dnd 5e – Do monsters with the “Telepathy” language automatically sense creatures in their telepathic radius?


Some monsters possess the special “Telepathy” language.

Telepathy Telepathy is a magical ability that allows a monster to
communicate mentally with another creature within a specified range.
The contacted creature doesn’t need to share a language with the
monster to communicate in this way with it, but it must be able to
understand at least one language. A creature without telepathy can
receive and respond to telepathic messages but can’t initiate or
terminate a telepathic conversation.

A telepathic monster doesn’t need to see a contacted creature and can
end the telepathic contact at any time. The contact is broken as soon
as the two creatures are no longer within range of each other or if
the telepathic monster contacts a different creature within range. A
telepathic monster can initiate or terminate a telepathic conversation
without using an action, but while the monster is incapacitated, it
can’t initiate telepathic contact, and any current contact is
terminated. (MM p.9)

Does this ability allow them to sense the position of all creatures within the radius of their telepathy, given that “A telepathic monster doesn’t need to see a contacted creature”?