While planning the new Druid that I am shooting, I found many discussions on the Internet that say that the War Caster feat is useful to take, since it helps to maintain concentration while using Wild Shape (including at least one appearance on this site).
The dowry of the war launcher (PHB 170) says:
Prerequisite: the ability to cast at least one spell
- You have an advantage in the Constitution releases you have.
Perform to keep your concentration on a spell when you take damage.
(Other benefits omitted.)
However, the Endowments section (PHB 165) says:
You must meet any prerequisite specified in a feat to obtain that feat.
If you ever lose the prerequisite of a feat, you can not use that feat until
you recover the prerequisite. For example, the Grappler feat
Requires that you have a Strength of 13 or more. If your strength is
reduced to less than 13 in some way, perhaps by a fulminating curse, you
you can not benefit from the Grappler dowry until your Force is restored.
When you use Wild Shape, a couple of the many rules (PHB 67) say:
You can not cast spells, and his ability to speak or take any
The action that requires hands is limited to the capabilities of their
beast shape Transform does not break your concentration in a spell
you have already thrownHowever, they prevent you from taking actions.
that are part of a spell, such as called lightning, what have you
You retain the benefit of any other characteristic. of your class, race or
another source and you can use them if the new form is physically capable of
doing it. …
(Other rules omitted.)
So, it seems that the logic is the following:
- Release any spell that requires concentration.
- Use the wild form and continue concentrating on the spell.
- Druid no longer has the ability to cast spells (unless they are level 18+), but retains the benefit of all the dowries that the new form is able to use (as a feat is a feature of the class or race: ASI or human variant)
- The war launcher feat can no longer be used since the prerequisite is no longer met, since the Druid no longer has the ability to cast at least one spell.
- Any Constitution saving throw performed to maintain concentration on a spell while taking damage will NOT be an advantage (assuming there is no other source of present advantage)
Is my logic correct for a druid from 2 to 17 level? Or is there some other rule or ruling that maintains the advantage for the Wild Druid Druid of War in making these Constitution saving releases?
(Druids get Wild Form on the second level, at level 18, the druids get the characteristic Beast Spells, which allows them to cast spells that have no material components while they are in Wild Form, so the question is only relevant in levels 2-17).
Given the Internet's love of pointing out when people are wrong, and finding at least 3 cases in which someone explicitly mentions War Caster as useful while using Wild Shape, I tend to think I've missed something. However, I can not find what I have overlooked in the rules. (Although, according to past experience, about 7 seconds after publication, I'm sure I'll solve it).