yourself, the first sentence is for spells that target creatures.

    • The second sentence is for when you are inside your area of effect spell.

    • The second sentence does not directly refer to the first.

      • You can see this as it uses “a spell” rather than “the spell”, which would be making an independent statement v.s. a dependent statement.
    • They don’t mention spells that target objects since the caster can’t be an object (as a player at least).


Counter-arguments

  1. In Targeting Yourself, Targets is being referred to in the context of spells that target Creatures only.
    • Nothing directly implies that the Targets are Creatures.
    • The section refers to an Area of Effect and the Target of an Area of Effect spell is the Point of Origin.
    • The spell Mass Cure Wounds has both an Area of Effect and a Choose creatures portion.
    • Area of Effect spells are defined as:

Spells such as burning hands and cone of cold cover an area, allowing them to affect multiple creatures at once.

  • The target at the end of the day for an AoE spell is the area, not necessarily a limited amount of creatures within.
    • Even if this is not strictly true, the first statement in Targeting Yourself already tells you that you can target yourself. Why say it again in a more ambiguous way?
  1. Including or not including the Point of Origin is equivalent to Targeting or not Targeting the caster in the Area of Effect

    • The Point of Origin is the point from which as spells energy erupts.
    • Point of Origin doesn’t matter when you are determining if you can target yourself.
    • The only relevant factors are if you want to and if you are in the area of effect.
  2. The spell must state you are excluded from its effects, not the other way around

    • This is not stated anywhere.
    • I believe the Targeting Yourself section is there specifically to clear up this possible misassumption.
    • Further evidence is demonstrated in Scourge Asamir, Radiant Consumption.

During it, you shed bright light in a 10-foot radius and dim light for an additional 10 feet, and at the end of each of your turns, you and each creature within 10 feet of you take radiant damage equal to half your level (rounded up)

  • Why would this ability have to include this extra mention, where other Area of Effects do not?
    • The only reason I can think of is that the caster is inherently excluded from the effects of their spell.

TARGETS

A typical spell requires you to pick one or more targets
to be affected by the spell’s magic. A spell’s description
tells you whether the spell targets creatures, objects, or
a point of origin
for an area of effect (described below)

TARGETING YOURSELF

If a spell targets a creature of your choice, you can
choose yourself, unless the creature must be hostile or
specifically a creature other than you. If you are in the
area of effect of a spell you cast, you can target yourself.

CAREFUL SPELL

When you cast a spell that forces other creatures to make
a saving throw, you can protect some of those creatures
from the spell’s full force. To do so, you spend 1 sorcery
point and choose a number of those creatures up to your
Charisma modifier (minimum of one creature). A chosen
creature automatically succeeds on its saving throw
against the spell.

SCULPT SPELLS

Beginning at 2nd level, you can create pockets of
relative safety within the effects of your evocation spells.
When you cast an evocation spell that affects other
creatures that you can see, you can choose a number
of them equal to 1 + the spell’s level. The chosen
creatures automatically succeed on their saving throws
against the spell, and they take no damage if they would
normally take half damage on a successful save

Mass Cure Wounds
Evocation

Level: 5
Casting time: 1 Action
Range: 60 feet
Components: V, S
Duration: Instantaneous
A wave of healing energy washes out from a point of your choice within range.Choose up to six creatures in a 30-foot-radius sphere centered on that point. Each target regains hit points equal to 3d8 + your spellcasting
ability modifier. This spell has no effect on undead or constructs.

Page: 258 Players Handbook

What setting in Lightroom export can affect resolution when printing

I have this picture I took with my Fuji X-T1 in JPEG Fine. I wanted to print it for a relatively big frame in black and white, so I converted it to B&W in Lightroom, exported it and sent it to a printing lab.

I got a call from them saying that when they try to print it, their software gives a maximum print size of 20cm wide, if they go larger it gets “pixellized” (their words). I looked at the file again (the exported one, outside of Lightroom) and it’s 4896×3264 pixels. When I zoom in at 100% the details are crisp and the image is more than four times the size of my screen.

We tried to share the file through a bunch of different platforms to eliminate any unwanted compression – same. I eventually sent the lab the original color JPEG which they converted themselves to black and white and it suddenly worked for them.

The only setting I had specified when exporting was the resolution of 300 that was already there. When looking at the image details on a Mac, it says resolution 72×72 for the non-exported straight out of camera image and 300×300 for the exported one… Makes sense for the 300×300 but rather counter-intuitive int terms of what they could or could not print – until I came across an explanation of the Resolution setting in Lightroom which only seems to be indicative metadata. So probably their software didn’t pick that up.

Is there an implicit export setting in Lightroom that could cause that type of problem?

dnd 5e – Can you choose not to affect yourself with area of effect spells?

In the linked post by SevenSidedDie, the chosen answer excludes the line in italics, which contradicts the phrasing and logic used:

A typical spell requires you to pick one or more targets to be
affected by the spell’s magic. A spell’s description tells you
whether the spell targets creatures, objects, or a point of origin for
an area of effect (described below).

PHB 204, below Targets heading.

This is important because it establishes that spells targets include 3 things: creatures, objects, and a point of origin. So calling a spell that targets creatures a targeted spell is misleading, and usually results in the conclusion that targets=creatures.

Another way this is demonstrated is in spell descriptions, where the word creatures is always used before targets. If a spell asked you only to select a target, you could pick a point of origin, object, or creature. Look at Booming Blade for example:

As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the spell’s range, otherwise the spell fails.
On a hit, the target suffers the attack’s normal effects, and it becomes sheathed in booming energy until the start of your next turn. If the target willingly moves before then, it immediately takes 1d8 thunder damage, and the spell ends.

Additionally, the linked post states:

There is a sub-section on Targeting Yourself but keep in mind that this is all in the context of spells that require you to pick one or more targets, which does not apply to the shatter spell.

If you consider that targets include point of origin’s from aoe spells, this is false as shatter does have a target. Even in the quoted evocation class feature, it explicitly states creatures not targets.

The post also refers to the range of a spell as an effective area of effect. This is false. With area of effect spells, it is possible to hit targets behind full cover with clever positioning, as a clear path only has to be to the target, not necessarily creatures. So if you have a spell like shatter, and an enemy has total cover from your line of sight, you could set the target to be directly above the cover and still hit them, assuming what they are hiding behind has no roof. This is not possible with a spell that targets creatures, like bless, since you need a line of sight on your targets.

Ultimately, this means a caster can be within their own aoe spell and not suffer its effects. I think most people get confused by this because realistically this is false. If you are caught up in an explosion that you created, you would definitely be affected. But magic, so there’s that.

Does the presence of superfluous elements affect SEO?

We are using a rich text editor to create content and it seems that it adds a lot of superfluous elements, i.e. elements that do not affect the visual appearance of the contents.

Here is an example of a simple text paragraph:

enter image description here

And the resulting HTML:

<div type="heading" data-slate-node="element" class="Blockstyles__BlockContainer-ftaii9-0 iWHarZ">
    <h2 class="Text-tzqgom-0 fPGrFa">
        <span data-slate-node="text">
            <span data-slate-leaf="true" class="Leaf__LeafContainer-akqh21-0 bmeVYK">
                <span data-slate-string="true">Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit</span>
            </span>
        </span>
    </h2>
</div>
<div type="paragraph" data-slate-node="element" class="Blockstyles__BlockContainer-ftaii9-0 goeTMk">
    <span data-slate-node="text">
        <span data-slate-leaf="true" class="Leaf__LeafContainer-akqh21-0 bmeVYK">
            <span data-slate-string="true">Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, </span>
        </span>
    </span>
    <span data-slate-node="text">
        <span data-slate-leaf="true" class="Leaf__LeafContainer-akqh21-0 kuzZbS">
            <span data-slate-string="true">consectetur</span>
        </span>
    </span>
    <span data-slate-node="text">
        <span data-slate-leaf="true" class="Leaf__LeafContainer-akqh21-0 bmeVYK">
            <span data-slate-string="true"></span>
        </span>
    </span>
    <span data-slate-node="text">
        <span data-slate-leaf="true" class="Leaf__LeafContainer-akqh21-0 fcimMR">
            <span data-slate-string="true">adipiscing</span>
        </span>
    </span>
    <span data-slate-node="text">
        <span data-slate-leaf="true" class="Leaf__LeafContainer-akqh21-0 bmeVYK">
            <span data-slate-string="true"> elit, sed do </span>
        </span>
    </span>
    <span data-slate-node="text">
        <span data-slate-leaf="true" class="Leaf__LeafContainer-akqh21-0 dFuqAg">
            <span data-slate-string="true">eiusmod</span>
        </span>
    </span>
    <span data-slate-node="text">
        <span data-slate-leaf="true" class="Leaf__LeafContainer-akqh21-0 bmeVYK">
            <span data-slate-string="true"> tempor </span>
        </span>
    </span>
    <span data-slate-node="text">
        <span data-slate-leaf="true" class="Leaf__LeafContainer-akqh21-0 gdMSWv">
            <span data-slate-string="true">incididunt</span>
        </span>
    </span>
    <span data-slate-node="text">
        <span data-slate-leaf="true" class="Leaf__LeafContainer-akqh21-0 bmeVYK">
            <span data-slate-string="true"> ut </span>
        </span>
    </span>
    <span data-slate-node="text">
        <span data-slate-leaf="true" class="Leaf__LeafContainer-akqh21-0 fVccHq">
            <span data-slate-string="true">labore</span>
        </span>
    </span>
    <span data-slate-node="text">
        <span data-slate-leaf="true" class="Leaf__LeafContainer-akqh21-0 bmeVYK">
            <span data-slate-string="true"> et </span>
        </span>
    </span>
    <span data-slate-node="text">
        <span data-slate-leaf="true" class="Leaf__LeafContainer-akqh21-0 BYlhQ">
            <span data-slate-string="true">dolore</span>
        </span>
    </span>
    <span data-slate-node="text">
        <span data-slate-leaf="true" class="Leaf__LeafContainer-akqh21-0 bmeVYK">
            <span data-slate-string="true"> magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud </span>
        </span>
    </span>
    <a data-slate-node="element" href="https://example.com/" rel="noreferrer noopener ugc" target="_blank" class="LinkElementstyles__Link-sc-74gcjh-0 fmMyZg">
        <span data-slate-node="text">
            <span data-slate-leaf="true" class="Leaf__LeafContainer-akqh21-0 bmeVYK">
                <span data-slate-string="true">exercitation</span>
            </span>
        </span>
    </a>
    <span data-slate-node="text">
        <span data-slate-leaf="true" class="Leaf__LeafContainer-akqh21-0 bmeVYK">
            <span data-slate-string="true"> ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum.</span>
        </span>
    </span>
</div>

From SEO perspective, is there a reason these extra elements could hurt content indexing?

seo – How does hash in file name affect google image search ranking?

In terms of cache optimization it is recommended for static files like images to cache them forever. In this case if you want to update an image you have to use a different file name so that the client browser downloads the new image instead of showing the cached one.

Situation 1

I don’t cache image files. So if I update the file myimage.png the file name remains the same.

Situation 2

I cache image files forever. That’s why I use a hash in the file name.

File name before update: myimage.a1b2c3.png

File name after update: myimage.d4e5f6.png

Question

Am I right that file names without hashes are way better in terms of SEO?

dnd 5e – Does the Elk option for the Totem Warrior barbarian’s Aspect of the Beast feature affect travel pace for land vehicles?

There is no definitive answer

As written there is nothing to say whether or not land vehicles should be included (or excluded) in the effect of Elk totem option for the 6th-level Aspect of the Beast from the Barbarians Path of the Totem Warrior. (SCAG p. 122)

Elk. Whether mounted or on foot, your travel pace is doubled, as is
the travel pace of up to 10 companions while they’re within 60 feet of
you and you’re not incapacitated (see chapter 8 in the Player’s
Handbook for more information about travel pace). The elk spirit helps
you roam far and fast.

My personal interpretation of the RAW would be to allow basic land vehicles (Carts, Wagons, Carriages) to be included in the effect as long as all passengers in said vehicle are included in the effect, are within range and don’t exceed the companion limit. This could be interpreted as a form of mounted travel.

Part of this interpretation comes from the fact that in 5e, there is only a single table for travel pace that applies to all modes of travel. The only benefits to mounted travel are the ability to gallop (a short speed boost that exhausts the mount after an hour of travelling at double speed) and increased carrying capacity. A vehicle only further increases the carrying capacity of the mount.

The reason I would limit it to basic land vehicles is that both water and magic vehicles are not pulled by mounts (in most cases). If you are Captain Jack Sparrow riding on the back of a sea turtle an exception could be made.

An explicit ruling may be needed for the case where part of the conditions are not met, no one benefits from the effect when passengers are involved.

box2d – What could effectively affect the falling speed of a b2Body?

I tried to set up a test demo to see if Box2D physics are working. It works, but I have one small problem: I cannot seem to get the dynamic b2Body to fall faster.

I tried modifying and setting the gravity and its gravityScale, its fixture, the density. I also tried applyForce and setLinearVelocity in a constant loop. I tried passing different values for the b2World.Step() function, by giving it different dt, velocityIterations and positionIterations. I know it has nothing to do with it, but I also tried modifying the mass of the body. By changing the gravity, I only managed to decrease its falling speed.

This is currently the falling speed.

I managed to find a way to increase the falling speed of the dynamic body, but only because I performed a b2World.Step() function multiple times per loop. I do not want to use that method to increase the falling speed.

This is the falling speed with multiple b2World.Step()-calls.

Do you have any suggestions what I could use to increase the falling speed of the dynamic body?

spells – How do attack and damage modifiers affect Spiritual Weapon?

Suppose a spellcaster has a spiritual weapon, and they are affected by some bonus and/or penalty to their attack rolls and/or weapon damage rolls. How do these effects apply to (the caster’s) attack and damage rolls with the spiritual weapon?

The spell description specifies some limitations:

It strikes as a spell, not as a weapon, so for example, it can damage creatures that have damage reduction.

It does not get a flanking bonus or help a combatant get one. Your feats or combat actions do not affect the weapon.

Do bonuses and penalties to attack rolls (such as heroism or being grappled) apply to its attack rolls?

Do bonuses to “weapon damage rolls” (such as prayer or a bard’s Inspire Courage) apply to its damage rolls?

If the caster is blinded, do they have a miss chance with the weapon?


Related: Can clerics’ Combat Feats be used with summoned Spiritual Weapons?

customs and immigration – Will UK overstay affect my New Zealand dependent visa?

My UK visa extension got rejected in 2012 and i overstayed in UK for 6 months and came back to my home country voluntarily. I was on PSW visa at that time.

No stamp on my passport, but at airport I got a “notice to person liable to removal- section B” letter. Will this affect my New Zealand dependant visa for Feb 2022?