Big Sur Updates Reset Apache Files

Concerning these Apache files:

/etc/apache2/httpd.conf
/etc/apache2/vhosts/httpd-vhosts.conf

Unlike the previous version of MacOS, each Big Sur update resets these Apache .conf files to their original state, wiping out my changes. These are the only files I changed, so I assume that if I had changed any others that the update would have reset those also.

At the bottom of the original httpd.conf file is this line:

Include /private/etc/apache2/other/*.conf

Any .conf files that I place in this directory are left alone during an update. Should I leave the original httpd.conf file alone and in its original state and place all the changes I need to make in .conf files in the /private/etc/apache2/other subdirectory? I think this would work but it seems strange because, for example, there’s the line “ServerAdmin you@example.com” in the original which feels like it should be edited to be my own admin email address, but if I instead create …/other/*.conf files then I’ll be setting “ServerAdmin” again, which feels very klugey but which I hope works and is kosher.

Is this the right way to do things? Or is there a better way?

(I know that my versions of the files get placed in “Previously Relocated Items n” subdirectories in /Users/Shared, but I’d prefer not to have to perform manual restorations after each update.)

(There was a very similar question several months ago at Big Sur Update wiped my /etc/apache2/extra, and I would have preferred posting this to that thread, but the tips say not to post requests for help or clarification, which seems odd, but I’ll follow the guidelines.)