dnd 5e – Does the Mind Blade count as a magic weapon in the hands of someone other than its intended bearer?

In Volo's guide to monsters (page 81), the leaf of the mind Weapon is described:

Mind Blade

Weapon (any sword), rare (requires harmonization of a specific individual)

Mental skinners can turn any non-magical sword into a leaf of the mind. Only a creature can tune in to it: either a specific mind player or one of its tricks. In the hands of any other creature, the leaf of the mind It works like a normal blade of its kind. In the hands of its intended carrier, the leaf of the mind it's a magic weapon that causes additional psychic damage of 2d6 to any target that hits.

I have highlighted "In the hands of any other creature, the leaf of the mind works like a normal blade "and" In the hands of its intended carrier, the leaf of the mind It is a magic weapon. "

My question is: does the leaf of the mind count as a magic weapon (or at least, cutting or piercing damage that does count as magical damage) in order to overcome resistance to damage in the hands of someone other than your intended carrier?

Usually, I assume so, since a magic weapon is still a magic weapon, even if you have not tuned it. But since it specifically mentions the fact that it is a "normal blade" in the hands of someone to whom it is not intended, and that it is a "magic weapon" in the hands of its bearer, it makes me doubt my default assumption. He also deviated from his path to describe something outside of the usual language of tuning (that is, he could have said "while tuned" or similar, as descriptions of many other magical objects do, but instead defines a "predicted bearer" ").

Obviously, either way, the unintended carrier can not tune in to him or psychic damage him; It is simply a magical weapon with the purpose of overcoming resistance to damage.